Approving of a Rear Red Reflector in Terms of the Motor-vehicle | (Supplementary) Regulations, 1928.

I N terms of Regulation 2 of the Motor-vehicle (Supple-mentary) Regulations, 1928, I, William Andrew Veitch, Minister of Transport, do hereby approve of the following rear red reflector for equipment to motor-vehicles, in terms of Regulation 5 of the said regulations, provided that and so long as the said reflector is identical in make, construction, and design, and similar in effect to the sample thereof deposited in the office of the Transport Department at Wellington, and marked according to the number indicated hercunder :---

"Bulldog" Reflector. Sample No. 9.

Dated at Wellington, this 24th day of April, 1930.

W. A. VEITCH, Minister of Transport.

(TT. 9/2/1.)

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph.

General Post Office

General Post Office, Wellington, 24th April, 1930. IN pursuance of the powers conferred upon me by the Post and Telegraph Act, 1928 (hereinafter termed "the said Act"), and by the regulations made on the 12th May, 1914, and published in the *New Zealand Gazette* of the 21st May, 1914, the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by tele-graph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid.

Charles Henry Nicol Clarkson, Postmaster, Ashburton.

Otto Eigil List, Postmaster, Balclutha. Ralph Stanley Wheeler, Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Greymouth

James Broadbent, Senior Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Hamilton.

Alfred Pellow, Postmaster, Te Kuiti.

GEO. W. FORBES, for Minister of Telegraphs.

Result of Election of Members of River Boards.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 28th April, 1930

THE following results of the election of members of River Boards have been received from the Returning Officers, and are published in accordance with the provisions of the River Boards Amendment Act, 1913.

G. P. NEWTON, Under-Secretary.

Otanomomo River District, County of Clutha ---William Telford. Thomas Dale. (I.A. 19/121/37.) Waimatuku River District, Counties of Southland and Wallace Waimatuku Subdivision-Thomas Stuart Muirhead. Charles H. Tucker. Monte Christo Subdivision — Alexander McKenzie. Charles Brown. Drummond Subdivision— Robert Kennedy. Ian Charles Lindsay. Otahuti Subdivision-Robert Ironside Hector. William Young. (I.A. 19/142.) Mangawara River District, Counties of Waikato, Ohinemuri, and Piako Central Subdivision-Carter, Walter Stephen. Kirk, Frederick Edwin. Procter, Charles Artley. Eastern Subdivision-Laing, John Edgar. Lower Subdivision-Harvey, John Graham. Law, James. McCallum, Richard Hamilton. Tauhei Subdivision Houghton, Roland Paul.

Seath, James. (I.A. 19/121/44.)

Auditor under the Friendly Societies Act, 1909, licensed.

Friendly Societies Department,

Wellington, 22nd April, 1930. IN pursuance of the 10th section of the Friendly Societies Act, 1909, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to license

Roland Henry David Hall, Esquire,

of Wellington, to act as a Public Auditor under the Friendly Societies Act, 1909.

JAS. B. DONALD, Minister in Charge.

The Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925.-Notice of Proposed Cancellation of Registration.

Department of Labour. Wellington, 23rd April, 1930.

N OTICE is hereby given that, pursuant to and in exercise of the powers in this behalf conferred upon me by section 23 of the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act, 1925, the registration of the industrial unions mentioned in the Schedule below will, unless cause to the contrary is shown, be cancelled at the expiration of six weeks from the date hereof.

W. NEWTON,

Registrar of Industrial Unions.

SCHEDULE.

NORTHERN INDUSTRIAL DISTRICT.

Industrial Union of Employers.

THE Auckland Clothing Manufacturers' Industrial Union of Employers, registered number 162; situated at Auckland.

Industrial Union of Workers. The Auckland Gum Workers' Industrial Union of Workers, registered number 422; situated at Auckland.

Wellington Industrial District.

Industrial Unions of Workers.

The Wanganui Bricklayers' Industrial Union of Workers,

The Wanganui Bricklayers' Industrial Union of Workers, registered number.1057; situated at Wanganui. The Wanganui Theatre Employees' Industrial Union of Workers, registered number 1215; situated at Wanganui. The North Wellington Timber Yards and Sawmills' Industrial Union of Workers, registered number 1273; situated at Raetihi.

Education Act, 1914.—General Council of Education.

Education Department, Wellington, N.Z., 23rd April, 1930.

N pursuance of the regulations made under section 9 (5) of the Education Act, 1914, it is hereby notified that— For the election of members to represent the Education

Boards of the South Island on the above-mentioned Council the following nominations were received, viz. :---David Thomas Fleming, and

Ernest Herbert Andrews.

For the election of a member to represent the certificated male public school teachers of the South Island the following nomination was received, viz. :-

John Ernest Purchase

For the election of a member to represent the certificated women public school teachers of the South Island the following nomination was received, viz. :-

Emily Anne Chaplin.

For the election of a member to represent secondary and technical male teachers the following nomination was received, viz.:

William Allan Armour.

For the election of a member to represent secondary and technical women teachers the following nomination was received, viz. :-

Nellie Euphemia Coad.

As the number of persons nominated in each instance does not exceed the number to be elected, I hereby declare David Thomas Fleming, Ernest Herbert Andrews, John Ernest Purchase, Emily Anne Chaplin, William Allan Armour, and Nellie Euphemia Coad, to be duly elected members of the General Council of Education.

A. E. LAKE, Returning Officer.