

THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Published by Anthority,

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 25, 1930.

Altering the Boundaries of Bay of Islands and Whangarei Counties, and including Area in Otonga Riding, Whangarei County.

[L.S.]

BLEDISLOE, Governor-General.

A PROCLAMATION.

WHEREAS it is provided, inter alia, by subsection two of section fourteen of the Counties Act, 1920, that the boundaries of any two or more counties may be altered in accordance with a resolution proposing the alteration passed by the Council of each of such counties in which the Counties Act is in force:

And whereas a resolution was passed by the Bay of Islands County Council on the twenty-eighth day of May, one thousand nine hundred and thirty, praying for the alteration of the boundaries of the Bay of Islands and Whangarei Counties in the manner described in the said resolution and in the First Schedule hereto:

And whereas a similar resolution was passed by the Whangarei County Council on the thirteenth day of June, one thousand nine hundred and thirty:

And whereas it is expedient that such alteration be made

And whereas it is expedient that such alteration be made in accordance with the said resolutions, and that the area to be added to the Whangarei County should be included in the Otonga Riding of that county:

Now, therefore, in pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred on me by the said Act, I, Charles, Baron Bledisloe, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby proclaim and declare that the area described in the First Schedule hereto, being now part of the Bay of Islands County, shall be added to and form part of the Whangarei County; that the boundaries of the Bay of Islands and Whangarei Counties as so altered shall be those set forth under the respective headings in the Second Schedule hereto; that the area added as aforesaid to Whangarei County shall be included in the Otonga Riding of the said county; and that the boundaries of the said Otonga Riding as so altered shall be those set forth in the Third Schedule hereto:

And I do also proclaim and declare that this Proclamation shall take effect on the first day of April, one thousand nine hundred and thirty-one.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Area excluded from Bay of Islands County and included in Whangarei County.

ALL that area in the North Auckland Land District, bounded by a line commencing at the north-eastern corner of Section 50, Block VI, Hukerenui Survey District; thence south-westerly along the south-eastern boundary of said Section 50 to its southernmost corner; thence up the Waiotu River to the road forming the western boundary of Section 49, Block VI aforesaid; thence northerly along that road to the north-western corner of Section 49 aforesaid; thence easterly along the northern boundaries of the said Sections 49 and 50 to the easternmost corner of the said Section 50, the point of commencement.

SECOND SCHEDULE.

Boundaries of Bay of Islands County.

All that area in the North Auckland Land District, bounded by a line commencing at the confluence of the Mangapapa Stream and the Waipapa River; thence up the middle of the Waipapa River and the Pukatea Stream to a point in line with the north-western boundary of Section 9, Block XIV, Kaeo Survey District; thence to and along that boundary and the north-western boundary of Section 3s, Puketi Settlement; thence along the western and north-western boundaries of said Section 3s and the north-western boundaries of said Section 3s and the north-western boundaries of Section 5, Puketi Settlement, to its northernmost corner; thence across a road and along the north-western and northern boundaries of Section 5, Block XV, Kaeo Survey District (passing through Manginangina Trig. Station) to the northwestern boundary of Section 28, Blocks XV and XVI, Kaeo Survey District; thence along the north-western boundary of Section 16, Block XVI aforesaid, to the north-western corner of the said Section 16; thence along the road forming the south-western boundaries of Sections 28 and 27, Block XII, Kaeo Survey District, to the western boundary of Sections 28 and 27, Block XII, Kaeo Survey District, to the western boundary of Section 15A, the western and northern boundaries of Section 15A.