and

Resignations.

PURSUANT to section 16 of the New Zealand Army Act 1950, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Armv:

ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY Territorial Force

Headquarters, R.A., N.Z. Division

Lieutenant Desmond Lazelle Snelling ceases to be posted to the Divisional Counter Bombardment Staff Troop, H.Q., R.A., N.Z. Division, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Lieutenant. Dated 27 January 1958.

2nd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain D. B. Sisley, E.D., to be temp. Major. Dated 18 December 1957.

Lieutenant D. J. Dobson to be temp. Captain. Dated 18 December 1957.

3rd Field Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Michael Warren Johnston to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 28 September 1957.

5th Light Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Captain H. T. M. Allison to be temp. Major. Dated 5 October 1957.

6th Light Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

Lieutenant P. R. Cook to be temp. Captain. Dated 15 October 1957. 2nd Lieutenant J. W. Lavelle to be Lieutenant. Dated 18 February 1958.

9th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

9th Coast Regiment, R.N.Z.A.
Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) George Derrick Beresford, E.D., relinquishes the appointment of C.O., and is posted to the Retired List, in the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel. Dated 19 December 1957.
Major Claude Grahame Warner Quilter, E.D., is posted to the Retired List. Dated 19 December 1957.
Captain (temp. Major) Robert Arthur Higgs, E.D., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Major. Dated 19 December 1957.
Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Peter Villiers Shepherd is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of Captain. Dated 19 December 1957.
Lieutenant James Haviland Inder is posted to the Retired List. Dated 19 December 1957.
2nd Lieutenant Ronald Michael Haira is transferred to the

List. Dated 19 December 1957.
2nd Lieutenant Ronald Michael Haira is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 19 December 1957.
2nd Lieutenant Gerald George Halling is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, General List, Royal N.Z. Artillery, in the rank of 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 19 December 1957.

12th Heavy Anti-aircraft Regiment, R.N.Z.A.

2nd Lieutenant J. H. B. Worgan to be Lieutenant. Dated 29 July 1957.

2nd Lieutenant P. J. C. Fleming to be Lieutenant. Dated 24 September 1957. 2nd Lieutenant C. G. Powles to be Lieutenant. Dated 1

October 1957.

THE CORPS OF ROYAL N.Z. ENGINEERS

Territorial Force

1st Field Engineer Regiment, R.N.Z.E.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) R. K. Howard, B.E.(CIV.), to be Captain. Dated 1 April 1958.

5th Independent Field Squadron, R.N.Z.E.

Captain L. C. L. Pryce to be temp. Major. Dated 5 October 1957

ROYAL N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS

Lieutenant W. J. Wray to be Captain. Dated 4 November 1957.

Lieutenant A. J. A. Cooper to be temp. Captain. Dated 6 December 1957. Lieutenant D. G. Rodda to be temp. Captain. Dated 7

January 1958.

ROYAL N.Z. INFANTRY CORPS

Regular Force N.Z. Regiment

Regular Force

Captain (temp. Major) S. R. McKeon to be Major. Dated 12 December 1957. Captain (temp. Major) R. Stanley-Harris to be Major. Dated 12 December 1957.

Captain I. J. Hellyer to be Major. Dated 12 December 1957. Captain W. P. Hughes to be temp. Major. Dated 21 January 1958.

Major Ian Oliver Manson.
Major Alton Cyril Weymouth Mantell-Harding, E.D.
Major Ian McDonald Matheson, E.D.
Major James Stewart Matthews, E.D.
Major Sidney Lewis Moses.
Major Allan Roland Munro, E.D.
Major John Longhurst Neale.
Major Henry Garforth Overton.
Major Henry Garforth Overton.
Major Thomas Jacob Graham Pugh, E.D.
Major John Ransfield.
Major John Henry Searle, E.D.
Major John Loget McChesney Thomson.
Major John Lawrence Thomson, E.D.
Major John Lawrence Thomson, E.D.
Major John Lawrence Thomson, E.D.
Major John Wells. Dated 4 January 1958.
Major Alfred Douglas Wentworth Woolcott, E.D.
Captain Leonard Hector Abbott.
Captain James Allport, E.D.
Captain Theodore Joseph Arnold, E.D., M.A. Dated 16 January, 1958.
Captain Ernest Francis Ashby. Captain Theodore Joseph Arnold, January, 1958. Captain Ernest Francis Ashby. Captain William Athol Barcock. Captain Rupert Francis Trevor Barker. Captain James Sydney Baxter. Captain Trevor Norman Bright. Captain Francis Oscar Burtt, E.D.

Royal N.Z. Army Service Corps

204

Major Ian Oliver Manson.

Lieutenant-Colonel Owen Bracegirdle, D.S.O., E.D.

Major Raymond Charles Aley, E.D. Major Robert Temple Brown.

Major Robert Temple Brown. Major Ross Lyle Dow. Major Owen William Hill. Major John Christopher Lyne, E.D. Major Ian Campbell MacPhail. Major George Harold Whyte, o.B.E., E.D.

Major George Harold Wnyte, O.B.E., E.D. Captain William Robert Blanch. Captain Desmond Frederick Buckley. Captain Reginald Herbert Cabot. Captain Cyril William George Cole. Captain Samuel Walter Ellingham, E.D. Dated 4 October 1957.

Captain Stewart Victor Fernandez. Captain James Graham.

Captain Ian Eugene Inglis Markby. Captain Cecil George Peterwood. Captain William Grant Quirk. Captain Alec Thomas Rimmer.

Royal N.Z. Army Medical Corps

- Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Oswald Bennett, O.B.E., M.B., CH.B.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Louis Amos Bennett, M.D., F.R.C.S. (ENG.), F.R.A.C.S
- Lieutenant-Colonel Stewart Hunter, O.B.E., M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S. (EDIN.). Dated 12 October 1957.

Major John Lewis Adams, M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P.(LOND.), M.R.A.C.P

F.R.A.C.S

Royal N.Z. Army Ordnance Corps

Lieutenant-Colonel Maurice Salom Myers.

The Corps of Royal N.Z. Electrical and Mechanical Engineers Major Hugh France Hamilton.

Royal N.Z. Dental Corps

Major Colin Sutherland Brook.

Major Contributional Brook. Major Harry A'Court Gowan Fitzgerald. Dated 23 January 1958. Captain John Stuart Fleming.

Dated at Wellington this 10th day of February 1958.

PHILLIP G. CONNOLLY, Minister of Defence.

Major Melville Huia Aitken, M.B., CH.B., M.R.C.P. (LOND.). Major Stuart Cordingly Colbeck, CH.B. Major Campbell Newman D'Arcy, M.C., M.B., CH.B. Major Edward Gardner Gibbs, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S. (EDIN.),

F.R.A.C.S. Major Edwin Warwick Hunt, M.B., CH.B. Major Cedric Walter Isaac, M.B., CH.B. Major Thomas Seton Norris, M.B., CH.B. Major John Arthur Roland O'Regan, M.B., CH.B., F.R.C.S. (ENG.), F.R.A.C.S. Major Henry Eric Wilkie Robertson, M.B., CH.B. Major Frederick Charles Merritt Shortt, M.B., CH.B. Major William Goddard Volckman, M.B., CH.B. Captain Donald Young Allan, M.B., CH.B.