#### Promotion

Pilot Officer R. J. Irwin to be Flying Officer with seniority and effect from 28 June 1974.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader I. N. Moran, A.F.M., are extended to 30 June 1976.

Flight Licutenant Harvey Hammersley is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 4 years with effect from 8 June 1974.

## Engineer Branch

# Appointments

Squadron Leader Brian Raymond Robert Knight, C.ENG., A.F.R.A.E.S., from the Royal Air Force, is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Squadron Leader, with seniority from 1 July 1970 and effect from 8 February 1974, to be followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Flight Lieutenant G. F. Smart to be temp. Squadron Leader with effect from 13 May 1974

with effect from 13 May 1974.

V84153 Corporal Brian Raymond Laing is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 8 years, in the rank of Pilot Officer, with effect from 8 January 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

#### Promotion

Flight Lieutenant (temp. Squadron Leader) D. W. Hill, B.E. (MECH.): the notice published in the Gazette, 22 November 1973, No. 107, p. 2430 is cancelled.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Flight Lieutenant G. Holliday are extended to 6 March 1977.

#### ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

#### Appointment

Special Duties Division

M78372 Sergeant David William Kyle is appointed to a short-service commission for a period of 5 years, in the rank of Flying Officer with effect from 8 January 1974, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

Extension of Commission and Age for Retirement

The commission and age for retirement of Squadron Leader A. E. Severn, A.N.Z.I.M. are extended to 29 May 1979.

## Transfer

Special Duties Division

Flying Officer J. E. Baker is transferred from the Reserve of Air Force Officers in his present rank with seniority from 28 May 1972 and effect from 28 May 1974.

## Extension of Commission

Special Duties Division

The commission of Flying Officer J. E. Baker is extended to 27 May 1982, followed by 4 years on the Reserve of Air Force Officers.

# Transfers to Retired List

Special Duties Division

Squadron Leader Eric William Scott, B.E.M., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 12 April 1974. Squadron Leader Eric Maurice Leslie is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 2 June 1974.

## MEDICAL BRANCH

# Transfer to Reserve

Flight Lieutenant Harold John Beecher Guy, B.MED.SC., M.B., CH.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Air Force Officers for a period of 12 years, with effect from 20 March 1974.

# WOMENS' ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

#### Extension of Commission

The commission of Section Officer G. D. White is extended to 11 October 1976.

# Resignation of Commission

Flight Officer Helen Margaret Jackson, B.A., resigns her commission with effect from 11 May 1974.

## TERRITORIAL AIR FORCE

## Extensions of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant B. N. Graham is extended to 6 May 1979.

The commission of Flight Lieutenant G. C. Day is extended to 31 March 1978.

## RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

#### Promotion

Flying Officer (temp. Flight Lieutenant) J. A. Easton, A.F.C., to be Flight Lieutenant with seniority and effect from 22 October 1967.

Extension of Commission

The commission of Flight Lieutenant M. W. Nye is extended to 15 March 1979.

## Termination of Commission

The Honorary Commission of Group Captain Frederick Russell Chisholm, O.B.E., M.D. (MELB.), M.B., CH.B. (N.Z.), F.R.C.P., M.R.C.P. (LOND.), F.R.A.C.P., Consultant in Medicine, is terminated, with effect from 15 May 1974.

#### Transfers

Wing Commander R. F. Elliott, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S.(ENG.), F.R.A.C.S., D.O., R.C.P.(LOND.) and R.C.S.(ENG.), is transferred from the Active Reserve to the General Reserve, for a period to expire on 12 October 1977, with effect from 20 June 1974. Flying Officer J. E. Baker is transferred to the Regular Air Force with effect from 28 May 1974.

#### Transfer to Retired List

Group Captain Sidney Maxwell Hope, M.B.E., A.F.C., is transferred to the Retired List "A" with effect from 22 May

#### Retirements

The following officers are retired with effect from the dates shown:

Squadron Leader Peter Oswald Kershaw, 19 May 1974. Flight Lieutenant Leslie William Kennedy, 18 May 1974. Flight Lieutenant Sydney Harold Manning, A.F.C., 2 June

Flight Lieutenant Patrick Desmond Mullooly, 18 May 1974.

Flying Officer Alexander Henry Heir, 26 May 1974. Flying Officer George Collingwood Forrest, 1 June 1974.

Flying Officer Robert Sprott Cleghorn, 31 May 1974.

Flying Officer Lawrence Curreen, 30 May 1974.
Flying Officer Arthur Ernest Mason, 25 May 1974.
Flying Officer John Francis Tovey Henley, 25 May 1974. Dated at Wellington this 19th day of July 1974.

A. J. FAULKNER, Minister of Defence.

# Justices of the Peace Appointed

PURSUANT to section 3 (1) of the Justices of the Peace Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be Justices of the Peace for New Zealand:

Adams, Ernest John, 46 Carysfort Street, Mount Maunganui. Aitken, Thomas, 22 Glencarron Street, Alexandra.
Ball, Ernest William Joseph, 12 Blampied Road, Otara,

South Auckland.
South Deane, "Hoe-O-Tainui", Waiti Road, R.D. 3, Balme, Deane,

Begley, Selwyn John, Morley Road, Hastings. Belcher, Brian Owen, 104 Taylor Street, Blockhouse Bay, Auckland 7.

Bluett, Charles Tamati, 9 Douglas Street, Whakatane. Clark, Frederick Desmond, 18 Peachgrove Road, Te Atatu

North, Auckland 8.

Clay, George Paul, 84 Harris Street, Huntly.

Constable, Bruce Henry, R.D. 1, Waerenga-a-hika, Gisborne. Cowley, Bryce Arthur Charles, 92 Kimihia Road, Huntly. Croft, Mrs Bernice Ross, 5 Easdale Street, Wellington 1. Daley, Terence Peter, 38 Ranui Avenue, Ranui, Auckland 8.

Dixon, Kenneth, 62 View Road, Wellington 3.
Donnelley, Leonard Sidney, 11 Chorley Grove, Churton Park, Wellington 4.

Eathorne, Robert Francis, 59 Nortons Road, Christchurch 4. Ellery, Mrs Jantie Alexia, 97 Ferry Parade, Herald Island, Auckland.

Frame, Ian Francis, "Ngahere", Horoeka R.D. 4, Dannevirke.

Fraser, Alan Alexander, 6 Ardross Avenue, Khandallah, Wellington 4.

Gill, Brian Thomas, 35 Great South Road, Huntly. Glazebrook, Garry Moore, Washpool Station, Private Bag,

Hastings Graham, David Finlay, P.O. Box 18, French Pass.
Grayburn, Anthony Watson, Mossop Road, R.D. 1,

Tokoroa. Guard, Rex, 87 Parker Street, Blenheim. Henricksen, Albert George, Pukehinau R.D., Pongaroa.