As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 24th day of July, 1929.

GEO. W. FORBES, Minister of Lands.

Vesting the Control of Portions of a Scenic Reserve in the Dannevirke Borough Council.

CHARLES FERGUSSON, Governor-General.

T N pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908 (hereinafter referred to as "the said Act"), His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of those portions of the Makirikiri Scenic Reserve described in the Schedule hereto (being land reserved under the said Act) in the Danne-virke Borough Council, subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say —

virke Borough Council, subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say :-1. The period for which control is hereby vested shall be five years from the date hereof, unless the reservation is previously altered or revoked under the said Act.
2. The said Council shall prepare a report each year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of receipts and expenditure in connection with the said portions of the said reserve. Such report and statement shall be sent to the Minister charged with the administration of the said Act as soon as possible after the close of the year.
3. The said Council shall control the said portions in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the regulations made thereunder.

SCHEDULE.

PARTS MAKIRIKIRI SCENIC RESERVE.

PARTS MAKIRIKIRI SCENIC RESERVE. ALL that area in the Hawke's Bay Land District, containing by admeasurement 11 acres 1 rood 34 perches, more or less, being part Section 13, Block II, Tahoraite Survey District. Bounded towards the north-west by Tahoraite No. 2A, Section 18, Lot 4, D.P. 3383, and Makirikiri Road for distances of 377.3, 1266-2, and 352-2 links respectively; towards the north east by the Dannevirke Borough Sewerage Area for a distance of 137.7 links; towards the east by river reserve, 50 links wide; towards the south-east by other part of Section 13 for distances of 465, 277, and 756.8 links; and towards the south-west by Tahoraite No. 2A, Section 18, for distances of 462.9 and 542.6 links. Also all that area in the Hawke's Bay Land District, con-

distances of 462.9 and 542.6 links. Also all that area in the Hawke's Bay Land District, con-taining by admeasurement 2 acres 3 roods 32 perches, more or less, being part Section 13, Block II, Tahoraite Survey District. Bounded towards the north-east by other part of Section 13 for a distance of 115 links; towards the south-east and east by river reserve, 50 links wide; and again towards the south-east by Section 16 for a distance of 215 links; towards the south-west by Section 16 for a distance of 542.9 links; and towards the north-west by Tahoraite No. 2A, Section 18, for distances of 669.8 and 329 links. Be all the aforesaid linkages more or less. As the same are delineated on the plan marked L. and S. 4/375, deposited in the Head Office, Department of Lands and Survey, at Wellington, and thereon bordered red. As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 24th day of July, 1929.

GEO. W. FORBES, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.

Appointment of Consul for Norway for the Mandated Territory of Western Samoa provisionally recognized.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 24th July, 1929.

IS Excellency the Governor General directs notified that the appointment of it to be

Alexander Whitelaw Newton, Esquire,

as Consul for Norway for the Mandated Territory of Western Samoa has been provisionally recognized.

P. A. DE LA PERRELLE,

Minister of Internal Affairs. (I.A. 13/35/125.)

Andrew Ramsav Burt. Alexander Jack, Charles Victor Smith, and Richard John Webster

to be members of the Denniston Domain Board, in place of John Hayes, deceased, Victor Stevens and Robert Greer, resigned, and Hugh Lawrie, left the district.

GEO. W. FORBES, Minister of Lands.

Member of Westland Land Board appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 26th July, 1929. OTICE is hereby given that His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appear General has been pleased to appoint

Louis Robert Gibb

to be a member of the Westland Land Board. GEO. W. FORBES, Minister of Lands.

Members of Domain Boards appointed.

Lands and Survey Office, Wellington, 29th July, 1929. IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments :

Edwin Lindemann Breitmeyer

to be a member of the Little River Domain Board, in place of Joseph Johnson, resigned.

Frederick William Locker

to be a member of the Patea Domàin Board, in place of James David Gemmell Thomson, resigned.

John William O'Neill

to be a member of the Prebbleton Domain Board, in place of John William Kingan, resigned.

Rainhold Edmund Robert Lindemann

to be a member of the Katikati Domain Board, in place of Walter Oswald Burgess, left the district.

William Glassey Gallagher and

Alexander Wallace

to be members of the Ealing Domain Board, in place of James Campbell, deceased, and James Thomas Gallagher, resigned.

Patrick Brophy and Joseph Alois Meier

to be members of the Warea Domain Board in place of Ray Julian and Albert Joseph Lilley, resigned.

GEO. W. FORBES, Minister of Lands.

Members of Domain Boards appointed.

Department of Lands and Survey, Wellington, 29th July, 1929. IS Excellency the Governor-General has, in pursuance of section 49 of the Public Reserves, Domains, and National Parks Act, 1928, been pleased to make the following appointments :

William Donaldson

to be a member of the Toko Domain Board, in place of Joseph Thomas Kilpatrick, resigned.

William Henry Rendle

to be a member of the Whetukura Domain Board, in place of James Snaddon, resigned.

Frederick Clifford Palmer

to be a member of the Weber Domain Board, in place of Sydney James Mitchell, left the district.

Hugh Donaldson and Ernest William Morgan Watson

to be members of the Hinds No. 2 Domain Board, in place of John Moffat Hampton, resigned, and David Thomas Paterson, left the district.

Walter Henry Bell, and Arthur Raynor Chappell

to be members of the Pirongia Domain Board, in place of David Sterritt, deceased, and Martin Henry Hart, left the district.