Justices of the Peace resigned.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 31st May, 1927. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation by

Charles Watchorn, Esquire.

of Puniwhakau, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand,

Edward Reuben Benjamin Holben, Esquire,

of Palmerston North, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand, and

Thomas Montgomery Webb, Esquire,

of Dannevirke, of his appointment as a Justice of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Justice.

Chairman of Licensing Committee appointed.

Department of Justice,

Wellington, 1st June, 1927.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint appoint

John George Lewis Hewitt, Esquire, S.M.,

to be Chairman of the Licensing Committee for the Districts of Westland and Buller, vice W. Meldrum, Esquire, S.M., on leave.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Justice.

Authorizing Stipendiary Magistrate to exercise Jurisdiction in Children's Courts.

Department of Justice,
Wellington, 1st June, 1927.

H IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to
appoint

Arthur Manwell Mowlem, Esquire, S.M.,

to exercise jurisdiction in the Children's Courts established at Hastings, Napier, Ormondville, Waipawa, and Waipukurau.

F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Justice.

Justices of the Peace appointed.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 6th June, 1927. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint the undermentioned persons to be Justices of the Peace for the Dominion of New Zealand and its

Frederick Harold Andrews, Esq., of Blenheim. Alfred Edward Ansell, Esq., of North-east Valley, Dun-

James Ashton, Esq., of Hanmer Springs, Co. Amuri. George Asquith, Esq., of Chatto Creek, Co. Vincent. Moses Bairstow, Esq., of Mokauiti, Co. Waitomo.

Thomas Eustace Baigent, Esq., of East Takaka, Co. Waimea

John Septimus Barnett, Esq., of Spreydon, Christchurch

Edward Howard Barton, Esq., of Tetley Brook, Seddon, Co. Marlborough.

Wilfred Tone Barton, Esq., Trentham, Co. Hutt. Walter Charles Battson, Esq., of Methven, Co. Ashburton

Cecil John Best, Esq., of Pokororo, Co. Waimea. Charles Thomas Borrell, Esq., of Pleasant Point, Co.

Moritz Bowron, Esq., of Omahu, Co. Thames.

Thomas Bragg, Esq., of Half-moon Bay, Stewart Island.
William Bayley Bray, Esq., of Barry's Bay, Co. Akaroa.
Norman Richard Brown, Esq., of Wellington.
James Charles Staunton-Vere Burberry, Esq., of Hataitai,
Wellington.

David James Calder, Esq., of Dunedin.
George Herbert Chapman, Esq., of Ross.
John Stewart Chapman, Esq., of Southbridge, Co.

James Clouston, Esq., of Becks, Co. Maniototo. Agnes Eliza Colthart, Miss, of Riversleigh, Darfield, Co.

Margaret Catherine Cook, Mrs., of Mount Eden, Auck-

James Edward Cowell, Esq., of Onehunga.

Robert Gardner Dalziell, Esq., of Hunterville, Co. Rangitikei.

Robert Douglass, Esq., of Otago Heads, Dunedin. Edwin Edwards, Esq., of Paeroa. William Robert John Franklin, Esq., of Newstead, Co. Waikato

Waikato.
Norman Edmund Friend, Esq., of Okarito, Co. Westland.
Roy Patterson Furness, Esq., of Blenheim.
John Galt, Esq., of Hokonui, Co. Southland.
Walter John Gardner, Esq., of Wanganui.
Charles Lewis Hearne Gunn, Esq., of Waimate.
Margaret Harding, Mrs., of Mangawhare, Co. Hobson.
Thomas Hinton, Esq., of Eureka, Co. Waikato.
Annie Ellen Hobson, Mrs., of Levin.
Colin Cameron Holmes, Esq., of Manakau, Co. Horowhenua.

whenua. William Edward DeCourcey Hughes, Esq., of Tokarahi,

William Edward DeCourcey Hughes, Esq., of Tokaran, Co. Waitaki.
Tristram William Irwin, Esq., of Ponsonby, Auckland.
Henry William James, Esq., of Waverley, Co. Patea.
Herbert Johnston, Esq., of Karori, Wellington.
John Joiner, Esq., of Enfield, Co. Waitaki.
William Henry Jones, Esq., of Wellington.
Thomas Jowsey, Esq., of Waihi.
Richard William Kirk, Esq., of Takaka, Co. Takaka.
Charles Adolph Kitto, Esq., of Worser Bay, Wellington.
Hugh Linklater, Esq., of Waitaha, Co. Westland.
Esther Georgina Lock, Mrs., of Nelson.

Esther Georgina Lock, Mrs., of Nelson.

Daniel MacKay, Esq., of Thames.

Murdoch Martin, Esq., of Rangiwahia, Co. Kiwitea.

Matthew McCubbin, Esq., of Lauder, Co. Vincent.

James Scott Allison McDougal, Esq., of Bluff.

William McLeod, Esq., of Tapanui.

Cornelius Machin Moss, Esq., of North-east Valley, Dunedin.

Junedin.

Hugh Ann Munro, Esq., of Fairlie, Co. Mackenzie.

John Murdoch, Esq., of Ross.

John Osborne Henry Newberry, Esq., of Redcliffs,

Christchurch.

Christchurch.
Justin McCarthy Power, Esq., of Lower Hutt.
George Thomas Pouds, Esq., of Bombay, Co. Franklin.
Walter John Dakins Pryce, Esq., of Aranga, Co. Hobson.
John Thomas Read, Esq., of Cheviot, Co. Cheviot.
Arthur Ernest Renouf, Esq., of Napier.
Jonathan Rhodes, Esq., of North-east Valley, Dunedin.
Donald James Ross, Esq., of Hillgrove, Co. Waitaki.
John Alexander Russell, Esq., of Redcliffs, Christchurch.
Walter Samuel Sharpe, Esq., of Pokororo, Co. Waimea.
Oswald Dale Slye, Esq., of Ellerslie, Auckland.
Samuel Steele, Esq., of Omokoroa, Co. Tauranga.
William Stevenson, Esq., of Dunedin.
John Fred Stone, Esq., of Methven, Co. Ashburton.
Charles James Strongman, Esq., of Granity, Co. Buller.

John Fred Stone, Esq., of Methven, Co. Ashburton. Charles James Strongman, Esq., of Granity, Co. Buller. Frederick Symes, Esq., of Wanganui. David Taylor, Esq., of Southbridge, Co. Ellesmere. Ernest Harold Taylor, Esq., of Island Bay, Wellington. Frank Wynon Vickerman, Esq., of Kelburn, Wellington. Henry Walden, Esq., of Greytown.

Archibald Robert Wilkie, Esq., of Tutira, Co. Hawke's Bay

Bay. F. J. ROLLESTON, Minister of Justice.

Appointment to Cook Islands Public Service.

Cook Islands Department, Wellington, 1st June, 1927.

Wellington, 1st June, 1927.

IS Excellency the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand has been pleased to make the following appointment to the Cook Islands Public Service under section 13 of the Cook Islands Act, 1915:

Mrs. Mary E. Walker

to be Assistant Teacher, Arorangi School, Rarotonga, Cook Islands, from 1st April, 1927.

M. POMARE Minister for the Cook Islands.

Appointment in the Public Service.

Office of the Public Service Commissioner,

Wellington, 6th June, 1927.

THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointment in the Public Service.

John Kennedy, Esquire,

to be the Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Waipawa, for the purposes of the Legislature Act, 1908, as from the 1st day of June, 1927.

A. C. TURNBULL, Secretary.