IST N.Z. MOUNTED RIFLES (CANTERBURY YEOMANBY CAVALRY).

Lieutenant K. H. English is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 10. Dated 15th September,

2nd Lieutenant P. G. Forde is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 10. Dated 15th September, 1927.

5TH N.Z. MOUNTED RIFLES (OTAGO HUSSARS).

2nd Lieutenant H. S. Jones to be Lieutenant. Dated 9th April, 1927. 2nd Lieutenant S. T. Evans resigns his commission. Dated

15th September, 1927.

7TH N.Z. MOUNTED RIFLES (WELLINGTON EAST COAST).

Captain N. G. Grant is posted to the Retired List, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 10th September, 1927.

THE REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Bandmaster and Honorary Lieutenant G. F. Cater is trans-ferred to the Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own). Dated 14th September, 1927.

THE AUGKLAND REGIMENT (COUNTESS OF RANFURLY'S OWN).

Bandmaster and Honorary Lieutenant G. F. Cater, from the Regiment of N.Z. Artillery, to be Bandmaster and Honorary Lieutenant, 1st Battalion, with seniority as from the 9th April, 1914. Dated 14th September, 1927.

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) W. Caradus, 3rd C Battalion, lapses. Dated 10th September, 1927.

THE HAURAKI REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant E. M. Grace, from the Waikato Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant, with seniority as from the 28th June, 1926, and is seconded for duty with the 1st C Battalion. Dated 6th September, 1927.

THE WAIKATO REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant E. M. Grace, 1st C Battalion, is transferred to the Hauraki Regiment. Dated 6th September, 1927. Bandmaster and Honorary Lieutenant H. Gladstone-Hill, 1st Battalion, resigns his commission. Dated 12th September, 1927.

THE WELLINGTON REGIMENT.

Lieutenant P. de la M. Barcham, 4th C Battalion, to be Captain. Dated 15th September, 1927.

THE WELLINGTON WEST COAST REGIMENT.

Major P. H. Colley, 1st C Battalion, resigns his commission. Dated 9th September, 1927.

THE CANTERBURY REGIMENT.

Lieutenant J. M. King, ceases to be seconded to the 2nd C Battalion, and is posted to the 1st Battalion with his original seniority. Dated 15th September, 1927. 2nd Lieutenant L. R. Stringer, 1st Battalion, resigns his

commission. Dated 15th September, 1927.

THE SOUTHLAND REGIMENT.

Henry Drees to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation), and is seconded for duty with the 1st C Battalion. Dated 15th September, 1927.

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Lieutenant K. Crow, M.B., ceases to be attached to the 9th N.Z. Mounted Rifles (North Auckland), and is posted for duty with the Northern Depot, N.Z.M.C. Dated 15th September, 1927.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend E. J. Orange, Chaplain 4th Class, is transferred from R.D. 8 to R.D. 5. Dated 10th September, 1927.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

6th N.Z. Mounted Rifles (Manawatu).

Major R. M. Gairdner is posted to the Retired List, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 10th September, 1927.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

Award of Colonial Auxiliary Forces Long-service Medal.

Department of Defence,

Wellington, 21st September, 1927. Wellington, 21st September, 1927. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the award of the Colonial Auxiliary Forces Long-service Medal to Lieutenant-Colonel H. C. Hemphill, 9th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (North Auckland).

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

Dismissals from the Forces.

Department of Defence. Wellington, 22nd September, 1927.

HIS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the dismissal of the undermentioned soldiers of the Territorial Force from the New Zealand Defence Forces, under section 6 (b), Defence Act, 1909, they having been convicted by the Civil power :--

1st Battalion, Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own).

Private C. O. Vincent. Private F. L. Crawford.

Dated 15th September, 1927.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

New Zealand Mounted Rifles Regiments redesignated.

Department of Defence,

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to abolish under section $\beta_{1}(x)$. Wellington, 23rd September, 1927. A abolish under section 6 (a), Defence Act, 1909, the existing designations of the New Zealand Mounted Rifles Regiments, and to approve of their redesignation as under :---

- The Canterbury Yeomanry Cavalry, with headquarters at Christchurch. (Late 1st New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Canterbury Yeomanry Cavalry).) Queen Alexandra's Wellington West Coast Mounted Rifles, with
- headquarters at Hawera. (Late 2nd New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Queen Alexandra's Wellington West Coast).)
- The Auckland Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at Pukekohe.
- (Late 3rd New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Auckland).) The Waikato Mounted Rifles with headquarters at Hamilton. (Late 4th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Waikato).)
- (Late 5th New Zealand Mounted Fines (Walkard), The Otago Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at Dunedin. (Late 5th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Otago Hussars).) The Manawatu Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at Palmers-ton North. (Late 6th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Manawatu).
- Watu).) The Wellington East Coast Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at Masterton. (Late 7th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Wellington East Coast).) The Nelson-Marlborough Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at Blenheim. (Late 8th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (Nulscap))
- (Nelson).)
- Auckland Mounted Rifles, with headquarters at rei. (Late 9th New Zealand Mounted Rifles (North North TWhangarei. Auckland).)

Dated 16th September, 1927.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

Defence Rifle Clubs disbanded.

Department of Defence, Wellington, 26th September, 1927.

weington, 26th September, 1927. IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the dishandment of the sector o the disbandment of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Clubs under section 43, Defence Act, 1909 :--

Sandon Block Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Waipuru.

Whareroa Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Paraparaumu.

Dated 9th September, 1927.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Defence.

Additional By-laws made by the Arawa District Trust Board for the Te Arawa Maori Council District in pursuance of Section 16 of the Maori Councils Act, 1900.

Native Department,

Wellington, 22nd September, 1927. T is hereby notified that His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the following additional by-laws made by the Arawa District Trust Board