ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVY

Chief of Naval Staff

Commodore S. F. Teagle to be Rear Admiral with seniority and effect from 12 May 1989, and is appointed Chief of Naval Staff for a period of 3 years.

Commander Bryce Robert Bartley, B.SC., DIP.TCHG, DIP.ED., is placed on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves until 4 February 1992, with effect from 17 July 1989.

Commander Neil Francis Jury, B.SC., DIP.B.I.A., is placed on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves until 16 July 1993, with effect from 17 July 1989.

The appointment of Commander A. Chadwick is extended until 12 March 1993.

Temporary Commander D. Reid is appointed Assistant Provost Marshal of the RNZN for the period 5 July 1989 until 20 November 1989, vice Lieutenant P. A. Murch.

Temporary Commander P. A. Cozens to be Commander with seniority and effect from 1 July 1989, and his appointment is extended until 13 January 1995.

Acting Commander Ross George Garnett Sanson is placed on the Retired List of the RNZN in the rank of Commander, with effect from 21 July 1989.

The appointment of Lieutenant Commander (on prob.) Winston Ravindra Gunanayagam lapses with effect from 11 July 1989.

Gordon Edward Hall (RN Rtd), is appointed to the RNZN in the rank of Lieutenant Commander, with seniority from 1 September 1985 and effect from 15 June 1989; terminating on 18 April 1996.

The following temporary Lieutenant Commanders to be Lieutenant Commander with seniority and effect from 16 July 1989:

D. P. Pickerill, N.Z.C.E. (MECH.).

E. C. F. Riordan.

The seniority of Lieutenant M. B. Jackson, B.SC., DIP.TCHG, is post-dated to 1 July 1985.

The appointment of Lieutenant (on prob.) P. A. Murch to the RNZN is confirmed.

The appointment of temporary Lieutenant Euan Douglas McLeish, N.Z.C.E. (PP), is terminated with effect from 12 July 1989.

The appointment of temporary Lieutenant (on prob.) G. M. Smith, LL.B., to the RNZN is confirmed.

Sub Lieutenant G. F. Turner to be temporary Lieutenant with effect from 26 July 1989.

Surgeon Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) G. D. Norcliffe, M.B., CH.B., D.A., R.C.P. (LOND.) and R.C.S. (ENG.), to be Surgeon Lieutenant Commander (on prob.) with seniority from 23 January 1989 and effect from 12 June 1989.

Ensign T. G. Ashley to be Sub Lieutenant with seniority from 1 January 1989 and effect from 12 June 1989.

The following Ensigns (on prob.) to be Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 1 January 1989 and effect from 3 July 1989:

M. A. de Reeper.

M. J. Humphreys, B.SC.

The following Midshipmen (on prob.) to be Sub Lieutenant (on prob.) with seniority from 1 January 1989 and effect from 3 July 1989:

B. W. S. Holmes, B.SC.

D. L. Murdoch, B.SC.

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND NAVAL VOLUNTEER RESERVE

The appointments of the following Commanders are extended until the date shown:

R. M. McKillop, V.R.D., 31 December 1991.

D. W. Lowis, V.R.D., B.COM., 19 May 1990.

S. M. Duff, V.R.D., 31 December 1991.

Lieutenant Commander Peter Colin Atkinson, RNZN, is appointed to the Active List of the RNZNVR in his present rank, with seniority from 8 January 1987 and effect from 5 May 1989; terminating on 5 May 1994.

Temporary Lieutenant Commander John Andrew Moir, V.R.D., relinquishes his temporary rank with effect from 1 November 1986 and is transferred to the Inactive List of the RNZNVR in the rank of Lieutenant, with seniority from 26 September 1979 and effect from 1 April 1987; terminating on 31 March 1992.

The appointment of Lieutenant (on prob.) R. D. James to the RNZNVR is confirmed.

The appointment of temporary Lieutenant Nicholas Lloyd Wensley, B.E. (HONS), is terminated with effect from 31 March 1989.

Temporary Lieutenant G. H. Burt to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 1 January 1989.

Sub Lieutenant K. H. Duckworth, B.SC. (HONS), to be Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 21 March 1989.

The appointment of Ensign (on prob.) G. T. Chaplin to the RNZNVR is confirmed.

EMERGENCY LIST OF OFFICERS OF THE NAVAL RESERVES

The following are placed on the Retired List of the RNZN with effect from the date shown:

Commander Douglas Flett Kerr, 13 June 1989.

Lieutenant Commander Glen Ross Millar, M.B.E., N.Z.C.E. (PROD.), 23 June 1989.

Lieutenant Commander Robert William Pettis, 7 May 1989.

Lieutenant Commander David George Fletcher, 7 July 1989.

Lieutenant Commander P. C. Atkinson is transferred to the Active List of the RNZNVR with effect from 5 May 1989.

The period of service of the following on the Emergency List of Officers of the Naval Reserves is terminated with effect from the date shown:

Lieutenant Brian Ernest Carroll, 6 July 1989.

Temporary Lieutenant Commander Jeffrey Cameron Kennedy, B.Sc. (HONS), 22 July 1989.

Lieutenant David Henry Preston, LL.B., 1 July 1989.

Lieutenant Kerry Mark Glynn, B.SC., 2 July 1989.

Dated at Wellington this 26th day of July 1989.

R. J. TIZARD, Minister of Defence.

20

Energy

Electricity Act 1968

Compliance and Approval of Electrical Apparatus and Materials

Pursuant to the provisions of section 2 of the New Zealand Electrical Code of Practice, NZECP3: Electrical Safety of Apparatus and Materials, as declared under the Electricity Act 1968, the following specifications are declared suitable for the purposes of this code, subject to the general conditions specified below: