Loan of £8,000.

Pursuant to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, Pursuant to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, and its amendments, I hereby give notice that on the 4th day of August, 1926, a proposal was submitted by the Petone Borough Council to the ratepayers of the Petone Eastern Special-rating Area, as defined by resolution passed by the Petone Borough Council on the 14th day of December, 1914, for raising a special loan of $\pounds 8,000$ for the purpose of dealing with the surface-water drainage from the western Hills, including the culverting of the creeks discharging into the Nelson Street culvert, making of necessary culverts, and deviations, and the culverting of the exposed portions of Moran's Creek. Moran's Creek.

The number of votes recorded respectively for and against the proposal were as follows: For, 405; against, 202; informal votes, 14.

I declare the said proposal to be carried.

Loan of £10,000.

Pursuant to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, Pursuant to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, and its amendments, I hereby give notice that on the 4th day of August, 1926, a proposal was submitted by the Petone Borough Council to the ratepayers of the Petone Eastern Special-rating Area, as defined by a resolution passed by the Petone Borough Council on the 14th day of December, 1914, for raising a special loan of £10,000 to extend that portion of the existing sewage-drainage system south of Jack-son Street to the eastern boundary of the borough, and to provide additional connections to the sewage-drainage system. The number of votes recorded respectively for and accinet

The number of votes recorded respectively for and against the proposal were as follows: For, 458; against, 145; informal votes, 18.

I declare the said proposal to be carried.

Dated at Petone this 7th day of August, 1926.

C. P. BROCKELBANK, Deputy Mayor.

Prohibition of Issue of Money-order and Transmission of Postal Correspondence in New Zealand for the Interstate Bank, 5 Rue Nouvelle, Paris (9e).

THE Postmaster-General of the Dominion of New Zea-land, having reasonable ground for supposing that the institution whose name and address are shown in the Schedule hereunder is engaged in promoting or carrying out a lottery or scheme of chance, it is hereby ordered under section 28 of the Post and Telegraph Act, 1908, that no money-order in favour of the said institution shall be issued, and that no postal packet addressed to the said institution (either by its own or any fictitious or assumed name), or addressed to the address in the Schedule hereunder without a name, shall be either registered or forwarded by the Post Office of New Zealand.

SCHEDULE.

The Interstate Bank, 5 Rue Nouvelle, Paris (9E). Dated this 14th day of August, 1926.

W. NOSWORTHY, Postmaster-General.

Classification of Main Highways by the Main Highways Board.

"N pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on me by the Motor-lorry Regulations, 1925, and the Motor-lorry Regulations Amendment No. 1, I, Kenneth Stuart Williams, Minister of Public Works, do hereby alter the Main Highways under its control, and do hereby approve such altered classification, as set forth in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE.

CLASSIFICATION OF MAIN HIGHWAYS UNDER CONTROL OF THE MAIN HIGHWAYS BOARD.

Highway classified in the First Class (available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry)

- No. 9 District : Auckland-Wellington via Taranaki : south-east corner Section 52, Block V, Belmont Survey District (near Porirua) to Paremata.
- Highways classified in the Second Class (available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which, with the maximum load it is licensed to carry, weighs not more than 8 tons)
 - o. 9 District: Auckland-Wellington via Taranaki— Horokiwi Gorge to Paekakariki; Wellington-Napier via Wairarapa—Akatarawa Junction to Rimutaka Summit. No.

- No. 10 District: Wellington-Napier via Wairarapa-Summit Rimutaka Hill to Abbott's Creek Bridge (Rimutaka No. 4 Bridge).
- No. 12 District : Inangahua Junction Waiho-Junction with Westport-Nelson Highway at Inangahua Junction to Ross
- Highways classified in the Third Class (available for the use load it is licensed to carry, weighs not more than 6 tons)----
 - No. 6 District : Auckland-Wellington, via Taranaki-Awakino-Mokau River. No. 7 District : Auckland-Wellington, via Taranaki-North
 - side of Mokau River to Pukearuhe Junction.
- No. 11 District: Nelson-Westport-Glenhope Railway-station to Eight-mile (boundary of Murchison County). No. 12 District: Westport-Nelson-Boundary of Borough of Westport to north boundary of Buller County; Inangahua Junction-Waiho-Ross to Waiho; and
- Kumara to Arthur's Pass. No. 13 District: Christchurch-Blenheim, via Parnassus, commencing at South Bay, Kaikoura, and terminating at Section 9, Block X, Hawkswood Survey District; length 29 miles.
- Highways classified in the Fourth Class (available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which, with the maximum load it is licensed to carry, weighs not more than 4 tons)----
- No. 3 District : Rotorua-Napier-Waiotapu to Mohaka No. 3 District: Rotorua-Napier—walotapu to Monaka Bridge. Cambridge - Taupo, via Atiamuri — Western boundary of the Taupo County to intersection with the Rotorua-Napier Main Highway at Wairakei.
 No. 6 District: Te Kuiti-Bulls, via Taumarunui—Junction
- No. 6 District: Te Kuiti-Bulls, via Taumarunuu-Junction with Raurimu-Wades Landing Highway to the southern boundary of the Kaitieke County. Auckland-Wellington, via Taranaki-Ototohu Stream Bridge to Awakino.
 No. 7 District: Ohura Highway-Boundary Whanga-momona and Ohura Counties to Tahora Road Junction.
 No. 12 District: Westport-Karamea-Mokihinui River to Karamea Piror
- Karamea River. Dated at Wellington, this 11th day of August, 1926.

K. S. WILLIAMS, Minister of Public Works. (P.W. 62/26/0.)

Classification of Roads in the Bay of Islands County.

N pursuance and exercise of the powers conferred on me L by the Motor-lorry Regulations, 1925, and the Motor-lorry Regulations Amendment No. 1, I, Kenneth Stuart Williams, Minister of Public Works, do hereby approve of the Bay of Islands County Council's proposed classification of roads as set forth in the Schedule hereto.

SCHEDULE.

CLASSIFICATION OF ROADS IN THE BAY OF ISLANDS COUNTY.

- Roads classified in the Fourth Class (available for the use thereon of any motor-lorry which, with the maximum load it is licensed to carry, weighs not more than 4 tons)-
 - The Whangarei-Kawakawa Main Highway from Whanga-rei County Boundary to Kawakawa. The Kawakawa-Mangamuka Main Highway from Kawa-
- kawa to the Hokianga County boundary.
- The Maungatapere-Kaikohe Main Highway from Whangarei County boundary to Kaikohe The Waimamaku-Ohaeawai Main Highway from Hokianga
- County boundary to Ohaeawai. The Akerama-Ruapekapeka Road. The Hukerenui-Tapuhi Road.

- The Towai-Ruapekapeka Road. The Ramarama Valley Road from Maromuku Railway-station to Whangarei County boundary. The Lower Ramarama Road from Maromaku Railway-
- station to Motatau.
- Wyatt's Road.
- The Towai-Paiaka Road. The Motatau No. 2 Block Road from Motatau to Otiria. The Otiria Station Road from Otiria to junction with Main North Road.
- The Kawakawa-Ruapekapeka-Tapuhi Road.
- The Kawakawa-Whangae Road.

- The Kawakawa-Karetu Road. The Turntable-Hupara Road. The Pakaraka-Oramahoe Black Bridge Road.
- The Ohaeawai-Waitangi-Paihia Road. The Kaikohe-Waimatenui Road from Taheke Road Junction to Hobson County boundary. Gammon's Road.