JUNE 2.

Appointments, Promotions, Resignations, and Transfers of Officers_of the Regiment of Royal N.Z. Artillery and Territorial Force.

Department of Defence, Wellington, 30th May, 1921.

weilington, 30th May, 1921. II IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the appointments to approve of the appointments, promotions, resigna-tions, and transfers of the undermentioned officers of the Regiment of Royal N.Z. Artillery and Territorial Force.

COMMANDS.

- Colonel George Frederick Colin Campbell, C.M.G., v.D., re-linquishes command of the Wellington Coast Defences, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of para-graph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated
- Colonel the Honourable George John Smith, C.B.E. (D.), relinquishes command of the Canterbury Infantry Brigade, and is transferred to the Reserve of Officers (General List). Dated 19th May, 1921.

REGIMENT OF ROYAL N.Z. ARTILLERY.

Honorary Lieutenant Robert Irvine is posted to the Retired List, with the rank of Captain. Dated 1st May, 1921.

9TH (WELLINGTON EAST COAST) MOUNTED RIFLES.

- Lieutenant-Colonel Julius Sandtmann (Reserve of Officers) is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of para-graph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 17th May, 1921.
- Captain Harold Noel Kebbell (*Reserve of Officers*) resigns his commission. Dated 17th May, 1921.
 2nd Lieutenant Roy Nathaniel Barton resigns his commission.
- Dated 20th May, 1921.

CORPS OF N.Z. ENGINEERS.

N.Z. Railway Battalions (North Island).

- 2nd Lieutenant Eugene Magnus Augustine Mooney (Reserve of Officers) is transferred to the Reserve of Officers (General
- List). Dated 8th March, 1921.
 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) William Henry Gladstone Browne resigns his appointment. Dated 19th May, 1921.

N.Z. POST AND TELEGRAPH CORPS.

North Island.

2nd Lieutenant (on probation) James Patrick Walsh resigns his appointment. Dated 20th May, 1921.

South Island.

Captain Aubrey Dormer Baggs is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 19th May, 1921.

4TH (OTAGO) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant Charles Gilbert White (Reserve of Officers) is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 29th September, 1920.

5TH (WELLINGTON) REGIMENT.

- Lieutenant James Hanna Irvine is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February, 1920. Dated 16th May, 1921. Captain Thomas William Slinn (Reserve of Officers) is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and was the processibed uniform. Dated 16th May rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 16th May, 1921.
- Lieutenant Barton Albert Ginger resigns his commission. Dated 16th May, 1921.

7TH (WELLINGTON WEST COAST) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant Harold George Lewis (*Reserve of Officers*) is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913. Dated 20th May, 1921. Lieutenant Walter Tiffin Stewart (*Reserve of Officers*) resigns his commission. Dated 20th May, 1921.

9TH (HAWKE'S BAY) REGIMENT.

- Major Thomas Peter Halpin (*Reserve of Officers*) is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 16th May, 1921.
- Captain John Daly (*Reserve of Officers*) resigns his commission. Dated 16th May, 1921. 2nd Lieutenant Alexander Strachan Hart resigns his commis-
- sion. Dated 16th May, 1921.

11TH REGIMENT (TABANAKI RIFLES).

Lieutenant Vincent Herbert Trask resigns his commission. Dated 18th May, 1921.

N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS.

No. 9 Company.

The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) Eden William Smith is confirmed. 2nd Lieutenant Eden William Smith to be Lieutenant. Dated

18th May, 1921.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Sister Kathleen Welch is transferred from the Reserve to the Active List. Dated 17th May, 1921. Sister Charlotte Henrietta Matthews is transferred to the Temporary Reserve List. Dated 2nd June, 1921.

UNATTACHED LIST (b).

Northern Command.

Wilfred Alexander Atkinson to be 2nd Lieutenant (on proba-tion). Dated 15th May, 1921. 2nd Lieutenant Arthur Vincent Hill resigns his commission

Dated 19th May, 1921.

Central Command.

Lieutenant Theodore Mortimer Peters resigns his commission.

- Lieutenant Theodore Moralmer Feters resigns ins commission.
 Dated 20th May, 1921.
 2nd Lieutenant (temp.) Thomas Richardson resigns his commission.
 Dated 18th May, 1921.
 2nd Lieutenant (temp.) John Kempsell resigns his commission.
 Dated 18th May, 1921.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS (GENERAL LIST).

Central Command.

Captain Charles Leonard Harris resigns his commission. Dated 17th May, 1921. Lioutenant Frederick William Martin resigns his commission.

Dated 19th May, 1921. The notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 85, of 14th October, 1920, relating to the retirement of Lieutenant Charles Thomas White, is cancelled.

R. H. RHODES, Minister of Defence.

Defence Rifle Club disbanded.

Department of Defence.

Wellington, 28th May, 1921.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has approved of the disbandment, under section 43, Defence Act, 1909, of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Club :--

Chorlton Defence Rifle Club, with headquarters at Chorlton (Southern Command).

Dated 13th May, 1921.

R. H. RHODES, Minister of Defence.

Result of Election of Trustees of a Drainage District.

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 24th May, 1921. THE following result of the election of trustees of a drainage district has been received from the Returning Officer, and is published in accordance with the provisions of the Land Drainage Act, 1908.

J. HISLOP, Under-Secretary.

Wakapuaka Drainage District, County of Waimca-

Herbert Fredrick Bickerton. William Bunten.

Allen Roy Cozens. Albert Gyn Frost. Frank Whitwell.

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph.

General Post Office,

William Canning, Postmaster, Pahiatua. Arthur Wolleston Pym Hewitt, Postmaster, Hawera. John Charles McCrea, Chief Postmaster, Napier. Alfred Roberts, Chief Postmaster, Thames. George William Woods, Postmaster, Stratford.

J. G. COATES, Minister of Telegraphs.