Extension of Commission

Flight Lieutenant Donald Raymond Smith (77221) is granted an extension of his commission until 31 December

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Promotion

Armament Division

Flying Officer Terrence Robert Whitehead, B.Sc. (690605), to be Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 10 December 1963.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Promotion

Secretarial Division

Wing Commander George William Martin (70258) to be Group Captain, with effect from 2 December 1963.

A ppointment

Squadron Leader Alastair McGregor Scott, p.s.c. (70264), to be temporary Wing Commander, with effect from 11 November 1963.

Special Duties Division

Flight Lieutenant William Albert Barnett (133203) is transferred from the General Duties Branch to the Administrative and Supply Branch (Special Duties Division), with effect from 10 October 1963.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointment

Flying Officer Charles James Kerr to be temporary Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 19 November 1963.

The under-mentioned Flying Officers to be Flight Lieutenants, with effect from the date shown:

Ronald Stanley Bryson, 6 November 1963 Murray Robert Carr, B.Sc., 21 November 1963.

The under-mentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers, with effect from the date shown:

Ernest Clifford Doherty, 3 July 1963. Patrick Richard Hickey, 22 November 1963.

RESERVE OF AIR FORCE OFFICERS

Relinquishment of Temporary Rank

Flying Officer (temporary Flight Lieutenant) James Gavin Kyles (134005) ceases to be attached to the Air Training Corps and relinquishes the temporary rank of Flight Lieutenant, with effect from 14 May 1963.

Extensions of Commission

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions, until the date shown:

Squadron Leader William Keith Paterson, A.F.C., B.COM., A.P.A.N.Z. (130066), 1 September 1968.

Flight Lieutenants:

Lawrence Lymburn Cowan (70271), 28 July 1967. Douglas Gordon Fraser (70079), 15 October 1971. William Leslie Bridget (133556), 22 February 1975. Flying Officer James Gavin Kyles (134005), 9 February 1979.

Pilot Officers:

Alastair Charles McArthur (74178), 22 October 1986. Benjamin Hamish Knight (75042), 2 February 1989.

Retirement

Flight Lieutenant Douglas Forrester Clarke, D.F.C., A.F.C. (72876), is retired, with effect from 15 October 1963.

Amendment

The notice published in *Gazette*, 26 September 1963, No. 58, page 1498, relating to Flying Officer Arthur John Petrie is hereby amended to read "with effect from 25 November 1963" instead of "with effect from 30 September 1963".

Dated at Wellington this 3rd day of December 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

(Air 12/11/9)

Staff of His Excellency the Governor-General

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments to His Excellency's Honorary Staff for a period of one year as from 9 November 1963.

Honorary Aides-de-Camp

Commander Fred Hutchinson Bland, A.M.I. MECH.E., A.M.I. MAR.E., Royal New Zealand Navy (Auckland).
Commander William James Lanyon Smith, D.S.O., Royal New Zealand Navy (Wellington).

Lieutenant Commander John Forrest Allan, Royal New

Lieutenant Commander John Forrest Allan, Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve (Christchurch).
Commander Tom Ronald Roydhouse, M.B.E., V.R.D., Royal New Zealand Naval Volunteer Reserve (Dunedin).
Lieutenant-Colonel Jack Lewis Ryan, M.B.E., Royal New Zealand Infantry (Auckland).
Lieutenant-Colonel William Cyril Terence Foley, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Wellington).
Lieutenant-Colonel Murray Clifford Stanaway, M.C., Royal New Zealand Infantry (Christchurch).
Lieutenant-Colonel Ralph Jauncey Abbott, Royal New Zealand Armoured Corps (Dunedin).
Wing Commander Bruce Allan Wood, Royal New Zealand Air Force (Auckland).
Wing Commander Nelson Hastings Bright, Royal New Zealand Air Force (Wellington).
Wing Commander John Richard Claydon, A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force (Christchurch).
Squadron Leader Vincent David Gain, A.F.C., Royal New Zealand Air Force (Reserve of Air Force Officers (Dunedin).

Honorary Surgeon

Wing Commander Randal Forbes Elliott, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S. (Eng.), F.R.A.C.S., D.O. (LOND.), Royal New Zealand Air Force (Reserve of Air Force Officers), (Wellington).

Honorary Physician

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Marshall Luke, M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P. (LOND.), M.R.A.C.P., Royal New Zealand Army Medical Corps (Wellington).

Honorary Dental Surgeon

Surgeon Commander (D) Alexander Colin Horne, O.B.E., B.D.S., L.D.S., R.C.S. (Eng.), Royal New Zealand Navy (Auckland).

Honorary Nursing Sister

Matron Iris Frazer, Royal New Zealand Nursing Corps (Auckland).

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of December 1963.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Judge of the Courts Martial Appeal Court Appointed

PURSUANT to the Courts Martial Appeals Act 1953, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, has reappointed

Lindsay Merritt Inglis, of Hamilton, Stipendiary Magistrate, to be a Judge of the Courts Martial Appeal Court, to hold office for a term of three years from the 22nd day of October

Dated at Wellington this 18th day of November 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace Authorised to Exercise Jurisdiction in the Children's Court

PURSUANT to section 27 of the Child Welfare Act 1925, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

Mrs Annie Margaret Black, J.P., of Palmerston North, to exercise jurisdiction in the Children's Court established at Palmerston North.

Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of December 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.

Officers Authorised to Take and Receive Statutory Declarations

Pursuant to section 9 of the Oaths and Declarations Act 1957, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to authorise the holders for the time being of the offices in the service of the Crown specified in the Schedule below to take and receive statutory declarations under the said Act.

SCHEDULE

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

The Acting Medical Superintendent, Mangere Hospital and Training School.

The Secretary, Mangere Hospital and Training School. Dated at Wellington this 2nd day of December 1963.

J. R. HANAN, Minister of Justice.