

THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 18, 1926.

Districts constituted under the Marriage Act, 1908.

[L.S.] CHARLES FERGUSSON, Governor-General. A PROCLAMATION.

IN pursuance and exercise of the power and authority vested in the Governor-General by the Marriage Act, 1908, I, General Sir Charles Fergusson, Baronet, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby abolish the existing marriage districts known as the Wakatipu, Otau-tau, and Orepuki Districts, and do proclaim and declare that the territory heretofore comprised within the said districts is hereby divided anew into four marriage districts, the names and boundaries whereof shall be as follows :---

TUATAPERE DISTRICT.

ALL that area in the Southland Land District bounded by a line commencing at the confluence of Redcliff Creek and the Waiau River; thence up Redcliff Creek to its source; thence Waiau River; thence up Redcliff Creek to its source; thence along a right line to Corner Peaks; thence to Mount Nichols; thence southerly along the watershed to the Wairaki River; thence down the Wairaki River to its intersection with the northern boundary of Section 65, Block II, Waiau Survey District; thence along a right line to Sharpridge; thence south-easterly along Sharpridge and that line produced to a public road; thence southerly along the road forming the castern boundary of Sections 69 and 68, Block VI, Waiau Survey District, to its intersection with the Clifden-Otautau Road; thence south-easterly along the Clifden-Otautau Road to a point in line with the eastern boundary of Lot 28 on plan 1285 deposited in the office of the District Land Registrar at Invercargill; thence to and along the eastern boundaries of Invercargill; thence to and along the eastern boundaries of Lots 28, 27, and 26, plan 1285 aforesaid, and the eastern boundary of Section 12, Maori Hill Settlement, to the southeastern corner of the last-mentioned settlement; thence south-easterly along the northern boundary of Block XV, Waiau Survey District, to the eastern boundary of the said Waiau Survey District; to the eastern boundary of the said Waiau Survey District; thence southerly along the eastern boundaries of Waiau and Longwood Survey Districts to a point in line with the southern boundary of Block XXII, Longwood Survey District; thence to and along that bound-ary, and the southern boundary of Blocks XVI and XV of the said Longwood Survey District, to the see-coast; thence wetherly not southern and along the south the coart All that area in the Southland Land District bounded by a to Sandhill Point; thence along the summit of the watershed from Sandhill Point to the Hump; thence by lines from peak to peak to the Billow Mountains; thence by the summits of the Billow Mountains and Hunter's Mountains to Cone Peak; thence by a right line to the shore of Lake Manapouri; thence

to the easternmost point of Hope Arm; thence by a right line to the confluence of the Waiau River and Redcliff Creek, the place of commencement.

WARATIPU DISTRICT.

south-easterly generally along the shore of Lake Manapouri

All that area in the Southland Land District bounded by a line commencing at a point due north of Cosmos Peak upon a line drawn from the mouth of the Awarua River to Mount line drawn from the mouth of the Awarua Kiver to Mount Aspiring; thence bounded on the north by the said line to the summit of the Forbes Ranges; thence towards the east by right lines from peak to peak along the summit of the range to Mount Edward; and thence by right lines from peak to peak to Mount Tyndall; thence towards the north by the summit of the range to Fox Peak; thence towards the east by the summit of the watershed to Black Peak, Treble Cone, and Mount Motatum, thence by right lines from neak to and Mount Motatapu; thence by right lines from peak to peak following the watershed of the Shotover and Arrow Rivers to the Kawarau River at its junction with the Shot-Rivers to the Kawarau River at its junction with the Shot-over; thence by the Kawarau River to a point due north of Ben Nevis; and thence by the range to Lorn Peak; thence by a right line to the junction of the Allan Burn with the River Mataura; thence towards the south-west by the River Mataura to Eyre Peak; thence towards the south-east by a right line drawn to a point on the River Oreti due east of Surprise Cove on Lake Manapouri; thence towards the south by another right line to Surprise Cove; thence along the shore of Surprise Cove to the outlet of the Waiau River; thence down the Waiau River to the confluence of the Waiau River and Redcliff Creek; thence north-westerly and southerly along the north-eastern and western boundaries of Tuatapere River and Redchiff Creek; thence north-westerly and southerly along the north-eastern and western boundaries of Tuatapere District (hereinbefore described) to Sandhill Point; thence towards the south and west by the sea to Cloudy Pass in Bligh Sound; thence towards the north by a right line through Cloudy Pass and over the Castle to the summit of the Earl Mountains; thence along the summit to Mount Anau; and thence along the summit of the ranges to the exchange augment of the Arterphed of the Hollyford Birger. eastern summit of the watershed of the Hollyford River; again towards the west by the summit of the said watershed to Cosmos Peak; and thence by a line due north to the point of commencement.

OTAUTAU DISTRICT.

- 6 -

Α

Aumb. 77.

3237