Indecent Publications Tribunal

I, John Fraser Robertson, of Wellington, Secretary for Justice, give notice that I have applied to the Indecent Publications Tribunal for a decision as to whether the books listed below are indecent or not or for decisions as to their classification:

Playboy, Volume 26, No. 3, March 1979. Playboy, Volume 26, No. 4, April 1979. Playboy, Volume 26, No. 5, May 1979.

All published by Playboy, Playboy Building, 919 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, U.S.A.

Dated at Wellington this 20th day of June 1979.

I. F. ROBERTSON, Secretary for Justice.

Industrial Relations Act 1973 Cancellation of Registration of Industrial Union

PURSUANT to section 195 of the Industrial Relations Act 1973, it is hereby notified that the registration of the Christ-church Hairdressers and Tobacconists' Industrial Union of Employers, Registered No. 1069, situated at 213 Manchester Street, Christchurch, is hereby cancelled as from the date of the publication of this notice in the Gazette.

Dated at Wellington, this 20th day of June 1979.

R. A. QUAY, Registrar of Industrial Unions, Department of Labour. (Lab. I.C. 139)

Amendment to the Rules of the Royal Society of New Zealand

Pursuant to the Royal Society of New Zealand Act 1965, the Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand, at the annual general meeting held on 16 May 1979, passed resolutions amending the rules of the Society, published in the New Zealand Gazette on 22 December 1965, the effect of such resolutions heing: such resolutions being:

SECTION B-THE ELECTION OF COUNCIL AND OFFICERS

B2. was deleted and the following substituted—The officers, consisting of a President, Home Secretary, International Secretary, and Honorary Treasurer shall be elected at the appropriate annual general meeting of Fellows.

One officer shall retire each year, and his successor shall

serve a term of 4 years. To achieve the position of one officer retiring each year as quickly as possible, an officer may be elected initially for a term of less than 4 years.

B3. was renumbered B4, and the following new clause was

added for B.3—If an officer resigns before the end of his term, his successor shall be elected at the next annual general

meeting for the remainder of the term.

B5. The existing B4 was renumbered B5 and was amended to read—The Fellows' Councillors shall be appointed at the annual general meeting from Fellows nominated by either Fellows or Member Bodies and shall hold office for a term of 3 years. (The number appointed at any one annual general meeting will equal those Fellows' Councillors who have died, resigned, retired, or been appointed as an officer during the

resigned, retired, or been appointed as an officer during the past year).

B6. The existing B5 was renumbered B6.

B7. The existing B6 was renumbered B7 and was amended to read—No Fellow shall serve in any of the positions of President, Home Secretary, International Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, or Fellows' Councillor for more than one term; although a Fellow who has been elected to an office to fill a vacancy under Rule B3, shall be eligible for a succeeding full term of 4 years in that same office, provided that "the remainder of the term" under Rule B3 was not more than 2 years. However, a Fellows' Councillor, on completion of a term or part term, may be elected for a subsequent term as an officer and an officer, on completion of a term or part term, may be elected for a subsequent term as a Fellows' Councillor or as another officer. Councillor or as another officer.

No person shall serve consecutively in any of the above positions for a total of more than 11 years.

B7 and B8 were deleted.

B9 was renumbered B8.

B10 was renumbered B9.

B11 was renumbered B10 and B10 in the text was changed

to B9.

B12 was renumbered B11.

B13 was renumbered B12 and in the last line the words "Rules B6 and B8" were replaced by the words "Rule B7". B14 was renumbered B13.

SECTION C-PROCEEDINGS OF COUNCIL AND COMMITTEES

C13 was amended to read—At each meeting of the Standing Committee the quorum shall be five, of whom at least three shall be Fellows.

SECTION L-FELLOWS

L6 was amended in the fourth sentence to read-Each nomination must be accompanied by 12 copies of a curriculum vitae, full bibliography, a statement of up to 500 words indicating the reasons why a candidate is worthy of election, supported by one set of significant publications and an indication of the appropriate advisory panel or panels that should consider his candidature.

L10 (a) was amended to read-Every candidate for election as a Fellow shall, in giving his consent to nomination under Rule 6, also undertake to pay to the Society on election an annual subscription of such sum as may be fixed from time to time by the annual meeting of Fellows, on the recommendation of Council.

L10 (b) was amended to read—Every Fellow elected after the year 1963 shall pay to the Society within 1 month of his election his first annual subscription as prescribed in Rule L10 (a) and succeeding annual subscriptions not later than 1 May in every succeeding year; provided that every such Fellow may at any time compound for all future annual subscriptions by paying to the Society such sum as may be resolved by Council in terms of a sliding scale determined on an actuarial basis.

L10 (f) was amended to read-A Fellow who has reached the age of retirement may on application to Council pay a reduced annual subscription to be fixed from time to time by the annual meeting of Fellows, on the recommendation of Council, or upon his application, Council may remit by resolution the payment of part or all of his future annual subscriptions.

A. W. F. THYNNE, Executive Officer.

Royal Society of New Zealand

PURSUANT to the Royal Society of New Zealand Act 1965, the Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand at their annual general meeting held on 16 May 1979, elected the following Fellows:

Richard Dean Batt, M.B.E., M.SC., PH.D.(NZ), M.A., D.PHIL. (OXON), F.N.Z.I.C., F.R.I.C., Alan Ronald Poletti, M.SC.(NZ), D.PHIL. (OXON), F.INST.P.,

Geoffrey Harold Satchell, B.SC. (LOND.), PH.D. (LEEDS); and John Howard Troughton, M.AG.SC., PH.D., D.SC.

A. W. F. THYNNE, Executive Officer.

1602

84

Result of Election of Members of Government Railways Appeal Board

PURSUANT to section 92 of the Government Railways Act 1949, I hereby give notice of the result of an election held on Monday, 11 June 1979, of the elective members of the Government Railways Appeal Board.

SALARIED DIVISION

Carmine, J. L. IV.	*****	******	******	1093
Lisle, W. O	******	******		619
MacKenzie, J. A.				1014
Informal		•••••	******	133
GENERAL DIVISION—TRAFFIC BRANCH				
Chappel, W. H.	******	******	******	2018
Keating, R. G.	******	******		1572
Informal			•	71
Workshops Branch				
Montgomery, D. J.				1472
Swift, J. C.				2096

I hereby declare James Louis Nealis Carmine, William Henry Chappel, and John Clifford Swift duly elected to act as members of the Government Railways Appeal Board.

Dated this 21st day of June 1979.

Carmina I I

Informal

J. D. M. LUNDIE, Returning Officer.