

SUPPLEMENT

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

' OF

THURSDAY, MAY 27, 1937.

Aublished by Authority.

WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, MAY 28, 1937.

Honours conferred by His Majesty the King.

Department of Internal Affairs,
Wellington, 17th May, 1937.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General directs the publication in the New Zealand Gazette of the Honours conferred by His Majesty the King, as follows:—

CIVIL DIVISION.

Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George (G.C.M.G.)— The Right Honourable Sir Michael Myers, P.C., K.C.M.G.,

Chief Justice of New Zealand.

Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of

St. Michael and St. George (K.C.M.G.)—
Professor Algernon Phillips Withiel Thomas, M.A. (Oxon.),
F.L.S., F.G.S., F.R.S. (N.Z.), N.D.H. (N.Z.), Professor
Emeritus, Auckland University College.

Knight Bachelor— Ernest Davis, Esquire, Mayor of Auckland. Charles John Boyd Norwood, Esquire, of Wellington.

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael

and St. George (C.M.G.)—

John Rigg, Esquire, of Christchurch.

Doctor Robert Henry Hogg, O.B.E., M.B., Ch.B. (N.Z.),
M.R.C.S. (Eng.), L.R.C.P. (Lond.), lately of Invercargill.

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (C.B.E.)-

Henry Ernest Moston, Esquire, Assistant Secretary of Labour and Chief Inspector of Factories, Wellington. Princess Te Puea Herangi, of Ngaruawahia.

Companion of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.)—
Alfred Hyde Cockayne, Esquire, Director-General of
Agriculture, Wellington.
James Havelock Jerram, Esquire, General Manager of the
State Fire and Accident Insurance Office, Wellington.
Nelson Thomas Lambourne, Esquire, Director of Education,
Wellington

Wellington. William Robertson, Esquire, Under-Secretary for Lands,

Wellington. Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

(O.B.E.)—
John Higgins, Esquire, County Engineer, Greymouth.
Campbell Frederick Schadick, Esquire, County Engineer, Westport.

Mrs. Elizabeth Best Taylor, of Christchurch, widow of the late Mr. T. E. Taylor, M.P.
Sidney Lough Thompson, Esquire, Artist, of Christchurch.
Mrs. Annie Maria Ward, of Lumsden, former President of the Women's Division of the New Zealand Farmers'

Mrs. Helen Wilson, of Pio Pio, President of the Women's Division of the New Zealand Farmers' Union.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

(M.B.E.)— Miss Mary Boyce, Matron, St. Helen's (Maternity) Hospital, Christchurch

Miss Althea Harriet Cookson, Matron, Wellington Public Hospital.

Miss Alicia Campbell Ingles, Matron, Pukeora Sanatorium,

Waipukurau.

Wapukurau.

Miss Ella Dorothy Winifred Leslie, Nurse Inspector,
Health Department.

Miss Miriam Mayze, Matron, Auckland Mental Hospital.

Miss Janet Morgan, Matron, Alexandra Home (Maternity
Hospital), Wellington.

Miss Rose Muir, Matron, Christchurch Public Hospital

(1916-36).Mrs. Clarissa Eliza McLaren, Matron, Seacliff Mental

Hospital. Miss Emily May Nutsey, Matron, Auckland Public Hospital.

Miss Edith Penelope Tennent, Matron, Dunedin Public Hospital.

MILITARY DIVISION.

Companion of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath (C.B.)—

Rear-Admiral the Honourable Edmund Rupert Drummond, M.V.O., R.N., Commodore Commanding New Zealand

Major-General John Evelyn Duigan, D.S.O., Ge Officer Commanding New Zealand Military Forces. D.S.O., General

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British

Empire (C.B.E.)—
Colonel Stephen Charles Phillip Nicholls, D.S.O., A.D.C.,
Officer Commanding Southern Military Command,
Christchurch.

Wing-Commander Thomas Martin Wilkes, M.C., A.D.C. Director of Air Services and Controller of Civil Aviation, Wellington.

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (O.B.E.)—
Paymaster-Commander Edward Loftus Tottenham, R.N.,

Naval Secretary and Member of Naval Board.
Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Beresford Maunsell, Offic
Commanding Wellington East Coast Mounted Rifles.

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (M.B.E.)-

Staff Sergeant-Major Charles Thomas Rae McLean, Royal New Zealand Artillery. Battery Sergeant-Major Walker Daniel Dean, 5th Battery, New Zealand Artillery.

W. E. PARRY, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 1933/200/1.)