

## SUPPLEMENT

# GAZETTE HW ZEALA

THURSDAY, JUNE 19475,

Mublished by Authority

### WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, JUNE 6, 1947

Notice of a Scheme of Development and Reconstruction in the Bay of Plenty

PURSUANT to subsection (2) of section 29 of the Finance Act (No. 3), 1944, I, Robert Semple, the Minister of Works, hereby give notice of the nature of the work to be included in the scheme of development and reconstruction described in the First Schedule hereto, and that the approximate boundaries of the area hereby affected are as described in the Second Schedule hereto, such area being hereinafter referred to as "the area." This notice shall remain in force until the 30th day of September, 1956.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE

NATURE OF WORK

The improvement of the lands and the development of the area for industrial, commercial, residential, and recreational purposes, including, in particular, the provision of:-

#### 1. Land Development

(1) Land improvement and development works generally, including the acquisition of suitable blocks of land, clearing, subdivision, fencing, provision of houses, buildings, water-supply, access, and amenities.

(2) Soil-conservation and river-control works and land drainage and reclamation throughout the area, including the following major

(a) Works for the control of flood-waters and prevention of erosion and flooding, in particular in the basins of the various rivers in the area, the most important being of the Waihou and Ohinemuri, the Rangitaiki, Waiotapu, Otara, Waimana, Whakatane, and Waioeka Rivers, and the tributaries of all of them:

(b) Works for the improvement of the drainage of low-lying areas on the Rangitaiki and Hauraki Plains:

- (c) The acquisition, planting, and regeneration of eroded lands throughout the area, and the protection of bush-clad lands by the establishment of firebreaks and other means of control.
- (3) Afforestation: The development and expansion of forests generally within the area, with improved facilities for culture, control, and protection, particularly at Tairua, Whangapoua, Kauaeranga, Katikati, Rotoehu, Whirinaki, and Whakarewarewa, including extension of Conservancy Headquarters at Rotorua and of District Headquarters at Mamaku, and a centre near Whakarewarewa for training field staff.

  (4) Reclamation work in Tauranga Harbour.

  (5) Development of Native holdings, in particular at Matakana

(5) Development of Native holdings, in particular at Matakana Island and the Okataina and Rotorua Blocks.

#### 2. Industrial

(1) The establishment of industrial areas, and the provision and development of sites and buildings for industries, particularly

(2) The establishment, development, and improvement of industry on lands drained or otherwise reclaimed.

(3) New abattoirs for Whakatane.

(4) Establishment of lime-works for the benefit of Native

farming projects.
(5) Extension of the Waipa State Sawmill at Whakarewarewa to increase output.

(1) The establishment of commercial areas, and the provision and development of sites and buildings for commerce in conjunction with residential and industrial areas.

- (2) The provision of accommodation and other facilities for tourist and holiday traffic, particularly at Rotorua and Mayor Island.
- (3) Provision of new offices for the Public Trust Office and the State Fire Office at Tauranga.

#### 4. Communications

- (1) Improvement of radio, telegraph, telephone, and postal services throughout the area, including a new post-office at Whakatane; post-offices at Te Puke, Te Aroha, Coromandel, and Whitianga; alterations of the existing post-offices at Paeroa and Taneatua; and store-garage buildings at Opotiki, Paeroa, and Te Puke.
- (2) Arterial and Local Access: Improvements and extensions of existing and provision of new arterial and local access generally throughout the area, including, particularly, the following main
  - (a) New routes between-

    - (i) Tauranga and Rotorua via the Omanawa Valley;
      (ii) Te Teko and Taneatua via Awakeri;
      (iii) Ohope Beach and Wainui;
      (iv) Murupara and Te Teko via the Rangitaiki
      Valley; and
    - (v) Galatea and Waiotapu through the Kaingaroa
  - (b) Improvements of existing routes, including replacement of existing bridges and the provision of new bridges and fords where necessary, the following being the principal routes affected :-
    - (i) Pokeno-Whakatane via Paeroa, Waihi, and
      - (ii) Paeroa-Thames and Paeroa-Hamilton. (iii) Thames-Coromandel and Coromandel Mer-

    - (iv) Tapu-Kaimarama, Coroglen-Waihi, Orongo-Netherton, Ngatea-Waharoa, and Pipiroa-Kopu.

      (v) Rotorua-Hamilton, Rotorua-Whakatane, Rotorua-Taupo via Waiotapu, Rotorua-Waikaremoana,
    - Actorua—Laupo via Walotapu, I and Rotorua—Atiamuri. (vi) Matamata—Tauranga. (vii) Whakatane—Gisborne. (viii) Opotiki Te Araroa. (ix) Te Ngae Paengaroa.
  - (c) New scenic routes from Lake Tarawera to Lake Okataina and to the summit of Mount Maunganui:
  - (d) Improvement of streets and provision of new streets and the replacement of bridges and provision of new bridges, in particular in the boroughs of Tauranga, Whakatane, Rotorua, Opotiki, Te Puke, Waihi, Paeroa, Thames, and Te Aroha.
  - (e) Improvement of roads and provision of new roads with replacements of bridges and provision of new bridges where necessary in the Counties of Whakatane, Tauranga, Rotorua, Coromandel, Thames, Hauraki Plains, and
- Ohinemuri. (3) Railways : Improved rail facilities for all classes of traffic, including :
  - t) The completion of the Paeroa-Pokeno link:
  - (b) Connection either by road or rail between Motuhora and
  - (c) Improvements of curves between Paeroa and Waikino: (d) Rail outlet from the Kaingaroa Plains, from Murupara to the vicinity of Edgecumbe.