Appointments, Promotions, Retirements, and Transfers of Officers of the Territorial Force.

Department of Defence Wellington, 8th March, 1920.

Weilington, 8th March, 1920.

IS Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to approve of the appointments. to approve of the appointments, promotions, retirements, and transfers of the undermentioned officers of the Territorial Force, to take effect from 26th February, 1920.

APPOINTMENTS AND PROMOTIONS.

COMMANDS.

The period of command of the undermentioned Officers

Commanding Regiments is extended:—
Major John Gilkison, 7th (Southland) Mounted Rifles.
Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Renton Grigor, 12th (Otago) Mounted Rifles

Major Frederick Joseph Williams, Corps of N.Z. Engineers, No. 2 Field Company. Lieutenant-Colonel John Harper Moir, 10th (North

Otago) Regiment.

Lieutenant-Colonel James Preston Stevenson, 3rd (Auckland) Regiment, (Countess of Ranfurly's Own), Coast Defence Detachment (extended for a period of one

3RD (AUCKLAND) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Major (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Alexander George McKenzie, D.S.O., to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command the regiment.

5TH MOUNTED RIFLES (OTAGO HUSSARS).

Lieutenant-Colonel George William Campbell MacDonald to command Otago Mounted Rifles Brigade. Captain Robert Francis Mitchell, M.C., to command the

regiment.

N.Z. FIELD ARTILLERY.

"A" Battery.

2nd Lieutenant (Major, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) William McKail Geddes to be Major, and to command the

"B" Battery.

Major (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Norris Steven Falla, C.M.G., D.S.O., to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command Otago Field Artillery Brigade.

N.Z. GARRISON ARTILLERY.

Auckland G.A. Division.

Major Charles Willis Coles to command the division.

Corps of N.Z. Engineers.

No. 3 Field Company (Auckland).

Major (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary)
Louis Murray Shera, O.B.E., M.C., to be LieutenantColonel, and to command the company.

DIVISIONAL SIGNAL COMPANIES.

No. 2 Company (Otago).

Lieutenant (Major, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) George Hepburn Ferguson to be Major, and to command the company.

4TH (OTAGO) REGIMENT.

Major William Fleming to command the regiment.

6TH (HAURAKI) REGIMENT.

Major (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Stephen Shepherd Allen, C.M.G., D.S.O., to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command Auckland Infantry Brigade.

14TH (SOUTH OTAGO) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant-Colonel (temp. Brigadier-General, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Alexander Edward Stewart, D.S.O., to be Colonel, and to command Otago Infantry Brigade.

Major (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary)
Duncan Colquhoun, D.S.O., to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command the regiment.

15TH (NORTH AUCKLAND) REGIMENT.

Major John Henry Bartlett to command the regiment.

16TH (WAIKATO) REGIMENT.

Major John Hector Luxford to command the regiment.

N.Z. ARMY SERVICE CORPS.

No. 1 Company (Auckland).
Captain (Major, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) George
Rowland Hutchinson, O.B.E., to be Major, and to command the company.

TRANSFERS.

3rd (Auckland) Mounted Rifles. Reserve of Officers.

Captain Ralph Wyman is transferred to the Reserve Officers (Temporary) with the rank of Major. Dated 21st March, 1917. 4TH (WAIKATO) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Major Ralph Wyman, D.S.O., from the Reserve of Officers (Temporary), to be Major, and to command the regiment.

7TH (SOUTHLAND) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Lieutenant (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) James Hargest, D.S.O., M.C., is transferred to the 8th (Southland) Regiment.

3rd (Auckland) Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own

Captain (Major, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Wilfred Courtney Sinel, D.S.O., from the Unattached List (b), to be Major, and to command the regiment.

8TH (SOUTHLAND) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant (Lieutenant-Colonel, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) James Hargest, D.S.O., M.C., from the 7th (Southland) Mounted Rifles, to be Lieutenant-Colonel, and to command the regiment.

UNATTACHED LIST (b).

Captain (Major, Reserve of Officers, Temporary) Wilfred Courtney Sinel, D.S.O., is transferred to the 3rd (Auckland) Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own).

RESERVE OF OFFICERS (TEMPORARY).

Major Ralph Wyman is transferred to the 4th (Waikato) Mounted Rifles.

RETIREMENTS.

COMMANDS.

Colonel Charles Thomas Major, D.S.O., relinquishes the command, Auckland Infantry Brigade, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his

General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

Colonel Joseph Cowie-Nichols, C.B.E., A.D.C., (p), relinquishes the command, Otago Mounted Rifles Brigade, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

Colonel Edmund Robertson Smith, v.D., relinquishes the command, Otago Infantry Brigade, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and

Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 12b, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Chalmer (D), relinquishes the command, Otago Field Artillery Brigade, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 12b, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

3RD (AUCKLAND) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Lieutenant-Colonel James Gladwin Wynward is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

4TH (WAIKATO) MOUNTED RIFLES.

Lieutenant-Colonel William Robert Cooper Walker is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

N.Z. GARRISON ARTILLERY.

Auckland G.A. Division.

Lieutenant-Colonel William Henry Hazard (D), is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

4TH (OTAGO) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant-Colonel Johnston McAra is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

8th (Southland) Regiment.

Lieutenant-Colonel George Mitchell, D.S.O., is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

15th (North Auckland) Regiment.

Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Herbert Steadman relinquishes the command of the regiment, and is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

16TH (WAIKATO) REGIMENT.

Lieutenant-Colonel Roy William Cumming is posted to the Retired List, under the provisions of paragraph 126, General Regulations, 1913, with permission to retain his rank and wear the prescribed uniform.

J. G. COATES, Minister of Defence.