Setting apart Native Land as a Native Reservation.

GALWAY, Governor-General

ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government Buildings at Wellington, this 13th day of December, 1938.

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. M. J. SAVAGE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

PURSUANT to section 5 of the Native Purposes Act, 1937, His Excellency the Governor-General, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council, doth hereby set apart and reserve the Native freehold land described in the Schedule hereto as a Native reservation for the common use of the Ngati-Kahungunu tribe as a meeting-house-site and a burial-ground.

ALL that piece or parcel of land containing 3 acres 2 roods 4 perches, situate in Block II, Clive Survey District, called or known as Matahiwi Cemetery Reserve.

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Withdrawing Land from the Operation of the Kauri-gum Industry Act, 1908.

GALWAY, Governor-General. ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government Buildings at Wellington, this 13th day of December, 1938.

Present:

THE RIGHT HON. M. J. SAVAGE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

WHEREAS by section one hundred and sixty-two of the Land Act, 1924, it is enacted that the Governor-General may, by Order in Council, on the recommendation of the Land Board, declare that any land comprised in a kauri-gum reserve shall, from a date to be specified in the Order, cease to be subject to the Kauri-gum Industry Act, 1908, and on and after the date so specified the land to which the Order relates shall become subject to the provisions of the Land Act. 1924:

And whereas the Land Board of the North Auckland Land And whereas the Land Board of the North Auckland Land District has duly passed resolutions recommending that the portion of the Hohoura Kauri-gum Reserve Extension No. 2, as described in the Schedule hereto, be excepted from the operations of the Kauri-gum Industry Act, 1908, and it is expedient to give effect to such recommendation:

Now, therefore, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in purposes and experience of the proven and earthoughts configured.

suance and exercise of the power and authority conferred upon me by section one hundred and sixty-two of the Land Act, 1924, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, do hereby order and declare that the portion of the Hohoura Kauri-gum Reserve Extension No. 2, as described in the Schedule hereto, shall, from the twentieth day of January, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-nine, cease to be subject to the Kaurigum Industry Act, 1908.

SCHEDULE.

NORTH AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT.

All that area in Mangonui County containing by admeasurement 2 acres 0 roods 4 perches, more or less, situated in Block V, Hohoura East Survey District, being part of Hohoura Kauri-gum Reserve Extension No. 2 (Gazette, 1899, page 1303); bounded, commencing at the southernmost corner of Section 14 of aforesaid Block V, thence towards corner of Section 14 of aforesaid Block V, thence towards the east, south, and west generally by part of Hohoura Kauri-gum Reserve Extension No. 2 following right lines bearing 167° 00′ 30″, 194·9 links, 270° 23′ 30″, 477·8 links, 0° 23′ 30″, 496·1 links; towards the north generally by a public road; and towards the north-east generally by Section 14 aforesaid; be all the aforesaid measurements more or less. As the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked L. and S. 1/1035A, deposited in the Head Office, Department of Lands and Survey, at Wellington, and thereon bordered red. (North Auckland Plan S.O. 29643). S.O. 29643).

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

(L. and S. 1/1035.)

Offices of Chairman, Social Security Commission, Commissioners (two), Social Security Commission, and Directors (three), Social Security Department, added to the Administrative Division.

GALWAY Governor-General.

ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government Buildings at Wellington, this 20th day of December, 1938.

PRESENT:

THE RIGHT HON. M. J. SAVAGE PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

WHEREAS by subsection two of section eighteen of the Public Service Act, 1912, it is enacted that the Commissioner may, whenever it appears advantageous to the Public Service so to do, certify to the Governor-General that it is expedient to add any office to, or to abolish any office from, the Administrative Division of the Public Service of New Zealand; and the Governor-General in Council may, upon such certificate, add any office to the Administrative Division or abolish any office therein:

And whereas the Public Service Commissioner has certified to the Governor-General that it is expedient to add the offices of Chairman, Social Security Commission, Commissioners (two), Social Security Commission, and Directors (three), Social Security Department, to the said Administrative Division:

Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on him by the said section and of all other powers enabling him in this behalf, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby add the offices of Chairman, Social Security Commission, Commissioners (two), Social Security Commission, and Directors (three), Social Security Department, to the said Administrative Division.

C. A. JEFFERY, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Honorary Inspectors of Scenic Reserves Appointed.

GALWAY, Governor-General.

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by section four of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

George Laing. John Lockier Lane, Max McDonald Yerex, John Sidney Yates, Reginald St. John Keenan, Charles Edward Brookes, Reginald Jack Chanel Richardson, Donald Charles Cummings, Henry Hibbs Doherty, Hugh Kelvin Ford, Edwin Richard Green, Victor Trevor Griffiths, Harry Josiah Hamlin, Joseph Bullons Hibbert, Glaisher Vincent Merton, Arthur Austin Moonie, Norman Everard McAdam, Douglas Murdoch McGregor, John Allan Pankhurst, Ernest Cyril Rippon, Alan Richards Rogers, Harold James Verran, Cyril David Walker, and Mervyn Vance Wilson

to be Honorary Inspectors under the said Act.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 15th day of December, 1938.

FRANK LANGSTONE, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.

(L. and S. 4/448.)