(Central Military District.) Lieutenant W. H. Ellingham. 2nd Lieutenant R. G. Bush. 2nd Lieutenant J. R. Gillies.

(Southern Military District.) 2nd Lieutenant J. W. McArthur. 2nd Lieutenant J. L. Johnston. 2nd Lieutenant D. G. Grant.

2nd N.Z. Expeditionary Force : Section, Church Army.

W. H. Robinson, Esquire. E. E. Bush, Esquire

Headquarters, 2nd N.Z. Expeditionary Force Base. A. L. Curry, Esquire, Broadcasting Unit.

N.Z. Women's War Service Auxiliary (Overseas Section).

To be 2nd Lieutenants— Miss Meryll Arabella Neely. Miss Joyce Riha Martin Burnside.

N.Z. Medical Corps: Reinforcements.

Captain G. B. A. Cowie. Captain J. W. Bartrum. Lieutenant E. G. Young. Lieutenant L. G. Stephenson.

N.Z. Dental Corps: Reinforcements. Captain E. P. Pickerill.

N.Z. Army Nursing Service: Reinforcements.

Sister J. M. Caird, and is granted the temporary rank of Charge Sister for the voyage. Sister O. E. Larsen.

N.Z. Chaplains Department.

Rev. A. R. Anderson, Chaplain to the Forces, 4th Class, N.Z. Chaplains Department.

Rev. L. A. Day, Chaplain to the Forces, 4th Class, N.Z. Chaplains Department.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 1st October, 1941.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

### GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH. Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 27th September, 1941:—

he rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 27th September, 1941
NZ 412192 L.A.C. Arthur Orton Betteridge.
NZ 412249 L.A.C. Alan Leslie Marshall.
NZ 412264 L.A.C. Henry Keith Pattence.
NZ 412186 L.A.C. Maurice Edwin David Balls.
NZ 412006 L.A.C. George Condor Hitchcook.
NZ 411995 L.A.C. Leslie James Small.
NZ 41542 L.A.C. Sidney Edwin Loader.
NZ 411464 L.A.C. Thornton William Keals Smith.
NZ 411484 L.A.C. Colin William Bidwill Barton.
NZ 411485 L.A.C. William Joseph Hoy.
NZ 412235 L.A.C. William Joseph Hoy.
NZ 412236 L.A.C. Brian Maurice O'Connor.
NZ 412231 L.A.C. Brian Maurice O'Connor.
NZ 412232 L.A.C. James Lloyd Meredith.
NZ 412234 L.A.C. Watson James Laing.
NZ 412234 L.A.C. Watson James Laing.
NZ 412234 L.A.C. Ceorge Eric Gudsell.

NZ 411886

L.A.C. Dean Kainstord Horrock.
L.A.C. George Eric Gudsell.
L.A.C. John Strowan Hay.
L.A.C. George William Annand.
L.A.C. Paul Haywood.
L.A.C. Pat Oram Lance Carver.
L.A.C. Gordon William Brewer.
L.A.C. Gordon William Brewer. NZ 412227 NZ 412181 NZ 411971 NZ 412204

NZ 412196 L.A.C. Peter Daysh DAVEY. L.A.C. Lachlan McLachlan. NZ 411863

NZ 412247 NZ 412247 L.A.C. Kenneth Randal Holmes.
NZ 412206 L.A.C. John Coom.
NZ 412267 L.A.C. Donald Norman Potts.
NZ 412201 L.A.C. Robert William BYERS.

F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 3rd October, 1941.

TIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following appointments and promotions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointments.

The undermentioned are granted temporary commissions in the rank of Pilot Officer. Dated 15th September, 1941:—

Sergeant Robert CROZIER. NZ 401641 Sergeant John Russell Kay. Sergeant Nathan Spence. Sergeant William Robert Duncan. NZ 41559 NZ 403478 NZ 41536

NZ 402913 Sergeant Hugh William THOMSON. NZ 404378

Sergeant Douglas George King.
Sergeant Ernest Henry D'ATH-WESTON.
Sergeant John Raynor McClymont.
Sergeant John Marshall STEVENSON. NZ 403432

NZ 39641 NZ 404423 NZ 403953Sergeant Victor Edward CROWTHER.

#### Promotions.

Pilot Officer John Vincent Michael Kean (Temporary Commission) to be temporary Flying Officer. Dated 20th September, 1941.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers (on prob.) are confirmed in their rank, and are granted the temporary rank of Flying

Dated 23rd September, 1941-

Richmond Kenneth BIRD (Temporary Commission). Jack Rua COATH (Temporary Commission). Charles Geoffrey Jamieson CUNNINGHAM (Temporary

Charles Geoffrey Jamieson CUNNINGHAM (Temporary Commission).
Gordon Andrew Delves (Temporary Commission).
Geoffrey John Fox (Temporary Commission).
Denys Staples HAMILTON (Temporary Commission).
Edgar Mostyn Innes-Jones (Temporary Commission).
Angus John MacIvor (Temporary Commission).
Bernard Christison Walder O'FAGAN (Temporary Commission).

John Herbert Penney (Temporary Commission).

Dated 1st October, 1941-

Leicester Wellesley Matson (Temporary Commission).

ADMINISTRATIVE AND SPECIAL DUTIES BRANCH. Appointment.

NZ 1389 Victor Goodwin Scarlett, M.M., is granted a temporary commission in the rank of Flying Officer. Dated 6th October, 1941.

# Promotions.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers (on prob.) are confirmed in their rank and are granted the temporary rank of Flying Officer. Dated 1st October, 1941:—

Francis Edwin Hosking (Temporary Commission). Roy Emile Jack (Temporary Commission). Murdoch Campbell Patterson (Temporary Commission). F. JONES, Minister of Defence.

Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Air Department, Wellington, 6th October, 1941.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following promotions of officers of the Royal New Zealand Air Force:—

## GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

## Promotions.

Squadron Leader, Acting Wing Commander Cyril Eyton Kay, O.B.E., D.F.C., to be Wing Commander (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1941.

The undermentioned Flight Lieutenants to be Squadron Leaders (temporary). Dated 1st July, 1941:-

Ian Alastair Scott.

Act. Sqn. Ldr. George Henry Fisher.
Act. Sqn. Ldr. Philip Ernest Hudson.
Maurice Knox Archebald. Lewis Francis Paul TAYLOR. Allan CRIGHTON.

Act. Sqn. Ldr. Stuart Lindsay GILKISON. Donald Charles CAMPBELL.