

THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY.

Unblished by Authority.

WELLINGTON, MONDAY, DECEMBER 14, 1936.

THE following Proclamation was publicly made on the fourteenth day of December, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-six, in the front of Parliament Buildings, Wellington, in the presence of His Excellency the Governor-General and a large concourse of citizens:—

PROCLAMATION.

HEREAS by an Instrument of Abdication dated the tenth day of December instant His former Majesty King Edward the Eighth did declare his irrevocable determination to renounce the Throne for himself and his descendants, and the said Instrument of Abdication has now taken effect, whereby the Imperial Crown of Great Britain, Ireland and all other His former Majesty's Dominions is now solely and rightfully come to the High and Mighty Prince Albert Frederick Arthur George:

We, therefore, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, Michael Joseph Savage, Prime Minister of the said Dominion, and the Members of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, assisted by Members of both Houses of the General Assembly, Judges and Magistrates, Ministers of Religion, Mayors, Chairmen and Members of Local Bodies, and numerous other representative European and Maori citizens here present, do now hereby with one voice and consent of tongue and heart, publish and proclaim that the High and Mighty Prince Albert Frederick Arthur George is now become our only lawful and rightful liege Lord George the Sixth by the grace of God, of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas King, Defender of the Faith, Emperor of India: To whom we do acknowledge all faith and constant obedience, with all hearty and humble affection: beseeching God, by whom Kings and Queens do reign, to bless the Royal Prince George the Sixth with long and happy years to reign over us.

Given at Wellington in the Dominion of New Zealand, this fourteenth day of December, in the year of our Lord one thousand nine hundred and thirty-six.

GALWAY, Governor-General.

MICHAEL JOSEPH SAVAGE.

PETER FRASER.
HENRY GREATHEAD REX MASON.
ROBERT SEMPLE.
PATRICK CHARLES WEBB.
WILLIAM LEE MARTIN.
MARK FAGAN.
ADAM HAMILTON.

DANIEL GILES SULLIVAN.
HUBERT THOMAS ARMSTRONG.
WILLIAM EDWARD PARRY.
FREDERICK JONES.
FRANK LANGSTONE.
MICHAEL MYERS, C.J.
APIRANA TURUPA NGATA.

GOD SAVE THE KING!