2nd Lieutenant L. L. Robertson, M.M. (1st Battalion), is transferred to the Auckland Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own). Dated 23rd April, 1925.

The Canterbury Regiment.

Captain A. K. Anderson (3rd C. Battalion) is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b) R.D. 10. Dated 16th April, 1925.

The Southland Regiment.

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 27 of 30th April, 1925, relating to 2nd Lieutenant (on probation)

- J. T. Erridge is cancelled, and the following substituted :--The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) J. T. Erridge (2nd C. Battalion) lapses. Dated 30th
 - March, 1925. N.Z. AIR FORCE.

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (on probation) William Collard Grant Mackie. Dated 25th March, 1925. George Cyril Vincent Buckley. Dated 26th March, 1925. Arthur Vans Gladstone. Dated 15th April, 1925.

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Henry Goulding Rice, M.R.C.S.Eng., L.R.C.P.Lond., to be Captain, and is attached for duty to the 1st Battalion, the Hauraki Regiment. Dated 2nd March, 1925. Licutenant W. B. Reekie to be Captain. Dated 17th April,

1925

Major R. C. Begg, M.B., M.R.C.S.Eng., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 20th April, 1925.

Captain A. C. Thomson, M.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 10th April, 1925.
Captain R. W. Edgar, M.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 16th April, 1925.

N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend G. T. Brown, Chaplain 4th Class, to be Chaplain 3rd Class. Dated 9th April, 1925. The Reverend F. H. Radford, Chaplain 4th Class, is transferred to the Reserve List, Class II, R.D. 5. Dated 9th April, 1925.

R. HEATON RHODES, Minister of Defence

Result of Poll for Proposed Loan.

Wellington, 1st May, 1925. THE following notice, received from the Chairman of the Council of the County of Waipawa, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913.

F. H. D. BELL, for Minister of Finance.

WAIPAWA COUNTY COUNCIL.

PURSUANT to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, PURSUANT to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, I hereby give notice that at a poll of ratepayers of the County of Waipawa taken on the 5th day of February, 1925, on the proposal of the Waipawa County Council to borrow the sum of £45,000 for the purpose of providing the Council's con-tribution under the Main Highways Act for the construction or reconstruction of the main highways in the County of Waipawa, to provide the necessary machinery for same, and to provide funds to erect certain new bridges and culverts The number of votes recorded for the proposal was 370;

the number of votes recorded against the proposal was 123; informal, 1.

I therefore declare the proposal was carried. Dated this 11th February, 1925.

A. M. COOK, Chairman.

Result of Poll for Proposed Loan.

Wellington, 1st May, 1925.

THE following notice, received from the Chairman of the Council of the County of Pohangina, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913.

F. H. D. BELL, for Minister of Finance.

POHANGINA COUNTY COUNCIL.

Notice of Result of Poll on Proposal to raise a Loan.

PURSUANT to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, I hereby give notice that a poll of the Local Booles Loans Act, 1913, I hereby give notice that a poll of the ratepayers of the Manga-pikopiko Riding was taken on the 13th day of February, 1925, on the proposal of the Pohangina County Council to borrow the sum of £350 for the purpose of rebuilding in concrete bridges in the Mangapikopiko Riding.

The number of votes recorded for the proposal was 19; the number of votes recorded against the proposal was 5. I therefore declare that the poll was carried. Dated this 16th day of February, 1925.

H. W. SMART, Chairman.

Empire Day to be observed as a Holiday on King's Birthday.

Department of Internal Affairs,

Wellington, 1st May, 1925. Weinington, 1st May, 1925. MPIRE DAY will be celebrated on Wednesday the 3rd June, 1925, in conjunction with the anniversary of the birthday of His Majesty the King, and that day will be observed as a public holiday in the Government offices throughout the Dominion.

RICHD. F. BOLLARD, Minister of Internal Affairs.

First Meeting of the recently constituted Otaki Fire Board.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 5th May, 1925. I N accordance with the provisions of section 36, subsec-tion (6), of the Fire Brigades Act, 1908, it is hereby notified that the first meeting of the Otaki Fire Board will be held at the Borough Council Chambers, Otaki, at 2 p.m. on Monday, 18th May, 1925.

RICHD. F. BOLLARD. Minister of Internal Affairs.

Members of Otaki Fire Board.

Wellington, 30th April, 1925.

THE undermentioned persons have been appointed or elected to be members of the Otaki Fire Board constituted under the Fire Brigades Act, 1908 :-

Appointed by the Governor-General-James Poole Brandon.

Elected by the Fire Insurance Companies

Frederick G. Cray. Vernon Irving.

Edward C. Rowe.

Elected by the Otaki Borough Council-Harold Taylor.

Ernest Irvine.

William Bassett.

RICHD. F. BOLLARD, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Election of Members of Fire Boards by Insurance Companies.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 2nd May, 1925. PURSUANT to the Fire Brigades Act, 1908, and the rules made thereunder, it is hereby notified that an election by the insurance companies carrying on business in New Zealand of three members of the undermentioned Fire Boards will be held on Monday, the 18th May, 1925, in the manner prescribed by the said Act and rules :-

Auckland Fire Board. Balclutha Fire Board. Christchurch Fire Board. Dannevirke Fire Board. Dargaville Fire Board. Dunedin Fire Board. Eltham Fire Board. Feilding Fire Board. Foxton Fire Board. Gisborne Fire Board. Greymouth Fire Board. Hamilton Fire Board. Hastings Fire Board. Hawera Fire Board. Hokitika Fire Board. Invercargill Fire Board. Kaiapoi Fire Board. Kaitangata Fire Board. Lawrence Fire Board. Levin Fire Board.

Masterton Fire Board. Milton Fire Board. Napier Fire Board. New Plymouth Fire Board. Oamaru Fire Board. Ohakune Fire Board. Otaki Fire Board. Palmerston North Fire Board. Petone Fire Board. Port Chalmers Fire Board. Rotorua Fire Board. Taumarunui Fire Board. Tauranga Fire Board. Te Aroha Fire Board. Timaru Fire Board. Waihi Fire Board. Waitara Fire Board. Wanganui Fire Board. Westport Fire Board. Whangarei Fire Board.

RICHD. F. BOLLARD, Minister of Internal Affairs,

1368