Honours conferred by His Majesty the King. Member of Otago Land Board appointed. Department of Internal Affairs, Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 10th January, 1930. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint Wellington, 8th January, 1930. IS Excellency the Governor-General directs the publica-tion in the New Zealand Gazette of the honours conferred by His Majesty the King, as follows :--appoint Duncan McLennan Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George— The Right Honourable Sir Joseph George Ward, Bart., K.C.M.G., M.P., Prime Minister. to be a member of the Otago Land Board as from the 10th day of January, 1930. GEO. W. FORBES, Minister of Lands. Knight Commander of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Shorthand Reporter appointed. Michael and St. George-The Honourable Michael Myers, K.C., Chief Justice. Department of Justice, Wellington, 15th January, 1930. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased Knight Bachelor-The Honourable Thomas Kay Sidey, M.L.C., Attorney General. to appoint Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St. Michael and St. George---Edward William Kane, Esquire, Clerk of the Legislative Council and Clerk of Parliaments. Robert Parker, Esquire, Organist, &c., of Wellington. Doris Ida Bilton to be a Shorthand Reporter under the Shorthand Reporters Act, 1908. T. K. SIDEY, Minister of Justice. Commander of the Civil Division of the Most Excellent Member of Licensing Committee appointed. Order of the British Empire — Arthur Albert Luckham, Esquire, Resident Commissioner Department of Justice, Wellington, 15th January, 1930. H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint of Niue Island. JOHN G. COBBE, For Minister of Internal Affairs. to appoint (I.A. 12/4.) Edward Darker Mosley, Esquire, S.M., to be a member of the Licensing Committees for the Districts of Kaiapoi and Riccarton, vice E. C. Levvey, Esquire, S.M. Chairman of Local Government Loans Board appointed. T. K. SIDEY, Minister of Justice. The Treasury, Wellington, 10th January, 1930. I N pursuance of section 4 (4) of the Local Government Loans Board Act, 1926, His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint A. D. Park, Esquire, Secretary to the Treasury, to be Chairman of the Local Government Loans Board. Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed. Registrar-General's Office, Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 14th January, 1930. I T is hereby notified that the undermentioned persons have been appointed to be the Deputies of the Registrars of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the districts set respectively opposite their names, viz. :--JOSEPH WARD, Minister of Finance. Name. District. Norman Philip Williams ... Leopold Thomas Buckton ... Carterton Appointment of the Departmental Representative on the Government Railways Appeal Board. Helensville. •• Leslie David Hodgson •• Kaeo.* .. I N pursuance of section 80 (c) of the Government Railways Act, 1926, I hereby give notice that in exercise of the power conferred on me by section 80 (b) of the Government Railways Act, 1926, and section 9 (2) (b) of the Government Railways Amendment Act, 1927, I have appointed Mr. John Robert Robertson, Chief Schedule Officer, Chief Mechanical Engineer's Office, Government Railways, Wellington, to act as a member of the Government Railways Appeal Board vice Mr. Frederick Lindsay, who has resigned his appointment as a member of such Board. Mr. Robertson will hold office from the 23rd day of December, 1929, during the residue of the term of Mr. Lindsay's appointment—namely, until the 22nd day of February, 1931 (both dates inclusive). W. B. TAVERNER. Minister of Railways. Arol George Murch William McPherson Gordon Rongotea. ••• Takapau. .. Wilfred Eric Tollan ••• Taupo, at Reporoa. •• Tolaga Bay. Ronald Dean Mayson .. * Births and Deaths only. W. W. COOK, Registrar-General. Appointment in the Public Service. Office of the Public Service Commissioner, Wellington, 10th January, 1930. THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointment in the Public Service :---Alexander Dallas Park, Esquire, W. B. TAVERNER, Minister of Railways. to be Secretary to the Treasury, Receiver-General, Paymaster-General, and Registrar New Zealand Inscribed Stock, as from the 1st day of January, 1930. Members of Domain Boards appointed. Lands and Survey Office, Wellington, 13th January, 1930. H IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following annointments: A. C. TURNBULL, Secretary. Appointments in the Public Service. Office of the Public Service Commissioner, Wellington, 10th January, 1929. THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointments in the Public Service appointments : Leslie White appointments in the Public Service :to be a member of the Rotokare (Ngaire) Domain Board, in place of Charles Leonard Needham, resigned. Constable John Robertson to be Clerk and Bailiff of the Magistrates' Court at Methven Albert Francis Cuff for the purposes of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1928, as from the 17th day of December, 1929. to be a member of the Makaka Domain Board, in place of John Fitzgerald, resigned. Albert James Ching Albert James Ching to be Clerk of the Magistrates' Court at Ashburton for the purposes of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1928; Official Assignee at Ashburton for the Supreme Court District of Canterbury for the purposes of the Bankruptoy Act, 1908; Clerk of the Warden's Court, Receiver of Gold Revenue, and Mining Registrar at Ashburton for the Otago Mining District, constituted under the Mining Act, 1926; and Local Patent Officer at Ashburton for the purposes of section 15 of the Patents, Designs, and Trade-marks Act, 1921-22, as from the 7th day of January, 1930. Claude Oswald Pratt Tawhai Tamepo to be a member of the Te Araroa Domain Board, in place of Thomas McLachlan, resigned. James Morris to be a member of the Hinds No. 2 Domain Board, in place of John Cook, left the district. Fenton Butler to be a member of the Te Teko Domain Board, in place of Joseph John Guest, left the district. Joseph Neale Blaymires and Lawrence Oliver Veysey Claude Oswald Pratt to be Clerk of the Magistrate's Court at Hawera for the pur-poses of the Magistrate's Courts Act, 1928, and Clerk of the Licensing Committee for the District of Patea as from the 23rd day of December, 1929. to be members of the Wharere Domain Board, in place of Annesley Martin Hickson, deceased, and James Edward Pursley, resigned.

JOHN G. COBBE, for Minister of Lands.

A. C. TURNBULL, Secretary.