and if discovered playing therein the licensee or the person for the time in charge of the premises shall be liable to a fine of £5 for the first offence, and for

a second offence the Council may revoke the license.

(7.) Renewal of license must be applied for before the expiry of the term for which a license has been

granted.

(8.) Any Maori youth under the age of fifteen years found ny maon youth under the age of inteen years found playing billiards in any place whatsoever shall be liable to a fine not exceeding 5s. for the first offence, not exceeding 10s. for the second offence, and not exceeding £1 for the third offence or for every subsequent offence.

(9.) Any person keeping a billiard-room or a billiard-table in any Maori kainga, and any Maori keeping such a room or table at any other place within the district, except townships (but not Maori lots within a Native township) and European settlements, without license from the Council, shall be liable to

a fine not exceeding £25.

a fine not exceeding £25.

(10.) Any person found playing for money, whether by cards or any other game (except by billiards on licensed premises), within the precincts of any kainga shall be liable to a fine not exceeding 10s. for the first offence, not exceeding £1 for the second offence, and not exceeding £2 for every subsequent offence. offence.

offence.

(11.) Any person, the owner or occupier of any house or premises situate in any Maori kainga, who shall permit or allow gambling or playing for money (except by billiards on licensed premises) in such house or upon such premises shall be liable to a fine not exceeding £1 for the first offence, not exceeding £2 for the second offence, and not exceeding £5 for every subsequent offence.

(N.) VILLAGE COMMITTEES.

67. The Council may delegate wholly or in part its powers under the prescribed rules or regulations to any Village Committee, and such Committee shall thereupon be enabled

to exercise such powers within its own kainga.

The Village Committee shall have power to impose a penalty or a fine for any breach of regulation, and if such fine be not paid within the prescribed period the Chairman of the Committee shall forward a report on and evidence of such breach of regulation and of the non-payment of such fine to the Chairman of the Council.

68. The Council shall prescribe fines for by-laws for which no provision has been made.

SCHEDULE

Form A.

To [Name and address].

GREETING: You are requested to cleanse or cause your house to be cleansed within days after service of this notice upon you, and you are warned that if after such service you refuse or neglect within the time specified to comply with this notice you will be liable to a fine not exceeding £1.

Dated the day of , 19 .

(SEAL.)

Chairman [or Clerk] of Hokianga Council [or Village Committee].

Form B.

HAWKER'S LICENSE.

Now all men that , a hawker, is duly licensed to sell goods in the kaingas of the Hokianga District for one year from the date hereof.

Given under the seal of the Maori Council for the Hokianga , 19 . Maori District, the day of

Chairman [or Clerk] of the Council. (SEAL.)

Form C.

BILLIARD LICENSE.

Know all men that , of , is duly licensed to keep a billiard-room at for twelve months from the date hereof, subject to the provisions of the by-laws of the

Given under the seal of the Maori Council for the Hokianga Maori District, the day of , 19 day of , 19

Chairman [or Clerk] of the Council. (SEAL.)

The above by-laws were passed at a meeting of the Maori Council for the Hokianga Maori District held at Rawene on the 22nd day of February, 1921, and are given under the seal of the said Council.

HONE WEPIHA, Chairman (L.S.)

As witness the hand of His Excellency the Governor-General, this 10th day of October, 1921.

J. G. COATES, Minister of Native Affairs.

Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the Service of Notices by Telegraph.

General Post Office,
Wellington, 2nd December, 1921.

In Post and Telegraph Act, 1908 (hereinafter termed "the said Act"), and by the regulations made on the 12th May, 1914, and published in the New Zealand Gazette of the 21st May, 1914, the following officers, at the addresses set against their names, are hereby appointed Transmitting and Receiving Officers for the purpose of dealing with all notices by telegraph sent under the said Act or regulations, and of signing such certificates in relation to the service of any such notices as are required or authorized to be signed or given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid: given under the said Act or the regulations aforesaid:

Duncan Faulks, Acting Superintendent, Telegraph Office, Dunedin.

James Gillespie, Acting Superintendent, Telegraph

Office, Christchurch. HENRY HANSEN, Supervisor, Telegraph Branch, Nelson.

J. G. COATES, Minister of Telegraphs.

Officers authorized to take Declarations of Telegraph Officers.

Post and Telegraph Department,

Post and Telegraph Department,
General Post Office,
Wellington, 2nd December, 1921.

I N pursuance of the powers delegated to me under paragraph (d) of section 8 of the Post and Telegraph Act, 1908, I, Joseph Gordon Coates, Postmaster-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, under the authority conferred by subsection (1) of section 21 of the Post and Telegraph Amendment Act, 1919, as amended by subsection (2) of section 3 of the Post and Telegraph Amendment Act, 1920, do hereby authorize the following officers to take declarations of Telegraph officers for the purpose of the said section 21:—
Lewis Anderson.
George William Hazleton

Lewis Anderson. William Henry Anderson. Henry Ideson Bennett. George Walter Brown. Samuel Buckett. Robert Alexander Callander. John Young Cameron.
Louis James Carmine.
Percival Samuel Henry Chambers John Peter Porteous Clouston. Henry George Frederick Coles. James Scott Connell. George Edward Harrison
Davis.
Harold George Davis.
Alexander Dawson.

Edward Dollimore. Richard May Doull. Samuel Pearce Eddy. Ambrose Elliot. Joseph Hardy Fletcher. Henry Hansen.

George William Hazleton, Luther Hill. William James Jackson. James Stuart Jordan. Arthur Oscar Keating. James Valentine Lawes. David McCready. Niel Roy McIsaac. Cecil Argrove Mathieson. Robert Gordon May. Frederick William Moore. John George Mulholland. Dennis Mulvey.
James Joseph Mulvey.
Edward Nicholas Pascoe. Robert Joseph Patton. David Pollock Porteous. Edward John Roche. William Arthur Sawyer. Albert Nyanza Wallace. William Edward Ward. Allan Stanley Warner. Thomas Henry Whelan. Frank Wilton.
John George Young.

J. G. COATES, Postmaster-General,

Telegraph Officers authorized to take Declarations of Postmasters and other Post Officers.

Post and Telegraph Department, General Post Office, Wellington, 2nd December, 1921. IN pursuance of the powers delegated to me under paragraph (d) of section 8 of the Post and Telegraph Act, 1908, I, Joseph Gordon Coates, Postmaster-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, under the authority conferred by subsection (2) of section 9 of the said Act, as amended by subsection (1) of section 3 of the Post and Telegraph Amendment Act, 1920, do hereby authorize the following Telegraph officers to take declarations of Postmasters and other Post officers :

Henry Ideson Bennett. Louis James Carmine. Richard May Doull.

Ambrose Elliot. Henry Hansen. Arthur Oscar Keating.

J. G. COATES, Postmaster-General.

Post Officers authorized to take Declarations of Postmasters and other Post Officers

Post and Telegraph Department, General Post Office,

Wellington, 2nd December, 1921. I N pursuance of the powers delegated to me under paragraph (d) of section 8 of the Post and Telegraph Act, 1908, I, Joseph Gordon Coates, Postmaster-General of the