Classification of Roads in New Zealand.

In pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on me by the Motor-lorry Regulations, 1927, and clause (3) of Regulation 3 of the Motor-lorry Regulations Amendment No. 2, I, Francis Henry Dillon Bell, for the Minister of Public Works, do hereby declare that the roads described in the Schedule hereto, and situated in the counties and other districts there indicated, shall belong to the respective classes of roads shown in the said Schedule.

SCHEDULE.

AKAROA COUNTY (P.W. 62/26/57).

Road classified in the Second Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 8 tons:—

Main Akaroa Highway: From the county boundary at the Hill Top to Akaroa.

Road classified in the Third Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 6 tons:—

Summit Road: From the county boundary at the Hill Top to Long Bay Saddle.

AUCKLAND CITY (P.W. 62/26/125).

Roads classified in the Second Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 8 tons:—

Long Drive; Elizabeth Street; Speight Road; Eltham Road; Taylor Avenuc; Main Road from Meadowbank Road to St. Heliers Wharf.

Roads classified in the Third Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 6 tons:—

Main Road from Old Church Corner to Kohimarama Wharf.

Roads classified in the Fourth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 4 tons:—

reighs not more than 4 tons:—

College Hill; Pilkington Road; Point England Road; Line Road; Glen Innes Road; Riddell Road; Massey Road; Vale Road; Bay Road; Harbour View Road; Waitemata Road; Claude Road; Springcombe Road; Yattendon Road; McArthur Street; Sylvia Road; Walmsley Road; Gifford Road; Dingle Road North; Dingle Road South; Rangitoto View Road; Bridge Street; Bay View Road; Selwyn Road; Ligar Road; Street; Rawhitiroa Road; Selwyn Road; Ligar Road; Nottingley Road; Willow Street; Vine Street; Oak Street; Wellington Street; Nelson Street; Pelygon Street; Parade Street; Strand-Kohimarama; Strand-St. Heliers; Taylor Street; Lombard Street; Campbell Street; Wattling Street; Aukland Road; Challinor Street; Union Street; Edward Street; Terrace Street; Aumoe Road; John Street; Cowie Avenue; Neligan Avenue; Holgate Road; Hawera Road; Orakei Road; Raumati Road.

Road classified in the Fifth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than $2\frac{1}{2}$ tons:—

The road from the eastern corner of Section 1, Orakei, to and past the Native Settlement to the sewerage-tank.

Bay of Islands County (P.W. 62/26/73).

Roads classified in the Fourth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 4 tons:—

Whangarei-Kawakawa Main Highway from Whangarei County boundary to Kawakawa; Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway from Kawakawa to the Hokianga County boundary; Maungatapere-Kaikohe Main Highway from Whangarei County boundary to Kaikohe; Waimamaku-Ohaeawai Main Highway from Hokianga County boundary to Ohaeawai; Akerama-Ruapekapeka Road; Hukerenui-Tapuhi Road; Towai-Ruapekapeka Road; Ramarama Valley Road from Maromuku Railway-station to Whangarei County boundary; Lower Ramarama Road from Maromaku Railway-station to Motatau; Wyatt's Road; Towai-Paiaka Road; Motatau No. 2 Block Road from Motatau to Otiria; Otiria Station Road from Otiria to junction with Main North Road; Kawakawa-Ruapekapeka-Tapuhi Road; Kawakawa-Whangae Road; Kawakawa-Karetu Road; Turntable-Hupara Road; Pakaraka-Oramahoe Black Bridge

Road; Ohaeawai-Waitangi-Paihia Road; Kaikohe-Waimatenui Road from Taheke Road Junction to Hobson County boundary; Gammon's Road; Okaihau-Horeke Road from Junction with Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway to Hokianga County boundary; Okaihau-Kerikeri Road from junction with Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway to Kerikeri; Okaihau-Horeke Road to Hokianga County boundary; Waihou-Puketi Road; Te Ahuahu-Waimate Road; Waimate-Falls Road from Waimate-Kaeo Junction to Ohaeawai-Waitangi Road Junction; Waimate-Pakaraka from Waimate-Falls Road Junction to junction with the Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway; Waimate-Kaeo Road from the junction with Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway at Phillips' Corner to the Whangaroa County boundary; Waipapa-Kerikeri Road.

BRUCE COUNTY (P.W. 62/26/67).

Roads classified in the Second Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 8 tons:—

The Dunedin-Invercargill, Clarksville-Springvale, and Balclutha-Tuapeka Mouth Main Highways.

BULLER COUNTY (P.W. 62/26/66).

Roads classified in the Third Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 6 tons:—

The Main Road from Westport to Mokinihui Bridge and from Karamea Bridge to Karamea Post-office; Market Cross - Umere, from Market Cross to Harris's sawmill; Market Cross, Oparara, from Market Cross to Oparara River, and thence round past Oparara School; Signal-station to Karamea Post-office; Karamea Post-office to Wharf; Karamea Ferry to Arapito-Scarlett's Creek Bridge; Te Namu to Simpson's Hotel, Little Wanganui; Mokininui Bridge (at main highway crossing) to Seddon-ville, Coal Creek, and roads in Seddonville Township; Granity to Millerton and Millerton streets; Waimanga-roa-Burnett's Face, and roads in Denniston Township; road from foot of Denniston Hill round past Neighbour's residence to main highway; road from borough boundary to Orowaiti Bridge past hospital; Road from Sergeant's Hill to Lowe's residence and to Mikkelson's gate; road from borough boundary to abattoirs; road from Buller Bridge to Tauranga Bay; road from Buller Bridge to Charleston (Brown's Terrace and Beach Road); Halfway House to Te Kuha Ferry (Loop-line).

Roads classified in the Fourth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 4 tons:—

Road from overflow bridge round past Giben's residence, and thence back to main highway; Utopia Road, from junction with main highway to Hateley's Farm; McKenna's Road; railway-crossing to Orowaiti River; road from McArthur's store to Ngakawau Railway-station; road from Ngakawau Bridge to Stockton bins; Bradshaw's Road; Charleston - St. Kilda.

Roads classified in the Fifth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than $2\frac{1}{2}$ tons:—

Gillbank's Road, from Karamea Arapi to main road to Gillbank's; Tanner's Road; Berry's corner to Waimarie, and streets in Hector Township; road from Waimangaroa Railway-station to beach; road from junction Waimangaroa – Burnett's Face Road to Neighbour's Brickkiln; road from abattoirs to Sergeant's Hill; road from soapworks to Palmer's; Organ's Road; Harney's Road; Victoria Road; Rae's Road; Seaton's Road; Darkie's Terrace Road as far as the sandhills; McPadden's Hill to Wood's Farm; New Creek Road from Iron Bridge to New Creek Bridge.

CLIFTON COUNTY (P.W. 62/26/16).

Roads classified in the Third Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 6 tons:—

The Main North Road from the Pukearuhe Junction to the Waitara Borough boundary.

Roads classified in the Fourth Class: Available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which with the load it is carrying weighs not more than 4 tons:—

The Ngatimaru, Inland North, Otaraoa, Tikorangi, Nikorima, Turangi, Ohanga, Mataro, Kaipikari, Okoke, Piko, Pukearuhe, and Uruti Roads.