



THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE.

Published by Anthority.

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, JUNE 18, 1925.

Districts constituted under the Marriage Act. 1908.

[L.S.] CHARLES FERGUSSON, Governor-General. A PROCLAMATION.

In pursuance and exercise of the power and authority vested in the Governor-General by the Marriage Act, 1908, I, General Sir Charles Fergusson, Baronet, Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby abolish the existing marriage districts known as the Tirau, Taupo, and Rotorua Districts, and do proclaim and declare that the territory heretofore comprised within the said districts is hereby divided anew into four marriage districts, the names and boundaries whereof shall be as follows:—

PUTARURU DISTRICT.

ALL that area in the Auckland Land District bounded by a line commencing at a point in the middle of the Waikato River opposite the mouth of the Pokaiwhenua Stream, thence by a right line to and up the middle of the Pokaiwhenua Stream to its intersection with the northern boundary of Section 8, Selwyn Settlement, Block V, Patetere North Survey District; thence easterly and north-easterly along the northern and north-western boundaries of Sections 8, 7, 3, and 1, Selwyn Settlement, to the road forming the northern boundary of the said Section 1, Selwyn Settlement; across that road, and easterly along the northern side thereof to its junction with the Oraka Stream; thence south-easterly generally up the middle of the said Oraka Stream to the Auckland-Rotorua Railway; thence easterly generally along that railway to its intersection of a line running from Puwhenua Trig. Station to Uraura Trig. Station; thence south-westerly along that line and its production to the Lichfield-Atiamuri Road; thence by that road to the middle of the Waikato River; thence down the Waikato River to the mouth of the Pokaiwhenua Stream, the point of commencement.

TIRAU DISTRICT.

All that area in the Auckland Land District bounded towards the north-west by the north-western boundary-lines of Waipa and Mangawhara Blocks from the Waikato River to the Mangawhara Stream; thence by the Mangawhara and Mangawhero Rivers to the Waihou River; thence by the Waihou River to the Wairere Stream; thence by that stream to its source, and a right line thence running due east to the Tauranga confiscation-line; thence towards the east generally by the Tauranga confiscation-line to Puwhenua

Trig, Station; thence south-westerly along a right line running between Puwhenua Trig, and Uraura Trig. Station to the Auckland-Rotorua Railway; thence in a generally westerly direction along the northern boundary of the Putaruru Marriage District hereinbefore described to the Waikato River; thence down the middle of the Waikato River to a point in line with the north-western boundary of the Waipa Block; thence by a right line to that boundary, the point of commencement.

ROTORUA DISTRICT.

All that area in the Auckland Land District bounded by a line running due east from the summit of the Otane-Wainuku Trig. Station to the western boundary of the Matata Parish, thence southerly, north-easterly, and south-easterly along the western and southern boundaries of the Matata Parish, and southern boundary of the Rangitaiki Parish to the middle of the Whakatane River; thence up the Whakatane River to a point in line with the production of a line running from Paeroa Trig. Station through Tuwhirau Trig, Station to the Whakatane River; by that line to Paeroa Trig, Station aforesaid; thence by a right line to Uraura Trig. Station; thence by the eastern boundaries of the Putaruru and Tirau Marriage Districts (hereinbefore described) to a point due west of Otane-Wainuku Trig. Station; thence by a right line to Otane-Wainuku Trig. Station, the point of commencement.

TAUPO DISTRICT.

All that area in the Auckland Land District bounded towards the north-west by a right line running from the mouth of the Waihora Stream at Lake Taupo in the direction of Uraura Trig. Station, by that line to its intersection with the Waikato River; thence on the north-west and north generally by the Tirau and Rotorua Registration Districts (hereinbefore described) to the middle of the Whakatane River; thence up the middle of that river to its confluence with the Ruatahuna Stream; thence by that stream to its source; thence by a right line to the source of the Huiarua Stream; thence by that lake to Block XXV, Waiau Survey District; thence by Blocks XXV and V, Waiau Survey District, and Block VIII, Mangahopai Survey District, to the Waiau River; thence by that river to the Mangahopai Stream; thence by that stream, Te Putere B Block, and Rotokarangu Block to the Te Hoe River; thence by that river to the 39th parallel of south latitude; thence towards the south by the said 39th parallel to the Taharua River; thence towards the south-