combined district as the date on which shall be held the next general election of the Akaroa County Council, and doth hereby further declare that the representative of the combined dis-trict of Akaroa Borough, Akaroa County, Mount Herbert County, and Wairewa County, the constitution of which is hereby revoked, shall continue to hold office until the date aforesaid and shall then retire from office and that if such representative vacates his office before the date aforesaid the appointment to be made pursuant to section 25 of the last mentioned Act shall be made by the several contributory local authorities of the combined district hereby constituted.

> F. D. THOMSON, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Vesting the Control of Scenic and Historic Reserves in the New Plymouth Scenic Reserves Board, under the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908.

CHARLES FERGUSSON, Governor-General.

N pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities Conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of the reserves described in the Schedule below (being land reserved under the said Act), for the period of five years from the date hereof (unless previously altered or revoked under the said Act), in the undermentioned persons, namely—

Victor Caddy Davies William Walter Smith, F.L.S., William Henry Skinner, Follett Carrington,

The Commissioner of Crown Lands for the Taranaki Land District (ex officio),

who are hereby constituted for that purpose a special Board by the name of the New Plymouth Scenic Reserves Board (herein referred to as "the Board"), in trust, for the preservation of scenery, and with the powers and subject to the conditions hereinafter contained, that is to say,—

1. The Board shall meet for the transaction of business on

the fourth Tuesday in the months of January, April, July, and October in each year, at four o'clock p.m., at the District Lands and Survey Office, New Plymouth, or at such other The first meeting shall be held on Tuesday, the twenty-fourth day of April, one thousand nine hundred and twenty-eight.

2. The Commissioner of Crown Lands shall be the Chairman

of the Board. He may join the discussion, and shall have

an original as well as a casting vote.

3. Special meetings may be convened by the Chairman, provided that two days' notice of such meeting be given to each member, specifying the business to be transacted at such special meeting; and no other business than that so specified shall be transacted at such meeting.

4. Any three members of the Board shall form a quorum.

Any meeting may be adjourned from time to time.

5. All questions shall be determined by the majority of

votes of the members of the Board present at a meeting.
6. If at any meeting the Chairman is not present at the time appointed for holding the same, the members present shall choose one of their number to be chairman of such

7. If by resignation, death, incapacity, or otherwise the seat of any member shall be or become vacant, or if any member absents himself, without reasonable cause, from three consecutive meetings of the Board, the Governor-General shall have power to appoint any other person to be a member of the Board in his stead.

8. The Board shall prepare and submit at an annual meet-

ing to be held in the month of April in each year a report of the proceedings of the Board for the previous year ending on the thirty-first day of March, together with a statement of the receipts and expenditure of the Board for such year. copy of every such report and statement, certified by the Chairman to be correct, shall be sent to the Minister charged with the administration of the said Act as soon as possible

after each annual meeting.

9. The Board shall control the said reserves in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the regulations

made thereunder.

SCHEDULE.

TARANAKI LAND DISTRICT.

Pukemiro Scenic Reserve.

PART Section 7, Block III, Waitara Survey District: Area, 7 acres 2 roods 18 perches. As the same is more particularly described in a Proclamation published in the Gazette No. 23, of 25th March, 1909, page 832. Onairo River Scenic Reserve.

Part Section 102, Block VII, Waitara Survey District: Area, 10 acres 0 roods 30 perches.
Also part Section 101, Block VII, Waitara Survey District:
Area, 3 acres 0 roods 26 perches.

As the same are more particularly described in a Proclamation published in the Gazeite No. 75, of the 30th August, 1906, page 2288.

Ratapihipihi Scenic Reserve.

Subdivision 1 of part of Native Reserve 5, Omata District (Ratapihipihi), Block VIII, Paritutu Survey District : Area, 50 acres. As the same is more particularly described in a Warrant published in the Gazette No. 73, of the 26th April, 1917, page 1407.

Puketi Pa Scenic Reserve.

Reserve Y, New Plymouth Town Belt: Area, 9 acres 3 roods 20 perches. As the same is more particularly described in a Warrant published in the Gazette No. 73, of the 26th April, 1917, page 1407.

Pukerangiora Pa.

Part Section 179, Huirangi District, Block IX, Waitara Survey District: Area, 36 acres. As the same is more particularly described in a Proclamation published in the Gazette No. 77, of the 28th September, 1911, page 2907.

Meeting-of-the-Waters Scenic Reserve.

Portion of Native Reserve J, portion of Section 158, and portion of the Waiwakaiho River-bed, all situated in the Hua and Waiwakaiho Registration District, Block X, Paritutu Survey District: Area, 39 acres 0 roods 20 perches.

Also portion of Section 158, Hua and Waiwakaiho Regis-

tration District, Block X, Paritutu Survey District: Area,

Also portion of Section 158, Hua and Waiwakaiho Registration District, Block X, Paritutu Survey District: Area, 4 acres 2 roods 20 perches.

Also portion of Native Reserve L, Hua and Waiwakaiho

Registration District, Block X, Paritutu Survey District: Area, 13 acres 3 roods.

Also portion of Native Reserve L, Hua and Waiwakaiho Registration District, Block X, Paritutu Survey District: Area, 3 acres 0 roods 30 perches.

As the same are more particularly described in a Warrant published in the *Gazette* No. 81, of the 10th May, 1917, page

Okoki Pa Scenic Reserve.

Part Section 24, Block IV, Waitara Survey District: Area, 42 acres 2 roods.

Awa-te-take Pa Scenic Reserve.

Part Section 77, Tikorangi District, Block 1X, Waitara

Survey District: Area, 9 acres 1 rood.

Also Section 2, Block IX, Waitara Survey District, and part Section 44, Tikorangi District, Block IX, Waitara Survey District: Area, 3 roods 29 perches.

Te Koru Pa Reserve.

Section 167, Oakura District, Block II, Wairau Survey District: Area, 3 acres 1 rood.

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 28th day of January, 1928.

> A. D. McLEOD, Minister in Charge of Scenery Preservation.

Vesting the Control of Scenic Reserves in the Tuatapere Scenic Board.

CHARLES FERGUSSON, Governor-General.

N pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon him by section thirteen of the Scenery Preservation Act, 1908, His Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand doth hereby vest the control of the reserves described in the Schedule hereto (being land reserved under the said Act), for the period of five years from the date hereof (unless previously altered or revoked under the said Act), in the undermentioned persons, namely,—

Frederick Curow, Thomas John Henderson, Charles Raymond Mazengarb, George McLeod, Robert Scott, Stacey Alexander Walker, and Thomas Ward,

who are hereby constituted for that purpose a special Board by the name of the Tuatapere Scenic Board (herein referred