Warden appointed.

GALWAY, Governor-General. ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government House at Wellington, this 13th day of May, 1935.

Present: His Excellency the Governor-General in Council.

HIS EXCELLENCY THE GOVERNOR-GENERAL IN COUNCIL.

WHEREAS by section nine of the Mining Act, 1926, it is enacted that the Governor-General may from time to time, by Order in Council, appoint fit persons to be Wardens, who shall hold office during the Governor-General's pleasure:

Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise of the power and authority conferred by the said section nine of the Mining Act, 1926, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby appoint hereby appoint

William Henry Freeman, Esquire,

to be a Warden, to hold and exercise the duties of such office under and subject to the provisions of the said Act during pleasure, on and from the first day of May, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-five.

A. W. MULLIGAN, Acting Clerk of the Executive Council.

Declaring Motunau Island to be a Sanctuary under the Animals Protection and Game Act, 1921-22, Canterbury Land District.

## GALWAY, Governor-General.

TN pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by section six of the Animals Protection and Game Act, 1921–22 (hereinafter referred to as "the said Act"), I, George Vere Arundell, Viscount Galway, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby notify and declare the area described in the Schedule hereto to be a sanctuary for the purposes of the said Act.

## SCHEDULE.

## MOTUNAU ISLAND.

ALL that area in the Canterbury Land District, containing by admeasurement 5 acres, more or less, and being Reserve No. 103, situated in the Pacific Ocean 60 chains approximately due south from the mouth of the Motunau River, in Block XV, Stoneyhurst Survey District, and being otherwise known as Motunau Island. As the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked I.A. 1935/37/1, deposited in the Department of Internal Affairs at Wellington, and thereon bordered

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 10th day of May, 1935.

J. A. YOUNG, Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 1935/37/1.)

Official Member of Horouta Maori Council appointed.

Native Department,
Wellington, 3rd May, 1935.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint Benjamin McClutchie,

to be the official member of the Maori Council for the Maori Council District of Horouta, vice George Kirk, resigned.

R. MASTERS, Acting Native Minister.

Members of Maori Purposes Fund Board appointed.

Native Department Wellington, 13th May, 1935.

PURSUANT to the provisions of subsection (2) (f) of section 7 of the Maori Purposes Fund Act, 1934-35, His Excellency the Governor-General in Council has appointed

The Right Honourable Joseph Gordon Coates, Kenneth Stuart Williams, Esquire, Johannes Carl Andersen, Esquire, and Gilbert Archey, Esquire,

to be members of the Maori Purposes Fund Board.

R. MASTERS, Acting Native Minister.

Members of Board of Native Affairs appointed.

Native Department,
Wellington, 13th May, 1935.

PURSUANT to the provisions of subsection (1) (g) of section
3 of the Board of Native Affairs Act, 1934-35, His
Excellency the Governor-General in Council has appointed

James Simon Jessep, Esquire, and John Norman Massey, Esquire,

to be members of the Board of Native Affairs.

R. MASTERS, Acting Native Minister.

Members of Domain Boards appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 17th April, 1935.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, to make the following appointments:

Arnold Carl Rudolph Brandt,

to be a member of the Paraparaumu Domain Board in place of Malcolm Maclean (deceased).

Henzel Lowther Lewthwaite,

to be a member of the Little River Domain Board in place of Thomas Thompson (deceased).

Albert Edward Luscombe,

to be a member of the Te Ngutu-o-te-Manu Domain Board in place of George Hurley, resigned.

Edwin Vivian Sutherland,

to be a member of the One Tree Hill Domain Board in place of John Rowe (deceased).

Victor Healey,

to be a member of the Seddonville Soldiers' Memorial Park Domain Board in place of Graham Rex Wimsett, resigned.

Reuben Hayter,

to be a member of the Mamuku Domain Board in place of Frederick George Reed, resigned.

Andrew Woods.

to be a member of the St. Andrew's Domain Board in place of David Matheson France, resigned.

Francis Henry Billing,

to be a member of the Kimbolton Domain Board in place of Albert Williams Gray, resigned.

Frederick Bernard Whitechurch, and John Marsden,

to be members of the Tahuna Domain Board in place of Edward Robert Whitechurch (deceased), and John Silcock, resigned.

Owen Duffy, David Sydney Neighbours, and Maurice George Neighbours,

to be members of the Waimangaroa Domain Board in place of John Queripel, Andrew Fleming, and Frank Eckersley, resigned.

Stephenson Edgar Craig,

to be a member of the Mairangi Bay Domain Board in place of Spink Birdsall Greenbury, resigned.

George Alsop, Victor Alexander Martin, and James Leith Stuart,

to be members of the Tangimoana Domain Board in place of George William Braddell, William Theodore Morpeth, and Arthur Dougall Webby, resigned.

Willis Alan Scaife, and William Abraham Studholme,

to be members of the Wanaka Islands Domain Board in place of James Faulks and Walter Henry Thomson, resigned.

E. A. RANSOM, Minister of Lands.

(L. and S. 1/114.)