- "Minister" means the Minister of Telegraphs for the time being:
 "Operator" means any person to whom an amateur operator's certificate is issued in pursuance of the Amateur Radio Regulations, 1925:
- "Public correspondence" means any radio communication transmitted by or intended for a Government station or any licensed radio station other than one licensed in pursuance of these regulations or the Amateur Radio Regulations, 1925:

"Radio communication" means and includes any articulation, communication, message, music, or signal propagated by means

of radio telegraphy: "Radio-dealer" means any person who sells, offers for sale, or has in his possession for sale, in the way of business, any plant, machinery, instruments, material, or other apparatus designed and intended for use in connection with radio-telegraphy:

"Radio Inspector" means such officer or officers of the Post and Telegraph Department as shall from time to time be appointed

to act in that capacity:
"Radio station" means any station at which radio communications are transmitted or received by means of radio-telegraphy:

"Radio Telegraph Convention, 1912," means the Convention signed at London on the 5th day of July, 1912, and the Service Regulations made therein; and includes any modification of the Convention or regulations made from time to time: "Radio-telegraphy" means every system of electrical communica-

tion utilizing radio frequencies, with or without the use of conductors to connect the signalling-points, and includes therein all systems of radio-telephony:

"Relaying" means the retransmission by a broadcasting station of radio communications that have been received by means of radio-telegraphy:

"Secretary" means the Secretary of the Post and Telegraph Department:

"Ship station" means a licensed radio station established on board a ship that is not permanently moored.

2. Radio Districts and Radio Inspectors.

- 3. (1.) For the purposes of these regulations New Zealand shall be divided into four (4) radio districts, which shall be identical with the telegraph and telephone districts superintended by District Telegraph Engineers. These radio districts shall be classified as follows:—
 - 1.) Auckland.

(3.) Canterbury.

(2.) Wellington.

(4.) Otago.

Chatham Islands shall be included in the Wellington Radio District, and Stewart Island shall be included in the Otago Radio District.

(2.) District Radio Inspectors of the above-mentioned radio districts shall be respectively the District Telegraph Engineers, Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, Dunedin.

4. Any of the powers or authorities given to the Minister by these regulations may be delegated by him to such officer or officers of the Post and Telegraph Department as he thinks fit.

5. A Radio Inspector may exercise any of the powers conferred by these regulations on a District Radio Inspector; and a Deputy Radio Inspector or an Assistant Radio Inspector may exercise such of the powers of a District Radio Inspector as that officer may, with the general approval of the Minister, delegate to him.

3. Licenses issued prior to gazetting of these Regulations.

6. Licenses to erect and operate broadcasting stations, issued in pursuance of the Radio-telegraph Regulations for Amateur, Experimental, and Broadcasting Stations which were published in the New Zealand Gazette on the 18th January, 1923, shall expire on the 31st March, 1925, and shall not be renewed.

4. Control.

7. The Minister shall decide whether the requirements of these regulations have been complied with; and may, from time to time, cause inquiry to be made into any matter connected therewith, or arising thereunder, in such manner as he thinks fit, and his decision shall be final, and the broadcasting licensee and radio dealers shall comply strictly with such decision.