Town District, on the south-west by New Lynn Town District and Section 196, Parish of Waikomiti, and on the north-west by Sections 198, 199, 200, 201, 202, 203, 204, 205, 206, 207, and 208, Parish of Waikomiti, to Whau Creek, the place of commencement.

M. POMARE. Acting Minister of Internal Affairs.

(I.A. 19/111/16.)

Dismissal from the Forces.

Department of Defence, Wellington, 20th March, 1928. IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the dismissal of the undermentioned soldier of the Territorial Force from the New Zealand Defence Forces, under section 6 (b), Defence Act, 1909, he having been convicted by the Girif Dorrent the Civil Power :

Private A. R. M. Dye, 1st Battalion, the Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own). Dated 6th March, 1928. F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

Applying the Provisions of Section 119 of the Public Works Act, 1908, to the Ruamahunga River Bridge at Kokotau on the Carterton-Longbush Main Highway.

WHEREAS it is provided by section 7 of the Main Highways Amendment Act, 1925, that the Minister of Public Works may, on the recommendation of the Main Highways Board (hereinafter referred to as "the Board"), by notice in the *Gazette* declare that the provisions of section 119 of the Public Works Act, 1908, in so far as it provides for the apportionment of the cost of construction of any bridge forming part of a main highway shall apply with respect to the apportionment of the cost of construction of any bridge forming part of a main highway in so far as such

respect to the apportionment of the cost of construction of any bridge forming part of a main highway in so far as such cost is not provided for out of the Main Highways Account : And whereas on the 8th December, 1927, the Board resolved as follows : "That in accordance with the Main Highways Amendment Act, 1925, the Hon. Minister of Public Works be recommended to apply the provisions of section 119 of the Public Works Act to the Ruamahunga River Bridge at Koko-ten, on the Carberton Londwork Men Highway".

tau, on the Carterton-Longbush Main Highway": Now, therefore, I, Robert Alexander Wright, Minister of Education, acting for Kenneth Stuart Williams, Minister of Education, acting for Kenneth Stuart Williams, Minister of Public Works, in pursuance and exercise of the powers con-ferred by the said section 7 and of every other power in any-wise enabling me in this behalf, do hereby declare that the provisions of section 119 of the Public Works Act, 1908, in so far as they provide for the apportionment of the cost of construction shall apply with respect to the apportionment of the cost of construction of the Ruamahunga River Bridge at Kokotau on the Carterton-Longbush Main Highway.

Dated at Wellington, this 15th day of December, 1927.

R. A. WRIGHT, For Minister of Public Works.

Board of Trade (Gas) Regulations, 1924, and Amending Regulations, 1926.

IN exercise of the powers conferred upon me by clause 27 of the Board of Trade (Gas) Regulations, 1924. I, Alex-ander Donald McLeod, Minister of Industries and Commerce, do hereby make additions to the Schedule set out in the said regulations by adding thereto the companies whose names are set out in the following Schedule, and do hereby declare that

The Birkenhead and Northcote Gas Company, Limited.

The birkennead and Northcote Gas Company, Limited The Napier Gas Company, Limited. The Timaru Gas, Coal, and Coke Company, Limited. The Ashburton Gas, Coal, and Coke Company, Limited. The City Corporation of Wanganui. The Municipal Corporation of Invercargill. The City Corporation of Nelson.

The Municipal Corporation of Hamilton.

The Municipal Corporation of Palmerston North. The Municipal Corporation of Dannevirke. The Municipal Corporation of Masterton. The Municipal Corporation of Lyttelton. The Municipal Corporation of Oamaru.

A. D. McLEOD,

Minister of Industries and Commerce.

Te Makarini Scholarships tenable at Te Aute College, Hawke's Bay.

Education Department,

Wellington, 23rd March, 1928.

Wellington, 23rd March, 1928. Wellington, 23rd March, 1928. THREE scholarships of the yearly value of £35, tenable for two years, are offered for competition in the year 1928. One of these scholarships, to be called the Senior Makarini Scholarship, is open to all Maori boys under sixteen years of age at the end of the month next preceding the month of the examination. The other two scholarships, to be called the Junior Makarini Scholarships, are open to Maori boys under fourteen years of age at the end of the month next preceding the month of the examination. One of the junior scholarships is reserved for competition amongst candi-dates from Native village schools only, the other is open to Maori boys attending any school in the Dominion. The scholarships are open to Maori boys on the conditions set forth in the regulations of the Trustces of the Te Makarini Scholarships Fund, as printed in the appendix to the Regu-Scholarships Fund, as printed in the appendix to the Regu-lations relating to Native Schools, except that for the Junior Scholarship the age-limit is now fourteen years, and that for the senior examination the work required is that of Standard VI instead of Standard V. The examination will be held at convenient centres on the 3rd and 4th of December, 1928. Conditates much either directly or through their techneral

convenient centres on the 3rd and 4th of December, 1928. Candidates must, either directly or through their teachers, send notice to the Inspector of Native Schools, Education Department, Wellington, of their intention to present them-selves for examination. Such notice must be posted so as to reach the Department not later than the 30th September, 1928. Copies of the regulations and forms of notice may be obtained from teachers of Native schools and boarding institutions, the Secretaries to Education Boards, or the Director of Education, Wellington.

JOHN PORTEOUS, Senior Inspector of Native Schools.

Officiating Ministers for 1928.-Notice No. 11.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 27th March, 1928. T is hereby notified that the names of the following Officiating Ministers have been removed from the list of Officiating Ministers under the Marriage Act, 1908, by request :-

The Methodist Church of New Zealand.

The Reverend Edward Hugh Brooker.

- Mr. Thomas Henry Carr. The Reverend William Lea.
- Mr. William Edward Moore. Mr. Herbert William Payne. Mr. Joseph Forrest Tulloch.

Mr. Reginald T. H. Wearne.

W. W. COOK, Registrar-General.

Officiating Ministers for 1928.-Notice No. 12.

Registrar-General's Office.

PURSUANT to the provisions of the Marriage Act, 1908, the following names of Officiation Minister and Marriage Act, 1908, \mathbf{L} the following names of Officiating Ministers within the meaning of the said Act are published for general information :-

> The Methodist Church of New Zealand. Mr. Eric Stewart Bennett. Mr. Roy Coombridge. Mr. John Ainsley Daglish. Mr. Ernest Clyde Grey. The Reverend John D. Grocott. The Reverend Charlie O. Hailwood. The Reverend Francis J. Handy. Mr. Hauotu Hapimana The Reverend Howard H. Jeffreys. Mr. Te Rira Kawiti. The Reverend George I. Laurenson. Mr. Oliver Porte Liddell. Mr. Kenneth Arnold Robinson. Mr. George Richard Rotheram. Mr. Hone Tamati. Mr. Nicholas Whitfield. Mr. James Leslie Woodhouse.

ERRATUM.—In Notice No. 1, published in New Zealand Gazette on the 26th January, 1928, page 215, under "The Methodist Church of New Zealand," for "Mr. Matene Keepa" (as returned), read "The Reverend Matene Keepa"; and for "Mr. McDavis Wharehuia" (as returned), read "The Re-verend M. R. Wharehuia Rangiheuea."

W. W. COOK, Registrar-General.