

Aumb. 25.



THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE.

Published by Authority.

WELLINGTON, THURSDAY, MARCH 11, 1920.

Union of Boroughs of City of Wellington and Karori.

[L.S.] LIVERPOOL, Governor-General.

A PROCLAMATION.

W HEREAS the respective Councils of the City of Wellington and of the Borough of Karori, by petitions under the respective common seals of the Corporations of such city and borough, as provided by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1908, have prayed the Governor-General that such city and borough (forming one continuous area) be constituted one united borough : Now, therefore, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of

Now, therefore, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, the Governor-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance of the powers vested in me by the said Municipal Corporations Act, 1908, do hereby proclaim that the said City of Wellington and the said Borough of Karori are hereby constituted one united borough, and also that the said borough so constituted is a city by the name of the City of Wellington, and also that the boundaries of the said city so constituted and named shall be those set forth in the Schedule hereto.

And I do also proclaim that the said borough shall be an undivided borough, and that the number of Councillors to be elected to the Council thereof shall be fifteen, exclusive of the Mayor.

of the Mayor. And I do hereby appoint John Richard Palmer (the Town Clerk to the existing City of Wellington) to be the Town Clerk temporarily of the said united borough; and I do hereby appoint James Ames (the Returning Officer to the said existing city) to be the Returning Officer temporarily to the said united borough.

And I do also proclaim and declare that this Proclamation shall take effect on and from the first day of April, one thousand nine hundred and twenty.

SCHEDULE.

BOUNDARIES OF THE CITY OF WELLINGTON.

ALL that area in the Wellington Land District bounded towards the north-east generally commencing at a point on high-water mark of Lambton Harbour in line with the southwestern boundary of Section 7, Harbour District; thence to and by the south-western and north-western boundaries of Section 7 aforesaid to the easternmost corner of Section 4, Porirua District; thence by the north-eastern boundary of Section 4 aforesaid to the Wellington-Marton Railway Reserve in Section 5, Porirua; thence by the aforesaid railway reserve to the north-eastern boundary of Section 5, Porirua, and by the north-eastern boundary of Section 5, Porirua, and by the north-eastern boundary of Section 107, Ohariu ; thence by the south-eastern and south-western boundaries of Section 107 aforesaid, the south-western boundary of Section 95, Ohariu, to the southernmost corner of Section 94; thence by a right line to the northernmost corner of Section 94 aforesaid and that line produced across the old Ohariu Road, and by the northern side of that road to a point in line with the northwestern boundary of Section 93, Ohariu; thence towards the west generally by a line to and by the north-western boundary of Section 93, Ohariu, a right line to the northernmost corner of Section 9, Kaiwarra; thence by the north-western and south-western and south-western boundaries of the said Section 7 to the northernmost corner of Subdivision I of the Otari Native Reserve; thence by the north-western boundaries of Subdivisions Nos. I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII, Otari Reserve, and the south-western boundary of the last-mentioned subdivision and its prolongation to the right bank of the Kaiwarra Stream, and along the right bank of that stream to a point in line with the south-eastern boundary of the Otari Native Reserve; thence to and along

785