Availability

The New Zealand Gazette is available on subscription from the Government Printing Office Publications Division or over the counter from Government Bookshops at:

Housing Corporation Building, 25 Rutland Street, Auckland.

33 Kings Street, Frankton, Hamilton.

25-27 Mercer Street, Wellington.

Mulgrave Street, Wellington.

E.S.T.V. House, 4185 Queens Drive, Lower Hutt.

159 Hereford Street, Christchurch.

Government Building, 1 George Street, Palmerston North. Cargill House, 123 Princes Street, Dunedin.

Other issues of the Gazette:

Commercial Edition—published weekly on Wednesdays.

Customs Edition—Published weekly on Tuesdays.

Special Editions and Supplements—Published as and when required.

Government Notices

Defence

Defence Act 1971

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 35 of the Defence Act 1971, His Excellency the Governor-General has approved the following appointments, promotions, extensions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE

General Duties Branch

Appointments

Flight Lieutenant Jeremy Willmott, RAF Rtd, is appointed to the Regular Air Force on a fixed engagement of 5 years in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 17 July 1983 and effect from 29 June 1987.

Flight Sergeant Robert McNeil Finch is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 10 January 1987 and effect from 7 April 1989.

The following Officer Cadets are appointed to commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority from 11 January 1989 and effect from the date shown:

Bruce Noel Collenette, 22 May 1989.

John Lawrence Harding, 5 May 1989.

Dean William Morrison, 5 May 1989.

Robert William Ovenden, 5 May 1989.

Robert Charles Shearer, 5 May 1989.

Promotions

Temporary Wing Commander M. W. Sinclair, A.F.C., to be Wing Commander with seniority from 7 November 1988 and effect from 7 April 1989.

Squadron Leader B. N. Phillips, A.F.C., to be acting Wing Commander with effect from 3 April 1989, and Wing Commander with seniority from 27 July 1988 and effect from 7 April 1989.

Temporary Wing Commander R. G. Henderson, B.SC., to be Wing Commander with seniority from 4 October 1988 and effect from 7 April 1989.

Squadron Leader G. J. Howse: with reference to the notice published in the *Gazette*, 28 July 1988, No. 132, page 3010, for the date "12 June 1988" substitute "12 May 1988".

Flight Lieutenant K. R. Short to be Squadron Leader with seniority and effect from 18 March 1989.

Relinquishment of Rank

Squadron Leader D. S. Forbes-Dawson voluntarily reverts to the rank of Flight Lieutenant with seniority from 28 September 1977; to be acting Squadron Leader with effect from 27 February 1989, and his commission and age for retirement are extended until 8 June 2008.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Squadron Leader J. B. McMillan is extended until 10 December 1997.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Wing Commander V. R. de Bettencor are extended until 19 May 1991.

Transfer

Flying Officer B. J. Hunt, M.SC. (HONS), is transferred to the Education Branch in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority and effect from 9 June 1988.

Transfers to Reserve

Wing Commander Ronald William Ferguson is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 April 1991, with effect from 8 April 1989.

Flight Lieutenant David Philip Barham is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 7 May 1993, with effect from 8 May 1989.

Flight Lieutenant Craig Barry Symmans is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 5 May 1993, with effect from 6 May 1989.

Flight Lieutenant John Gordon Benfell is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers until 23 April 1993, with effect from 24 April 1989.

Engineer Branch

Appointments

The following Flying Officers to be temporary Flight Lieutenant with effect from 10 December 1988:

D. B. Henderson, N.Z.C.E.

R. B. Sowden, N.Z.C.E.

Officer Cadet David John Long, B.E.(MECH), is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 11 October 1987 and effect from 17 February 1988.

Sergeant John Patrick Canton, N.Z.C.E., is appointed to a commission in the rank of Flying Officer, with seniority from 11 January 1988 and effect from 20 April 1988.

Corporal Simon Dale Jensen is appointed to a commission in