Major (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Edward Jenning M.R.C.S. Eng., with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel.
Major George Lapraik, M.B.
Major William Edward Redman, M.R.C.S. Eng.

Major Arthur Challinor Purchas, M.B. Captain William Crawford Macknight.

The undermentioned are posted to the Retired List, with the rank of Lieutenant-Colonel, under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February,

b. Dated 5th April, 1921:— Lieutenant-Colonel Walter Relf Pearless (d.), M.R.C.S.

Major (temp.) [Major, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] (late temp. Lieutenant - Colonel, N.Z.E.F.) Louis Edward

Barnett, M.B.

Major (temp.) (late Lieutenant-Colonel, N.Z.E.F.) Thomas Mill, C.M.G., C.B.E., M.B.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) [Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Bernard Myers, C.M.G., M.D. Captain (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) [Reserve of Officers

(temp.) William Little, M.D.
Captain (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) James Alexander
Macdonell, M.D.

Captain (temp. Lieutenant-Colonel) Charles Evans Maguire, M.D.

The undermentioned are posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February, 1920. Dated 5th April, 1921:—

Major Ebenezer Teichelman, F.R.C.S. Eng.
Major (temp.) Carrick Hey Robertson, M.B., with the

rank of Major.

Captain (temp. Major) John Craig, L.R.C.P. Irel., with the rank of Major.
 Captain (temp. Major) Edward William Sharman, L.R.C.P.

Edin., with the rank of Major.
Captain Arthur George Harvey, M.B.
Captain Alfred Clark, F.R.C.S. Edin.
Captain James Henry Crawshaw, M.R.C.S. Eng.
Captain John Ogilvie Veitch, M.D.

Captain John Ogilvie Vetten, M.D.
Captain (temp.) [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)]
Henry Morris Cowen, M.D., with the rank of Captain.
Captain (temp.) Charles Benjamin Rossiter, F.R.C.S.
Eng. [Reserve of Officers (temp.)], with the rank of Captain.

Captain (temp.) George Redpath, M.B., with the rank of

Captain (temp.) George Tecapean, A.L.,
Captain Harold Rugg, M.R.C.S. Eng.
Captain (temp.) Arthur Herbert Hallen, M.D., with the
rank of Captain.
Captain [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] John Neil
Keith, L.R.C.P. Edin., with the rank of Captain.
Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Stuart
Scoular, M.B., with the rank of Captain.
Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] David

Scoular, M.B., with the rank of Captain.

Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] David

Nathan Isaacs, M.B.E., with the rank of Captain.

Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Frederick

James Mulholland, M.B., with the rank of Captain.

Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Leonard

Hugh Booth, M.B., with the rank of Captain.

Captain (temp.) [Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Thomas

William Maben, with the rank of Captain.

The undermentioned are retired, under the provisions of paragraph 127, General Regulations, 1913. Dated 5th April, 1921:—

Major Alfred Osborne Knight, M.R.C.S. Eng. Major Albert Isaac Garland, M.R.C.S. Eng. Major Bernard Volckmann, M.R.C.S. Eng.

Major Douglas Dixon Dryden, L.R.C.P. Edin. Major Ninian George Trotter, M.D. Captain Ernest Henry Howard, M.B.

Captain Ernest Henry Howard, M.B.
Captain Albert Henderson, M.D.
Captain George Lyons, M.D.
Captain Walter Stapley, M.D.
Captain John William Crawshaw, M.B.
Captain John James Edgar, M.B.
Captain John James Edgar, M.B.
Captain Thomas Fletcher Telford, M.D.
Captain Leonard Arthur Line, M.B.
Captain (temp.) Thomas Leslie Crooks, M.D.
Captain (temp.) Alfred Charles Sandston, M.B.
Captain (temp.) Tom Lakin Paget, M.R.C.S. Eng.

