



THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, MAY 13, 1920.

New County of Matakaoa divided into Ridings, &c.

[L.S.] LIVERPOOL, Governor-General.

A PROCLAMATION.

In pursuance and exercise of the powers and authorities vested in me by the Counties Act, 1908, and the Matakaoa County Act, 1919, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, do hereby divide the new County of Matakaoa, as constituted by the said Acts, into four ridings, to be called the Horoera Riding, the Awatere Riding, the Wharekahika Riding, and the Whangaparaoa Riding, and declare that the boundaries thereof shall be those set forth in the Schedule hereto.

hereto.

And I do hereby declare that one member shall be elected for the Horoera Riding, three members for the Awatere Riding, two members for the Wharekahika Riding, and three members for the Whangaparaoa Riding. And I do further declare that Saturday, the fifteenth day of May, one thousand nine hundred and twenty, shall be the day upon which the election of the Council of the said County of Matakaoa shall take place; and Saturday, the twenty-second day of May, one thousand nine hundred and twenty, at twelve o'clock noon, shall be the time, and the Matakaoa County Council's office. Hovell's Hall, at Te Araroa, shall be the place, at which the first meeting of the said Council shall be held.

SCHEDULE.

HOROERA RIDING.

ALL that area in the Matakaoa County, in the Land District of Hawke's Bay, bounded towards the north-east by the sea from the mouth of the Awatere River to Te Horo-o-Kapuarangi; towards the south by the county boundary to the Te Araroa – Tikitiki Road; and towards the west by the centre of the said road to the right bank of the Awatere River, and by the said right bank of the Awatere River to its mouth, the point of commencement.

AWATERE RIDING.

All that area in the Matakaoa County, in the Land District of Hawke's Bay, bounded by a line commencing at the

southernmost corner of Wharekahika No. 10a Block, and proceeding thence along the eastern boundary of that block and along the southern boundaries of Wharekahika Nos. 10a, 18c, 18h, 8d, 8d, 8d, 7, 6c, 6d, 2, and 6d 1 Blocks to the sea; thence south-easterly along the sea-coast to the western boundary of the Horoera Riding hereinbefore described; thence south-easterly along that boundary and westerly along the county boundary to the southernmost corner of Ahomatariki No. 3h; thence northerly along the land district boundary to the point of commencement.

WHAREKAHIKA RIDING.

All that area in the Matakaoa County, in the Land District of Hawke's Bay, bounded towards the north and east by the sea, towards the south by the Awatere Riding hereinbefore described, and towards the west by the Auckland Land District.

WHANGAPARAOA RIDING.

All that area in the Matakaoa County, in the Land District of Auckland, bounded towards the north by the sea, towards the east by the Wharekahika and the Awatere Ridings, towards the south by the county boundary, and towards the west by the county boundary and the sea.

Given under the hand of His Excellency the Right Honourable Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, Member of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire, Member of the Royal Victorian Order, Knight of Justice of the Order of Saint John of Jerusalem, Governor-General and Commander-in-Chief in and over His Majesty's Dominion of New Zealand and its Dependencies; and issued under the Seal of the said Dominion, at the Government House at Wellington, this third day of May, in the year of our Lord one thousand nine hundred and twenty.

F. H. D. BELL, Minister of Internal Affairs.

GOD SAVE THE KING!