Marist Brothers High School Cadets, Greymouth

Captain John Patrick Blewman is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, N.Z. Cadet Corps, in the rank of Captain. Dated 2 May 1961.

Naenae College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant G. L. Langston to be Lieutenant. Dated 9 April 1961.

Nelson College Cadets

Lieutenant W. H. Nelson, B.A., to be Captain. Dated 27 February 1961.

Rongotai College Cadets

Lieutenant J. H. Tindle resigns his commission. Dated 31 May 1961.

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) D. R.

Gilbertson lapses. Dated 8 June 1961.

St. John's College Cadets, Hastings

Lieutenant the Rev. L. J. Hanley, B.A., to be temp. Captain. Dated 20 May 1961.

St. Patrick's College Cadets, Silverstream

The commission of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) the Rev. K. E. Scully, D.D., lapses. Dated 8 June 1961.

Stratford Technical High School Cadets

The following RNZNVR officers are attached for duty:

Temp. Lieutenant (Sp.) L. G. Habershon. Temp. Lieutenant (Sp.) N. O. Turnbull.

Dated 8 June 1961.

Taumarunui High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant R. M. D. Harris, B.A., DIP.HORT., to be Lieutenant. Dated 1 February 1961.

Tokaanu Maori District High School Cadets

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) N. V. Harris, B.Sc., lapses. Dated 27 March 1961.

Tokoroa High School Cadets

2nd Lieutenant G. T. Peters, DIP.PHYS.ED., to be Lieutenant. Dated 5 February 1961.

Wairarapa College Cadets

2nd Lieutenant D. T. Guy resigns his commission. Dated 29 May 1961.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS

Regimental List

2nd General Hospital, RNZAMC

Captain Albert Henry Thomas Rose, F.S.M.C., F.I.O.(N.Z.), Optometrist, is posted to the Retired List. Dated 7 June 1961. The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on prob.) R. E. Watts, S.D.O.(N.Z.), Optometrist, is confirmed.

General List

Royal N.Z. Armoured Corps

Captain J. S. Dawes, M.C., relinquishes his commission. Dated 9 July 1961.

The following are posted to the Retired List:

Royal Regiment of N.Z. Artillery

Captain Thomas Geoffrey Broadway. Dated 19 June 1961. Captain John Russell Hobbs. Dated 22 June 1961. Captain Ian Thomas Young Johnston, E.D. Dated 14 June 1961. Lieutenant Patrick Jerad O'Dea. Dated 19 June 1961.

Royal N.Z. Infantry Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel James Edward Fitzgerald Vogel, O.B.E. Dated 13 June 1961. Captain William Smith Haig. Dated 10 June 1961. Lieutenant Patrick Kennedy Power. Dated 10 June 1961.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

Colonel Robert Allan Elliott, O.B.E., E.D., M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S. (EDIN.), F.R.A.C.S. Dated 2 June 1961.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Captain William Rolf Calder, E.D. Dated 12 June 1961.

Royal N.Z. Nursing Corps

Charge Sister Phyllis Lottie Devine. Dated 23 June 1961.

N.Z. Cadet Corps

Captain John Cecil Whitworth, B.A. Dated 25 June 1961. Captain Paul James Scott. Dated 26 May 1961.

Dated at Wellington this 7th day of July 1961.

DEAN J. EYRE, Minister of Defence.

Appointments, Promotions, Extensions of Commissions, Transfers, and Resignation of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force

Pursuant to section 15 of the Royal New Zealand Air Force Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, extensions of commissions, transfers, and resignation of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

REGULAR AIR FORCE GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

Appointments

The under-mentioned cadet aircrew are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 9 January 1967 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 June 1961: from 23 June 1961:

Carey William Adamson (80420).
Wayne Terrence Harris (80419).
Anthony Michael Keane (80416).
Terence Harvey John Knight (826184).
Peter Russell Muir (80421).
James Barry Penney (209240).
John Orrick Vass Thompson (821725)
Elliot Ballance Willis (80418).

The under-mentioned cadet aircrew are granted short-service commissions in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for a period ending 9 January 1973 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. They are appointed in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 June 1961:

Brian Kenneth Bassett (80414). Ronald Walter Campbell (79670). Renato Alberto De Lorenzo (80413). Peter Denis Lee (77435). Rex Joseph Lorigan (80415). Raymond Francis Parker (78879).

Cadet Pilot Andrew Fraser Keith Tamplin (80417) is granted a temporary commission in the General Duties Branch, Regular Air Force, for the duration of basic flying training in the rank of Acting Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from 23 June 1961.

Promotion

Squadron Leader Malcolm Stuart Gunton, A.F.C. (70150), to be Wing Commander, with effect from 27 June 1961.

Extensions of Commissions

The under-mentioned officers are granted extensions of their commissions until the date shown:

Flight Lieutenant Norman Eric Richardson (76079), 18

December 1971.
Flight Lieutenant Bernard Joseph O'Connor (814234),

6 March 1972. Flying Officer Robin John Klitscher (926072), 26 February

TECHNICAL BRANCH

Transfer to Retired List

Signals Division

Squadron Leader Thomas Gray Smith (70239) is transferred to the Retired List "A", with effect from 31 August 1961.

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SUPPLY BRANCH

Appointment

Secretarial Division

Sergeant Alexander Albert Glover (71551) is granted a short-service commission in the Administrative and Supply Branch (Secretarial Division), Regular Air Force, for a period ending 4 July 1970 to be followed by four years in the Reserve of Air Force Officers. He is appointed in the rank of Pilot Officer with seniority and effect from 29 May 1961

Promotion

Equipment Division

Wing Commander Edward George King (70297) to be Group Captain, with effect from 19 June 1961.

AIR TRAINING CORPS

Appointments

Jack Harold Mossley, D.F.M., is granted a commission in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Flight Lieutenant, with seniority from 6 December 1959, with effect from 6 April 1961.

The under-mentioned are granted commissions in the Air Training Corps in the rank of Pilot Officer, with seniority and effect from the date shown:

Colin James Telford, 10 April 1961. Maurice Leon Fremaux, 6 May 1961. David Ives Ertel, 30 May 1961. John Arthur Oxley Davison, 1 Jun John Hamilton Goss, 14 June 1961. 1 June 1961.