The undermentioned relinquish their commissions. Dated 28th June, 1919:

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) Walter Fox, M.B.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) Walter Fox, M.B.
Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) George Melmoth Scott, M.D.
Lieutenant-Colonel (temp.) William Ewart, M.B.
Major (temp.) Hugh Douglas, M.B.
Honorary Major Frederick Truby King, M.B.
Honorary Major John Alexander Hurley.
Honorary Major Sydney Taylor Champtaloup, M.B.
Captain (temp.) [Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Stephen
Estridge Crawford, M.R.C.S. Eng. Dated 3rd February, 1920. ruary, 1920.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Sister Alice Mildred Glynes is posted to the Temporary Reserve. Dated 18th April, 1921.

The undermentioned are transferred from the Temporary Reserve to the Active List:-

Sister Amelia Prior Don. Dated 14th April, 1921 Sister Agnes Mary Paterson. Dated 16th April, 1921.

UNATTACHED LIST (b).

Northern Military District.

Gerald Lionel O'Halloran to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation). Dated 18th April, 1921.

2nd Lieutenant (on probation) Renke Frederick Luks resigns his appointment. Dated 11th April, 1921. The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) Eric Arthur

Watkin lapses. Dated 12th April, 1921.

Southern Military District.

2nd Lieutenant James Collett Dickinson to be Lieutenant.

Dated 9th December, 1920. 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) Phillipe Sidney de Quetteville Cabot is transferred to the 4th (Otago) Regiment. Dated 15th April, 1921.

UNATTACHED LIST (GENERAL LIST).

2nd Lieutenant Herbert Henry Thomason is transferred to the 12th (Nelson and Marlborough) Regiment. Dated 16th April, 1921.

RESERVE OF OFFICERS (temp.)

The commission granted Lieutenant Charles Gordon Stewart, M.C., is cancelled, under the provisions of section 5 (a) of the Defence Act, 1909. Dated 18th April, 1921.

R. H. RHODES, Minister of Defence.

Results of Polls for Proposed Loans.

Wellington, 27th April, 1921. THE following notice, received from the Mayor of the Council of the Borough of Napier, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913.

F. H. D. BELL, for Minister of Finance.

BOROUGH OF NAPIER.

Results of Polls for Proposed Loans.

PURSUANT to section 12 of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913, I hereby give notice that on Wednesday, the 13th day of April instant, a poll of the ratepayers of the Borough of Napier was taken on each of the loan proposals set out here-under. The numbers of valid votes recorded at the said polls respectively for and against the said proposals respectively, and the numbers of informal votes cast at the said polls respectively, were as follows:

Proposal No. 1.—To borrow £60,100 for the purposes following :-

Purchase and installation at the power-house of one gas-producer, complete with all auxiliary plant: £12,400.

Purchase and installation at the power-house of one engine, with equipment: £18,760.

Additions to the power-house battery: £1,070

Purchase of electric meters: £4,450.

For making advances to owners or occupiers of any premises within the borough so as to enable them to connect their premises with any electric-light main, and for providing the service pipes, fittings, and meters necessary in that behalf: £3,220.

meters necessary in that behalf: £3,220.

For completing the construction of a tramway track and overhead works for an electric tramway along Hastings Street South, from Dickens Street to Kinross White Street; for reconstructing the street in conformity with the levels of the said track, and for the purchase of four or more tram-cars: £20,200.

Votes for, 371; votes against, 263; informal votes, 20.

Proposal No. 2.—To borrow £18,200 for the purposes

following: Extension of the electricity supply area to Greenmeadows, Taradale, and Awatoto.

Votes for, 216; votes against, 416; informal votes, 22.

Proposal No. 3.—To borrow £34,300 for the purpose following:

Construction of a tramway from the depot along Jull Street, Kennedy Road, Vigor Brown Street, and Kinross White Street, so as to connect with the Hastings Street extension.

Votes for, 229; votes against, 408; informal votes, 18. Proposal No. 4.—To borrow £29,100 for the purposes

Construction of a sewer along Hardinge Road as well as of manholes to main sewers and branch sewers: £3,395.