In each case enumerated under paragraphs (a), (b), and (c) above, the Minister of Justice must be satisfied that the body of persons named in the certificate is a religious body, and that the applicant is a minister of religion and is a person of good character and otherwise qualified to act as an Officiating Minister. In the case of the religious body known as "Brethren" a special form of certificate will be supplied on application.

supplied on application.

Neglect in sending the certificate will deprive the minister of his status as an Officiating Minister under the Marriage

Act.

N.B.—It is requested that the Christian names and the addresses of the several ministers may be specified in the lists sent in to the Registrar-General.

In order to obviate the necessity for further inquiry, it is also requested that the reason for omitting the name of any minister be stated (such as on account of death, absence from New Zealand, or as the case may be).

W. W. COOK, Registrar-General.

General Election of Members of Parliament, 1931.—Nominations of Candidates for Maori Representation.

Chief Electoral Office, Wellington, 23rd November, 1931.

NOTICE is hereby given in terms of the Electoral Act,
1927, that the following nominations of candidates for
the Maori Electoral Districts have been received, viz.:—

Northern Maori Electoral District-Hemi Whautere Witchira, Paraire Karaka Paikea. Tau Henare.

Eastern Maori Electoral District— Apirana Turupa Ngata. Pita te Turuki Tamati Moko.

Western Maori Electoral District-Haami Tokouru Ratana. Hare Henare Piahana. Pepene Tango Eketone. Rima Wakarua. Taite te Tomo. Timi Takirihi (James Douglas).

Southern Maori Electoral District— Eruera Tihema Tirikatene (Tregerthen). Hari Wi Katene. Tuiti Makitanara.

G. G. HODGKINS, Chief Electoral Officer.

Northern Maori Electoral District.

NOTICE OF POLLING-DAY.

EDWARD PERCY EARLE, Returning Officer for the Northern Maori Electoral District, do hereby give notice that, more than one candidate having been duly nominated for election as member of Parliament for the said district, the poll will be taken at the several polling-places of the said district on the 1st day of December, 1931, being the date fixed by the writ.

Hours of polling are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Dated this 23rd day of November, 1931.

E. P. EARLE, Returning Officer.

Eastern Maori Electoral District.

NOTICE OF POLLING-DAY.

JOHN HARVEY, Returning Officer for the Eastern Maori Electoral District, do hereby give notice that, more than one candidate having been duly nominated for election as member of Parliament for the said district, the poll will be taken at the several polling-places of the said district on the 1st day of December, 1931, being the date fixed by the writ.

Hours of polling are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. · Dated this 23rd day of November, 1931.

J. HARVEY, Returning Officer.

Western Maori Electoral District.

NOTICE OF POLLING-DAY.

GEORGE PATRICK SHEPHERD, Returning Officer for the Western Maori Electoral District, do hereby give notice that, more than one candidate having been duly nominated for election as member of Parliament for the said district, the poll will be taken at the several polling-places of the said district on the 1st day of December, 1931, being the date fixed by the writ.

Hours of polling are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Dated this 23rd day of November, 1931.

G. P. SHEPHERD, Returning Officer.

Southern Maori Electoral District.

NOTICE OF POLLING-DAY.

I, JOHN ROYDEN SANSOM, Returning Officer for the Southern Maori Electoral District, do hereby give notice that, more than one candidate having been duly nominated for election as member of Parliament for the said district, the poll will be taken at the several polling-places of the said district on the 1st day of December, 1931, being the date fixed by the writ.

Hours of polling are from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Dated this 23rd day of November, 1931.

J. R. SANSOM, Returning Officer.

Fireblight Committee Elections under the Fireblight Committee Regulations, 1928.

DECLARATION OF ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE FIREBLIGHT COMMITTEE OF THE THAMES COMMERCIAL FRUITGROWING

JOHN GRAY, Returning Officer for the purpose of the Committee Regulations, 1928, do hereby declare that the following candidates have been duly nominated for the election of members of the Fireblight Committee of the Thames Commercial Fruitgrowing District, nominations for which closed at Wellington at noon on the 12th November, 1931:—

Causley, Frederick John. Claxton, Frank Henry. Orbell, George Scott. Russell, Alexander. Walder, Jacob.

As the number of candidates nominated does not exceed the number of members to be elected (5), I hereby declare the said Frederick John Causley, Frank Henry Claxton, George Scott Orbell, Alexander Russell, and Jacob Walder to be duly elected.

Dated at Wellington, this 18th day of November, 1931.

JOHN GRAY, Returning Officer.

Fireblight Committee Elections under the Fireblight Committee Regulations, 1928.

DECLARATION OF ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE FIREBLIGHT COMMITTEE OF THE HAWKE'S BAY COMMERCIAL FRUIT-CROWING DISTRICT.

JOHN GRAY, Returning Officer for the purpose of the Committee Regulations, 1928, do hereby declare that the following candidates have been duly nominated for the election of members of the Fireblight Committee of the Hawke's Bay Commercial Fruitgrowing District, nominations for which closed at Wellington at noon on the 12th day of November, 1931:— November, 1931 :-

Holmes, Stanley.
McLeod, Donald Sinclair.
Mitchell, Tom.
Paynter, Ralph.
Robertson, Alexander Morris.

As the number of candidates nominated does not exceed the number of members to be elected (5), I hereby declare the said Stanley Holmes, Donald Sinclair McLeod, Tom Mitchell, Ralph Paynter, and Alexander Morris Robertson to be duly elected.

Dated at Wellington, this 18th day of November, 1931. JOHN GRAY, Returning Officer,