Approved at Wellington this 21st day of August 1989. D. McDOWELL, Director-General of Conservation. go13532

### **Defence**

#### **Defence Act 1971**

# Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the New Zealand Army

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Army.

#### **REGULAR FORCE**

#### Graduates—Royal Military College, Duntroon

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Royal Military College, Duntroon, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the Corps shown, with seniority and effect from 21 June 1989:

Mark Stephen Blythen, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Roger Earp, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Daniel Bruce Gawn, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Timothy John Fitzalan Howard, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

#### Graduates—Officer Cadet School

The following Officer Cadets graduated from the Officer Cadet School, and are appointed to commissions in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant in the Corps shown, with seniority and effect from 22 June 1989:

Nicola Joy Atkinson, Royal N.Z. Military Police.

Tracy Karen Burke, Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport.

David Anthony de Koning, Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps.

Iain Warren Fraser, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Peter John Hanrahan, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Malcolm Robert Harrison, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

Darryl Jeffrey Hubbard, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers.

Craig William Joyce, Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals.

Michael John Kareko, Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps.

James Campbell McAllister, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Graeme James Palmer, Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment.

Nicolette Robinson, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Kevan George Anthony Scott, Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery.

Richard John Weston, The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

Philip Basil Wood, N.Z. Intelligence Corps.

#### The Corps of Royal N.Z. Engineers

Temporary Captain and Quartermaster Alan John Brown, B.E.M., is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 14 June 1989.

Temporary Captain J. A. Hill to be Captain with seniority and effect from 1 January 1989.

#### Royal N.Z. Corps of Signals

Lieutenant C. J. MacFarlane, B.A. to be temporary Captain with effect from 26 July 1989.

Lieutenant David John Smylie is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 1 July 1989.

#### Royal N.Z. Infantry Regiment

Lieutenant Colonel Peter Thomas Grant is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 17 June 1989.

Lieutenant Colonel B. L. Fraher, B.A.(MIL.), is re-engaged until 31 July 2001.

The following Majors to be temporary Lieutenant Colonel with effect from the date shown:

P. J. Fry, 19 June 1989.

M. J. Dunne, 29 June 1989.

The following are transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in their present rank with effect from the date shown:

Captain Alan Neil Firth, 1 July 1989.

Captain and Quartermaster Gerald Philip O'Connor, 17 June 1989.

Lieutenant D. S. F. Kaire to be temporary Captain with effect from 14 April 1989.

Supernumerary List

Temporary Major and Quartermaster F. W. Daniel, M.B.E., to be Major and Quartermaster with seniority from 14 July 1988 and effect from 14 July 1989.

Temporary Major Roland Alfred Manning, M.B.E., is posted to the Retired List in the rank of Major, with effect from 30 June 1989

#### Royal N.Z. Corps of Transport

Lieutenant Colonel Grant John Crowley is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 1 July 1989.

Major H. C. Weddell is re-engaged until 1 January 1996.

Lieutenant J. J. Tangaere, B.A., to be temporary Captain with effect from 27 July 1989.

#### Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

The following are re-engaged until the date shown:

Major S. E. Wilson, M.B., CH.B., 10 January 1995.

Temporary Captain P. W. Jacobs, 29 November 1999.

#### Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Acting Major R. J. Easton, B.C.A., DIP.SOC.SC., to be temporary Major with effect from 20 June 1989.

Temporary Captain K. C. Singh to be Captain with seniority from 21 December 1988 and effect from 27 July 1989.

## The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers

Lieutenant and Quartermaster Allan MacGibbon is transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in his present rank with effect from 18 July 1989.

#### Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Colonel Commandant

Colonel J. A. McArthur, O.B.E., Retired List, is appointed Colonel Commandant, RNZDC, for a period of 4 years with effect from 1 May 1989, *vice* Lieutenant Colonel A. C. Smillie, E.D., Retired List.

#### N.Z. Army Legal Service

The following Captains are transferred to the Army Reserve, General List of Officers, in their present rank with effect from the date shown:

Alison Claire Walker, LL.B., 24 June 1989.

Brett Spencer Cooper, B.A., LL.B., 5 July 1989.