Inspector under the Noxious Weeds Act, 1909, appointed .-Notice No. 2024.

Department of Agriculture, Wellington, 21st July, 1920. Wellington, 21st July, 1920.

IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint has been pleased to appoint

JENS PETER PAULSON

to be an Inspector for the purposes of the Noxious Weeds Act, 1908, for the Point Chevalier Road District, the appointment to date as from the 20th July, 1920.

W. NOSWORTHY, Minister of Agriculture.

Inspector of Anatomy appointed.

Public Health Department, Wellington, 15th July, 1920.

H IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint has been pleased to appoint

JOSEPH ALBERT MCGRATH, Superintendent of Police for the district of Dunedin,

to be an Inspector of Anatomy at Dunedin in succession to Superintendent Wright, who has been transferred.

C. J. PARR, Minister of Public Health.

Crown Solicitor appointed.

Crown Law Office, Wellington, 26th July, 1920. IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to appoint

ALEXANDER SAMUEL ADAMS, Esq., to be Crown Solicitor at Dunedin, vice W. C. MacGregor, Esq., K.C.

F. H. D. BELL, Attorney-General.

Appointments by the Public Service Commissioner.

Office of Public Service Commissioner. Wellington, 22nd July, 1920.

THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following a major than the

lowing appointments in the Public Service:

JOHN ROYDEN SANSOM

to be Clerk of the Magistrate's Court at Lyttelton for the purposes of the Magistrates' Courts Act, 1908, as from the 16th day of October, 1919.

ARTHUR STUART PALMER

to be the Registrar of Electors for the Electoral District of Kaiapoi, for the purposes of the Legislature Act, 1908, as from the 3rd day of July, 1920.

HENRY BELL REID

to be the Registrar of Electors and Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Waitaki, for the purposes of the Legislature Act, 1908, as from the 8th day of July, 1920.

WALTER PARKER

to be the Registrar of Electors and Returning Officer for the Electoral District of Wallace, for the purposes of the Legislature Act, 1908, as from the 12th day of July, 1920.

BARTLETT GRANT

to be an Inspector for the purposes of the Slaughtering and Inspection Act, 1908, as from the 19th day of July, 1920.

A. C. TURNBULL, Secretary.

Ministerial Changes.

Official Secretary's Office, Government House, Wellington, 27th July, 1920.

Is Excellency the Administrator of the Government has been pleased to secont the regiment. been pleased to accept the resignation by The Honourable Sir WILLIAM FRASER, K.C.V.O.,

of his office of Minister of Mines; and to appoint

The Right Honourable WILLIAM FERGUSON MASSEY, P.C., to be Minister of Mines.

By command.

A. CECIL DAY, Official Secretary.

Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, Resignations, and Retirements of Officers of the Regiment of Royal N.Z. Artillery and Territorial Force.

Department of Defence,
Wellington, 26th July, 1920.

H IS Excellency the Administrator of the Government
has been pleased to approve of the same of th has been pleased to approve of the appointments, promotions, transfers, resignations, and retirements of the

undermentioned officers of the Regiment of Royal N.Z. Artillery and Territorial Force, and the reposting of officers from the N.Z. Expeditionary Force to the Territorial Force.

APPOINTMENTS AND PROMOTIONS.

CORPS OF N.Z. ENGINEERS.

No. 2 Field Company.

Lieutenant John William Dow to be Captain. Dated 1st March, 1920.

2ND (SOUTH CANTERBURY) REGIMENT.

Lieut.-Colonel Kenneth Mackenzie (D.), Reserve of Officers, ceases to be attached for duty. Dated 16th July, 1920.

N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Sister Margaret Nixon to be Charge Sister. Dated 1st July,

UNATTACHED LIST (b).

2nd Lieutenant Gavin Eugene Pollock to be Lieutenant. Dated 28th May, 1920.

The undermentioned are appointed 2nd Lieutenants (on prob.), under the provisions of General Headquarters Instructions No. 22, of 20th February, 1920. Dated 13th July, 1920:

William Donovan.

Edward Bernstein Malins Laseron.

TRANSFERS

N.Z. ARMY MEDICAL DEPARTMENT.

Captain John Spencer-Daniel, M.B., is transferred to the Reserve of Officers (lemp.) Dated 19th August, 1920.

9TH (WELLINGTON EAST COAST) MOUNTED RIFLES. Lieutenant Cyril Paul Hunter is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 10th July, 1920.

N.Z. GARRISON ARTILLERY.

Wellington G.A. Division.

Captain Herbert Walter Martyn-Roberts is transferred to the 17th (Ruahine) Regiment. Dated 16th July, 1920.

5TH (WELLINGTON) REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant Frederick Hainsworth Hudson is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 15th July, 1920.

2nd Lieutenant James Hope Robertson, from the N.Z. Rifle
Brigade (Earl of Liverpool's Own), Reserve of Officers, to
be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 15th July, 1920.

8TH (SOUTHLAND) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant James Edward Stokes is transferred to the Unattached List (b). Dated 15th July, 1920.

17TH (RUAHINE) REGIMENT.

Captain Herbert Walter Martyn-Roberts, from the N.Z. Garrison Artillery, to be Captain. Dated 16th July, 1920.

N.Z. RIFLE BRIGADE (EARL OF LIVERPOOL'S OWN).

Reserve of Officers.

2nd Lieutenant James Hope Robertson is transferred to the 5th (Wellington) Regiment. Dated 15th July, 1920.

N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

The appointments of the undermentioned Lieutenants (on prob.) are confirmed, and they are transferred to the Unattached List (b). Dated 15th June, 1920:— David Alfred Bathgate.

Douglas Leonard Muir. Colin Campbell Anderson. Arnold Gilray.

John William Hall. Samuel Lawrence Ludbrook. James Francis Cleveland Moore. Louis Amos Bennett. Walter Watson Little. George Edwin Waterworth. Victor Rylands Nicholson. Edward John Cronin. Harold Shaw Billcliff. Rupert Selwyn Australia Graham.

Frank Copland Hutchison.

Norman Francis Boag. Cyril Arnold King.
William Richard Lawrence. Graham Douglas Lindsay. Hector Macdonald Munro. David Matthew Mitchell. William Barnett Reekie. John Maxwell Clarke. Colin James Campbell. Alfred Smith Gray. Robert Frescheville Bakewell. John Campbell McKenzie. Alan Edwin Park. Harry Kenrick Christie. James Noble Waddell.

UNATTACHED LIST (b).

The undermentioned Lieutenants, from the N.Z. Medical Corps, to be Lieutenants. Dated 15th June, 1920:—

Douglas Alfred Bathgate. Douglas Leonard Muir. Colin Campbell Anderson. Arnold Gilray. John William Hall. Samuel Lawrence Ludbrook. James Francis Cleveland Moore.

Louis Amos Bennett. Walter Watson Little. Norman Francis Boag. Cyril Arnold King. William Richard Lawrence. Graham Douglas Lindsay. Hector Macdonald Munro. David Matthew Mitchell. William Barnett Reekie. John Maxwell Clarke Colin James Campbell. Alfred Smith Gray.