Appointment of Officers under the Infants Act, 1908.

Education Department,
Wellington, 8th October, 1920.

Y virtue of the power vested in me by section 40 of the
Infants Act, 1908, I, Christopher James Parr, the
Minister of Education, do hereby notify that I have ${\bf appointed}$

Annie Alberta Elizabeth Whitehouse, CONSTANCE DIGBY JENKINS, LYDIA ANNIE MAINE, JANE BAUGHN COLYER, ELIZA GORDON, ALICE TOOTELL, AND SARAH FARQUHAR

to be District Agents for the purposes of the said Act and Officers for the purposes of sections 42, 43, 46, 48, and 49

C. J. PARR, Minister of Education.

Official Visitor, Auckland Mental Hospital, appointed.

Mental Hospitals Department, Wellington, 14th October, 1920. weilington, 14th October, 1920.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint to appoint

JOHN ALEXANDER, Esq., to be an Official Visitor under the Mental Defectives Act, 1911, within the Provincial District of Auckland.

C. J. PARR, Minister in Charge of Mental Hospitals.

Visiting Justices appointed.

Prisons Department, Wellington, 14th October, 1920. IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint to appoint FRED CORNELIUS JAMES BELLRINGER, Esq., and

CHARLES HAYWARD BURGESS, Esq., to be Visiting Justices to the New Plymouth Prison.

J. G. COATES.

Minister in Charge of Prisons Department.

Registrars of Births, &c., appointed.

Office of Public Service Commissioner, Wellington, 15th October, 1920.

THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointments in the Public Service. appointments in the Public Service :-

(Mrs.) IDA VASHTI CRAGO JOHNSON to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris, and Vaccination Inspector, at Waitahanui, as from the 1st September, 1920.

(Miss) FLORENCE PADLIE to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris, and Vaccination Inspector, at Karetu, as from the 1st August,

A. C. TURNBULL, Secretary.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the N.Z. Staff Corps and Territorial

Department of Defence, Wellington, 19th October, 1920. Weilington, 19th October, 1920.

IIS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of the undermentioned officers of the N.Z. Staff Corps and Territorial Force.

COMMANDS.

Colonel Gerard Arnold Ward, M.B.E., relinquishes the command of the Auckland Mounted Rifles Brigade, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraphs 126 and 127, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 4th September, 1920.

N.Z. STAFF CORPS.

The undermentioned Lieutenants (temp. Captains) to be

Captains:—

Robert Logan. Dated 1st October, 1919.

George Walker. Dated 9th October, 1920.

N.Z. ARMY PAY DEPARTMENT.

With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 72, of 12th August, 1920, relating to Captain Joseph Hadfield Westby Sheppard, for the words "Dated 19th August, 1920," read "Dated 26th August, 1920."

4TH (WAIKATO) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Lieutenant Ensie Owen Austin is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 6th October, 1920.

5TH MOUNTED RIFLES (OTAGO HUSSARS).

nd Lieutenant [Lieutenant, Reserve of Officers (temp.) Harold Mein Preston to be Lieutenant. Dated 8th October,

2nd Lieutenant George Gourley is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 4th October, 1920.

10th (Nelson) Mounted Rifles.

Major George Raymond Blackett, M.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers, under the provisions of General Head-quarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February, 1920. Dated 8th October, 1920.

N.Z. FIELD ARTILLERY.

"E" Battery.

Major Charles Victor Leeming, M.C., is transferred to the "G" Battery. Dated 6th October, 1920.

"G" Battery.

Major Charles Victor Leeming, M.C., from the "E" Battery, to be Major. Dated 6th October, 1920.

CORPS OF N.Z. ENGINEERS.

N.Z. Post and Telegraph Corps (North Island). Lieutenant Arol George Murch is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 6th October, 1920.

3RD (AUCKLAND) REGIMENT (COUNTESS OF RANFURLY'S

Lieutenant Howard Nicholson Hilliard is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 6th October, 1920.

4TH (OTAGO) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant Robert Edgar Fyfe, M.C., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 8th October, 1920.

9TH (HAWKE'S BAY) REGIMENT Reserve of Officers.

Major Thomas Haslett Ringland is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform. Dated 8th October, 1920.

14TH (SOUTH OTAGO) REGIMENT. Lieutenant William Toms is transferred to the Reserve of

Officers. Dated 4th October, 1920. N.Z. RIFLE BRIGADE (EARL OF LIVERPOOL'S OWN),

TERRITORIAL. The undermentioned are transferred to the Reserve of Officers (General List), under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February, 1920:—

2nd Lieutenant (temp. Captain) Charlton Conrad Ziesler, with the rank of Lieutenant (temp. Captain). Dated 9th October, 1920.

2nd Lieutenant Hector James Aekins. Dated 8th October, 1920.

The undermentioned relinquish their commissions, under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 115/20, of 15th July. Dated 30th September, 1920:—

2nd Lieutenant [Captain, Reserve of Officers (temp.)]

Francis Taylor Bennington.

2nd Lieutenant [Lieutenant, Reserve of Officers (temp.)]

Edward Hulbert

Edward Hulbert 2nd Lieutenant [Lieutenant, Reserve of Officers (temp.)]
Lawrence William Te Heuheu Grace.

2nd Lieutenant [Lieutenant, Reserve of Officers (temp.)] Harold George Bell.

2nd Lieutenant [Lieutenant, Reserve of Officers (temp.)]
Frederick Charles De Lambert.
2nd Lieutenant (late Lieutenant, N.Z.E.F.) John Keith

Maloney.

2nd Lieutenant Thomas Leavers Franklin. 2nd Lieutenant Henry McKenzie Duston.

2nd Lieutenant James Lawson Brown, M.C. 2nd Lieutenant Ernest Dive.

2nd Lieutenant Richard Philson Abraham.

2nd Lieutenant Frank Cook. 2nd Lieutenant Thomas Clubb.

2nd Lieutenant Conway Burgess.

2nd Lieutenant Owen Castle. 2nd Lieutenant Thomas Pascoe.

2nd Lieutenant Samuel Arthur Clarence Darbey.
2nd Lieutenant Alfred Edwin Clinkard.
2nd Lieutenant Leonard Thomas Daniel, D.C.M.

2nd Lieutenant Valentine Gordon Hunter, D.C.M. 2nd Lieutenant Sandy Nelson Managh, D.C.M.

2nd Lieutenant Alexander Ralph Lecky.

2nd Lieutenant Murdo McDonald, M.C. 2nd Lieutenant William Wallace McClelland.

2nd Lieutenant Enes Jones McDonald.