Appointments, Promotions, Resignations, and Transfers of Officers of the N.Z. Staff Corps and Territorial Force.

#### Department of Defence.

# Wellington, 18th June, 1923. HIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the appointments, promotions, resig-nations, and transfers of the undermentioned officers of the

N.Z. Staff Corps and Territorial Force.

## N.Z. STAFF CORPS.

- Lieutenant J. L. Scoular is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (a), with the rank of Captain. Dated 31st May, 1922.
- The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 43, of 1st June, 1922, relating to the above-named officer is hereby cancelled.

5TH N.Z. MOUNTED RIFLES (OTAGO).

2nd Lieutenant P. A. Smith is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 12. Dated 30th May, 1923.

### 8TH N.Z. MOUNTED RIFLES (NELSON).

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) E. Reid lapses. Dated 11th June, 1923.

THE REGIMENT OF N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Major R. C. Wickens, D.S.O., to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command the 3rd Artillery Brigade. Dated 7th June, 1923.

Major R. A. Hogan, from the Reserve of Officers, to be Major, and to command the 20th Battery. Dated 28th May, 1923 Leo Gladstone Mahon to be Lieutenant (3rd Battery). Dated

18th May, 1923.

N.Z. CORPS OF SIGNALS.

Lieutenant W. A. Tanner is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 5, with the rank of Captain. 20th October, 1916.

The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 135, of 1st December, 1916, relating to the above-named officer is hereby cancelled.

# THE N.Z. INFANTRY.

The Auckland Regiment.

Captain G. P. O'Shannassy to be Major (7th C. Battalion).

Dated 1st May, 1923. 2nd Lieutenant H. L. Calder, from the Wellington Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant (6th C. Battalion), with seniority as from the 13th February, 1923. Walter Stephenson to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation), (7th

to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 4. Dated 31st May, 1923.

The appointments of the undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants

(on probation) lapse :---R. R. Macgregor (13th C. Battalion). Dated 31st May, 1923.

H. O. England (6th C. Battalion). Dated 11th June, 1923.

R. Johnston (5th C. Battalion). Dated 11th June, 1923.
2nd Lieutenant A. K. Prince (10th C. Battalion) resigns his commission. Dated 31st May, 1923.

#### The Wellington Regiment.

2nd Lieutenant H. L. Calder (8th C. Battalion) is transferred to the Auckland Regiment. Dated 31st May, 1923.

The Otago Regiment.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenants. The undermentioned Zhu Lieutenairs of an Dated 1st June, 1923 :---T. L. James (7th C. Battalion). N. J. Caldwell (8th C. Battalion). R. R. Nimmo (4th C. Battalion). R. H. Cleland (4th C. Battalion). R. S. Orr (4th C. Battalion).

J. M. Samson (4th C. Battalion).

2nd Lieutenant (on probation) A. A. Cooper, from the Auokland Regiment, to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation), (1st Battalion), with seniority as from the 28th February, 1923.

- Thomas Jacob Graham Pugh to be 2nd Lieutenant (6th C. Battalion). Dated 11th June, 1923. Lieutenant G. I. Black (1st Battalion) is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, Class I (b), R.D. 11. Dated 30th May, 1992. 1923.
- The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) J. D. Salmond (4th C. Battalion) lapses. Dated 11th June, 1923.

N.Z. AIR FORCE.

The undermentioned are appointed to the Force with the rank as stated. Dated 14th June, 1923 :--Major Keith Logan Caldwell, M.C., D.F.C.

Captains-Reginald Eric Buckingham, M.C. Herbert Frank Stacey Drewitt, M.C., D.F.C. George Francis Meager, A.F.C Philip Kenning Fowler. Maurice William Buckley. Noel Edgar Chandler. Hugh B. Burrell. John Seabrook, A.F.C. Charles Cecil Lawrence Dowdall. Arthur Colwell Upham, D.F.C. James Lloyd Findlay, M.C. Malcolm Charles MoGregor, D.F.C. Gerald Lomax Stedman. Francis William Crawford. Lieutenants Ralph Arundel Stedman. Trevor Watts White. Frederick James Horrell. Gordon G. A. Martin. John Coates. Alexander Cleveland McArthur. Cecil Henry Noble-Campbell, A.F.C. Arthur Hirst Skinner. George Hcod. Gerald James Wilde, A.F.C. Clarence Arthur Umbers. Kenneth James Gould. Kenneth Wilford John Hall. Donald Clyde Inglis, D.C.M. George Valentine Thorpe Thomson. Ivan Louis Kight. Harold Roschill Thomas Hughes. William Russell Patey, D.F.C. Sidney Wallingford. Thomas Bushby Hardy. Ivo Carr. Richard James Thompson. Frederick de Mulford Hyde, A.F.C. Frederick Stanley Gerdon, D.F.C. William Frederick Parke. Horace Carline Lloyd. Sydney Thomas Goodman, M.C., D.C.M. 2nd Lieutenants---Maurice Denman Sinelair. Herbert Nelson Hawker. Peter Mitford-Burgess. Jonas William Henry Lett. George Cotton-Stapleton. Edwyn Arnold Fraser Wilding. John Ericksen Stevens. Wallace Eustace Norton. Ivan Edward Rawnsley. Miles Hastings Otway. George Carter. William Gordon Coull. Harry Ian Norman Melville. Ronald Granville MacDonald. Frank Hazlett. Ronald James Sinclair. James Russell Richardson. Ronald John Melville Webber. Dennis Winfield. William Watson Withell. David George Gregorie. Richard Claud Hancock. Neville Forsyth Harston. Ian Herbert Neill Keith. Ian Alpin McGregor. John Robert Moncrieff. Robert Blair Reynolds Edward Desmond Williams. W. Boyce Gillespie. The undermentioned officer is attached. Dated 14th June, Captain Christopher Musgrave, A.F.C. (Class C), R.A.F. Reserve.

> N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS. Southern Depot.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) H. J. Biggins to be Lieutenant. Dated 12th June, 1923.

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

1923:

Captain E. M. Litchfield, M.R.C.S., Eng. (Reserve of Officers), is retired under the provisions of General Order No. 184/21, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 7th June, 1923.

The commissions granted the undermentioned are cancelled under section 5 (a), the Defence Act, 1909 :--Captain W. S. Kidd, L.R.C.S., Edin. Dated 30th May,

1923 Captain R. S. Trotter, M.D. Dated 13th June, 1923.

R. HEATON RHODES, Minister of Defence.