Justices of the Peace appointed.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 14th September, 1933.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the undermentioned persons to be Justices of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand and its dependencies :-

Alfred Ernest Allison, Esq., of 17 Watt Street, Goldies Brae, Wellington.

John Crabb Barclay, Esq., of Okaiawa, Co. Hawera.
James Bryden, Esquire, of Cookson Street, Kaiapoi.
James Leonard Buchanan, Esq., of Main Street, Warkworth,

Frederick Carson, Esq., of Selcombe Street, Kaitangata Co. Bruce.

Co. Bruce.
William Kenyon Cook, Esq., of Rawene, Co. Hokianga.
James Curragh, Esq., of Templeton, Co. Paparua.
George Darling, Esq., of Coromandel, Co. Coromandel.
Frederick Aubrey Denize, Esq., of Tiki Road, Coromandel,
Co. Coromandel.

Co. Coromandel.

Norman FitzHerbert, Esq., of Putaruru, Co. Matamata.

Allen Forsyth, Esq., of Ruby Bay, Mapua, Co. Waimea.

Hedley Vicars Free, Esq., of 284 Papanui Road, Christchurch.

Alfred Percy Grey, Esq., of Otorohanga, Co. Otorohanga.

Graham Hammond, Esq., of Opunake, Co. Egmont.

Bernard Claude Horrell, Esq., of Te Tua, Co. Wallace.

Hugh William Howell, Esq., of Coromandel, Co. Coromandel.

Thomas Pole Hughson, Esq., jun., of Opunake, Co. Egmont.

Herbert George Kerslake, Esq., of Oxford Street, Levin.

Edwin John Flewellen King, Esq., of Greenmeadows, Co.

Hawke's Bay.

Hawke's Bay.
William John Lee, Esq., of Railway Terrace, Rakaia, Co.

Ashburton.

Donald Wright Malloch, Esq., of Waikouaiti.

Raymond Wilfrid Matthews, Esq., of Waiorongomai, Co. Featherston.

Ramsay McDougall, Esq., of Pirinoa, Co. Featherston.
Frank Ernest Parker, Esq., of Levin.
William Edward Rushworth, Esq., of Liverpool Street,
Tuakau, Co. Franklin.

William Paxton Salmond, Esq., of Upper Moutere, Co. Waimea

Norman Charles Campbell Shepherd, Esq., of Hayward Street, Featherston.

Street, Featherston.

Joseph Percy Smytheman, Esq., of Warkworth, Co. Rodney.

Herbert Harry Sterling, Esq., of Wellington.

Wilfrid Thomas Wardell, Esq., of Omarama, Co. Waitaki.

William Edgar Williams, Esq., of Kaihu, Co. Hobson.

Arthur Ernest Williamson, Esq., of Putaruru, Co. Matamata.

Henry Charles Bayly Withell, Esq., of Ealing, Co. Ashburton.

JOHN G. COBBE, Minister of Justice.

Justice of the Peace resigns.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 13th September, 1933. H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by

Alexander James Maclaine, Esquire, of Blenheim, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand.

JOHN G. COBBE, Minister of Justice.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the N.Z. Military Forces.

Department of Defence. Wellington, 6th September, 1933.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve the following appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of officers of the New Zealand Military Forces:—

THE OTAGO MOUNTED RIFLES.

Lieutenant W. R. J. Pollock is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 12. Dated 22nd August, 1933.

REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Captain H. W. D. Blake ceases to be posted to the 10th Field Battery and is posted to the 16th Light Battery. Dated 8th July, 1933.
Lieutenant R. C. Page, 7th Field Battery, resigns his commission. Dated 24th August, 1933.
2nd Lieutenant C. S. Dickson, Regimental Supernumerary List, is posted to the 10th Field Battery. Dated 17th August, 1933.
2nd Lieutenant J. W. Moodie, Regimental C.

2nd Lieutenant J. W. Moodie, Regimental Supernumerary List, is posted to the 12th Field Battery. Dated 17th August, 1933.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants and are posted to the batteries as stated against their names. Dated 17th August, 1933 :-

> Frank Trevor Scofield, 14th Medium Battery George Maurice Beaumont, 16th Light Battery. John Gray Warrington, 10th Field Battery.

> > THE WELLINGTON REGIMENT.

Captain A. E. Gorton, M.M., 1st Battalion, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 5. Dated 24th August, 1933.

Lieutenant J. B. Hepworth ceases to be posted to the 1st Battalion and is posted to the 3rd Cadet Battalion. Dated 11th August, 1933.

THE WELLINGTON WEST COAST REGIMENT.

James Prichard Wilson to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) and is posted to the 1st Cadet Battalion. Dated 16th August, 1933.

THE CANTERBURY REGIMENT.

Lieutenant (temp. Captain) A. P. Hopkins, v.D., 5th Cadet Battalion, is posted to the Retired List with the rank of Captain and with permission to wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 17th August, 1933.

Captain W. Fergie, Regimental Supernumerary List, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class II (b), R.D. 10.

Dated 28th August, 1933.

2nd Lieutenant A. B. Griffin, from the Nelson, Marlborough, and West Coast Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority from 9th November, 1929, and is posted to the 1st Battalion. Dated 22nd August, 1933.

THE NELSON, MARLBOROUGH, AND WEST COAST REGIMENT.

Lieutenant R. H. Page, Regimental Supernumerary List, is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 9. Dated 17th August, 1933.

2nd Lieutenant A. B. Griffin, Regimental Supernumerary List, is transferred to the Canterbury Regiment. Dated 22nd August, 1933.

Harold John Addis to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) and is posted to the 1st Cadet Battalion. Dated 1st August,

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Captain J. J. Valentine, M.B., is attached to the 3rd Field Battery, N.Z.A. Dated 23rd August, 1933.

Captain J. S. Hudson, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., ceases to be posted to the 1st Field Ambulance and is attached to the 20th Light Battery, N.Z.A. Dated 23rd August, 1933.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS' DEPARTMENT.

The undermentioned Chaplains, 3rd Class, to be Chaplains, 2nd Class:

The Reverend G. H. Gavin. Dated 1st December, 1932. The Reverend G. T. Brown, M.A. Dated 9th April, 1933.

The Reverend W. G. Carpenter, Chaplain, 4th Class, to be Chaplain, 3rd Class. Dated 31st August, 1933.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Matron V. M. K. McLean, R.R.C., is posted to the Retired List with permission to retain her rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 18th August, 1933.

JOHN G. COBBE, Minister of Defence.

Members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board appointed .— (Notice No. Ag. 3139.)

> Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 7th September, 1933.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to reappoint reappoint

(1) In terms of section 3 (2) (b) of the Veterinary Surgeons Act, 1926-

Alexander Malcolm Brodie, M.R.C.V.S., and

(2) In terms of section 3 (2) (c) of the said Act-William Christopher Barry, M.R.C.V.S., and Herbert Seton Stewart Kyle, G.M.V.C.

as members of the Veterinary Surgeons Board constituted under the said Act.

CHAS. E. MACMILLAN, Minister of Agriculture.