Exempting Crown Land from certain Provisions of the Mining Act, 1926.

GALWAY, Governor-General.

I N pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section twenty of the Mining Act, 1926, and of every other power and authority enabling me in this behalf, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, do hereby exempt the Crown land particularly described in the Second Schedule hereto from the provisions of those sections of the Mining Act, 1926, mentioned in the First Schedule hereto, and do also hereby declare that such exemption shall take effect from the date of the publication of this notice in the New Zealand Gazette.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

THE MINING ACT, 1926.

SECTIONS 144 to 152 (both inclusive).

SECOND SCHEDULE.

ALL that area in the Westland Land District, containing All that area in the Westahd Land District, containing 5 acres, more or less, being Reserve No. 1324, situated in the Town of Cobden, Borough of Greymouth. As the same is more particularly shown on plan marked N. 6/4/49, deposited in the office of the Mines Department at Wellington, and thereon edged red.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 19th day of February, 1936.

P. C. WEBB, Minister of Mines. (Mines N. 6/4/49.)

Honorary Inspectors of Scenic Reserves appointed.

GALWAY, Governor-General.

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by section four of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

Perrine Moncrieff, Arnold Grierson Lamont Cork, Frank Leslie Park, Rodrick Murdoch Matheson, Thomas Stuart Robertson, and Thomas Joseph Hickey

to be Honorary Inspectors under the said Act.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 19th day of February, 1936.

FRANK LANGSTONE,

Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation. (L. and S. 4/448.)

Honorary Inspectors of Scenic Reserves appointed.

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred by section four of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby appoint

Percy Hawkins Johnson, John Matthew Baxter, Noel McLeod Ross, James Donald Calder, Robert Wilkin Neal, Charles Lowe, and James Andrew Morrison

to be Honorary Inspectors under the said Act.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 19th day of February, 1936.

FRANK LANGSTONE,

Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation. (L. and S. 4/448.)

Vesting the Control of a Scenic Reserve in the Pukeamaru Range Scenic Board.

GALWAY, Governor-General.

I N pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of the reserve described in the Schedule hereto (being land

reserved under the said Act) for the period of five years from the date hereof (unless previously altered or revoked under the said Act), in the undermentioned persons, namely,—

James Alexander Mullooly, Wallace Fletcher Metcalfe, Oliver James McLachlan, Thomas Murtagh, John Matthew Reid, and Charles Eric Trafford,

Charles Eric Trafford, who are hereby constituted for that purpose a special Board by the name of the Pukeamaru Range Scenic Board (herein referred to as "the Board"), in trust, for the preservation of scenery, and with the powers and subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say,— 1. The first meeting of the Board shall be held on Saturday, the twenty-first day of March, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-six, at two o'clock p.m., in the Library, Te Araroa, and thereafter the Board shall meet for the transaction of business on the third Saturday in each month at the time and place aforesaid, or at such other time or place as may from time to time be fixed by the Board. 2. The members of the Board shall at their first meeting, and thereafter at the annual meeting hereinafter mentioned, elect one of themselves to be Chairman, who may join in the

elect one of themselves to be Chairman, who may join in the discussion, and shall have an original as well as a casting vote. The Chairman shall hold office until the election of his successor.

3. Special meetings may be convened by the Chairman, provided that two days' notice of such meeting is given to each member, specifying the business to be transacted at

each member, specifying the business to be transacted at such special meeting; and no other business than that so specified shall be transacted at such meeting.
4. Any three members of the Board shall form a quorum. Any meeting may be adjourned from time to time.
5. All questions shall be determined by the majority of votes of the members of the Board present at the meeting.
6. If at any meeting the Chairman is not present at the time appointed for holding the same, the members present shall choose one of their number to be Chairman for such meeting.

shall choose one of their number to be Chairman for such meeting.
7. If, by resignation, death, incapacity, or otherwise, the seat of any member shall be or become vacant, or if any member absents himself, without reasonable cause, from three consecutive meetings of the Board, the Governor-General shall have power to appoint any other person to be a member of the Board in his stead.
8. The Board shall prepare and submit at an annual meeting to be held in the month of April in each year a report of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of the receipts and expenditure of the Board for such year, A copy of every such report and statement, certified by the Chairman to be correct, shall be sent to the Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation as soon as possible after each annual meeting.

meeting. 9. The Board shall control the said reserve in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the regulations

SCHEDULE.

PUKEAMARU RANGE SCENIC RESERVE.-GISBORNE LAND DISTRICT.

SECTION 2, Block XII, Matakaoa Survey District : Area, 1,876 acres, more or less. (Gisborne plan C.P. 3941.) Also Section 1, Block XI, Matakaoa Survey District : Area, 3,575 acres, more or less. (Gisborne plan C.P. 3451.)

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 16th day of February, 1936.

FRANK LANGSTONE, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.

(L. and S. 209.)

Allocation of Gold Duty,

I, GEORGE VERE ARUNDELL, Viscount Galway, acting under the powers conferred on me by section 13 of the Gold Duty Act, 1908, and on an award of the Warden of the Hauraki Mining District dated the seventh day of December, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-five, do hereby order that one-half of the gold duty of two shillings per ounce paid under the provisions of section 3 of the Gold Duty Act, 1908, on gold produced in the Sylvia Mine, being all that area of land in the Hauraki Mining District containing by admeasure. land in the Hauraki Mining District containing by admeasure-ment 99 acres 3 roods 39 perches, more or less, situate in Blocks I and IV, Thames Survey District, on the Ohio Creek,

GALWAY, Governor-General.