MAR. 6.

2720A, deposited in the office of the District Land Registrar A Auckland, and distant 2700 links from the Thames-Paeroa Road; thence a distance of 700 links along the said southern boundary in an easterly direction; thence by a right line to the north-eastern corner of Aorangi B Block, Block XIII aforesaid; thence by the eastern boundary of the said Aorangi B Block, to the boundary of the Borough of Paeroa at the point of commencement.

RICHD. F. BOLLARD, Minister of Internal Affairs.

Notice as to an Area in Auckland Land District declared to be a Fire District.

State Forest Service,

State Forest Service, Wellington, 7th February, 1924. DURSUANT to section 27 of the Forests Act; 1921-22, I do hereby notify that, on the recommendations of the Director of Forestry and the Land Board of the district, the area described in the Schedule hereto is hereby declared by moth the schedule hereto is hereby declared by me to be a fire district; and I do further specify the period from the 16th day of October in any year to the 15th day of April in the following year (inclusive), as the period during which it shall not be lawful for any person within the said district, save pursuant to the written permit of a forest officer, to set on fire, or cause to be set on fire, any timber (whether standing or not), or any undergrowth, or any debris from forest operations or land clearing operations, or any grass or other specially inflammable material, without taking such precautions as may be prescribed by a forest officer.

SCHEDULE.

AUCKLAND LAND DISTRICT .--- TE KAUWHATA FOREST FIRE DISTRICT.

DISTRICT. ALL that area situate in Waikato County bounded on the west by Allotment 234, Parish of Whangamarino; on the north by a public road; on the north-east by the south-western boundary of Allotment 396 of the said parish; thence by a public road to the western boundary of Allotment 323; of the said parish; on the east by the said Allotment 323; and on the south by Lake Waikare to point of commencement. As the same is delineated on plan No. 25/1, deposited in the Head Office, State Forest Service, Wellington, and thereon bordered red. R. HEATON BHODES

R. HEATON RHODES.

Commissioner of State Forests.

Trustees of Peria Rabbit District elected.-Notice No. Ag. 2358.

Department of Agriculture,

Wellington, 28th February, 1924. NOTICE has been received, under the hand of the Returning Officer of the Peria Rabbit District, con-stituted under Part III of the Rabbit Nuisance Act, 1908, that

> William Blennerhassett, Charles Guy Payze, Samuel Joseph Robinson, Harry Rollett, and Albert James Sheat

have been duly elected trustees of the said district.

W. NOSWORTHY, Minister of Agriculture.

Special Order mule by Tahunanui Town Board declaring Plants to be Noxious Weeds.—Notice No. Ag. 2354.

Department of Agriculture,

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 18th February, 1924. THE following special order made by the Tahunanui Town Board is published in accordance with section 2 of the Noxious Weeds Amendment Act, 1910.

W. NOSWORTHY, Minister of Agriculture.

SPECIAL ORDER.

IN pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities conferred upon it in that behalf by sections 4 and 5 of the Noxious Weeds Act, 1908, and section 2 of the amending Act of 1910, and all other powers and authorities in that behalf enabling, the Tahunanui Town Board hereby resolves by way of special order as follows :---That the Tahunanui Town Board hereby declares the whole of the planets enumerated in the Third Schedule of

whole of the plants enumerated in the Third Schedule of

the Noxious Weeds Act, 1908, and its amendments, and the same are hereby declared to be noxious weeds within the jurisdiction of the Tahunanui Town Board.

Third Schedule, Noxious Weeds Act.

African boxthorn. Barberry. Bathurst burr. Broom. Burdock. Cape honeyflower. Capeweed or Cape daisy. Cut-leaved psoralea. Dock. Elderberry. Fennel. Foxglove. Giant burdock. Goat's rue. Gorse. Hakea. Hemlock. Japanese wineberry. Kangaroo acacia. Lantana. Lupin. Ox eye daisy. Pennycress or Canadian stinkweed. Pennyroyal. Periwinkle. Prickly pear. Spiderwort. St. John's wort.

St. Jonn's wort. Tauhinu, or New Zealand cottonwood. Thistles : Any species of *Carlina* (stemless thistle), *Carduus* (common plune or Scotch thistle), *Cnicus* (woolly-headed thistle), *Centaurea* (star thistle), *Silybum* (milk thistle).

Tutsan. Viper's bugloss.

Wild borage.

Wild turnip. Winged thistle.

Additional Regulation for the Conduct of Legal Business.

Department of Justice, Wellington, 4th March, 1924.

R EGULATION No. 2 of the Regulations for the Conduct of Legal Business, dated the 29th day of March, 1920, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of 8th April, 1920, is hereby further amended by the addition of the following

own motor-cars, or motor-cars hired for their personal use, whether public conveyances are available or not, shall be allowed mileage at the rate of one shilling per mile one way for every mile between their place of residence and the place at which evidence is required to be given, provided, however, that in no case shall such mileage be paid for a greater dis-tance than fifty miles."

C. J. PARR, Minister of Justice. Approved in Council.

F. D. THOMSON, Clerk of the Executive Council.

Teachers' Appeal Board : Secondary and Technical Schools.

Education Department

Wellington, 3rd March, 1924. T is hereby notified, for general information, that the Appeal Board for the year 1924 set up to hear appeals in connection with the grading or classification of teachers in Secondary or technical schools will consist of—

Chairman: Peter Barr, F.I.A.N.Z.

Representative of Education Department: Ernest Marsden, D.Sc., F.N.Z.Inst. Representatives of Teachers—

Secondary Teachers : Robert Malcolm Laing, M.A., B.Sc.

Frank Hyde Campbell, B.A.

Technical Teachers : Hugh Aled. Jones. Robert John Thompson.

C. J. PARR, Minister of Education.