(3.) The sum of £6,000 for the acquisition of land and the

erection of workers' dwellings thereon.

The number of votes recorded for the proposal was 248, and the number of votes recorded against the pro-

posal was 60; informal, 1.

I therefore declare that the proposal was carried.

(4.) The sum of £2,000 for the erection of an accommoda-

tion-house on the Lake Ferry Reserve.

The number of votes recorded for the proposal was 187, and the number of votes recorded against the pro-

posal was 118; informal, 4.

I therefore declare that the proposal was carried.

Dated at Martinborough this 9th day of September, 1919. ALEX. D. McLEOD, County Chairman.

Result of Poll for Proposed Loan.

Wellington, 23rd September, 1919.

THE following notice, received from the Chairman of the Council of the County of Raglan, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Local Bodies' Loans Act, 1913.

J. ALLEN, Minister of Finance.

RAGLAN COUNTY COUNCIL.

Notice of Result of Poll on Proposal to raise a Loan.

Pursuant to the provisions of section 12 of the Local Bodies Loans Act, 1913, I hereby give notice that the following is the result of a poll of the ratepayers of the Pukekawa-Whangape Special Rating District taken on the 13th September, 1919, on the proposal to borrow the sum of £21,000 for the purpose of forming and metalling various roads in the Pukekawa and Whangape Ridings: Total number of valid votes recorded, 163; for the proposal, 122; against the proposal,

The total number of valid votes recorded in favour of the proposal being more than three-fifths of the total number of valid votes recorded, I hereby declare the proposal to be

CAMPBELL JOHNSTONE, Chairman, Raglan County Council.

Ngaruawahia, 15th September, 1919.

Notice of Intention to take Land in Block I, Totoro Survey District, Waitomo County, for the Purposes of a Road.

OTICE is hereby given that it is proposed, under the provisions of the Public Works Act, 1908, to execute a certain public work—to wit, the construction of a road in Block I, Totoro Survey District, Waitomo County; and for the purposes of such public work the land described in the Schedule hereto is required to be taken. And notice is hereby further given that the plan of the land so required to be taken is deposited in the post-office at Te Kuiti, and is there open for inspection; and that all persons affected by the execution of the said public work or by the taking of the said land should, if they have any well-grounded objections to the execution of the said public work or to the taking of such land, set forth the same in writing, and send such writing, within forty days from the first publicasend such writing, within forty days from the first publica-tion of this notice, to the Minister of Public Works at Wellington.

## SCHEDULE.

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of land required to be taken:

Portion of Maraetaua Block No. 5D 3B, Block I, Totoro Survey District (Taranaki R.D.).

In the Taranaki Land District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked P.W.D. 46514, deposited in the office of the Minister of Public Works at Wellington, in the Wellington Land District, and thereon coloured pink.

As witness my hand, at Wellington, this 18th day of September, 1919.

W. FRASER, Minister of Public Works.

Notice of Intention to take Land in Block II, Whakatane Survey District, for the Purposes of a Post-office.

NOTICE is hereby given that it is proposed, under the provisions of the Public Works Act, 1908, to execute a certain public work—to wit, the construction of a post-office in Block II, Whakatane Survey District; and for the purposes of such public work the land described in the Schedule hereto is required to be taken. And notice

is hereby further given that the plan of the land so required to be taken is deposited in the post-office at Whakatane, and is there open for inspection; and that all persons affected by is the execution of the said public work or by the taking of the said land should, if they have any well-grounded objec-tions to the execution of the said public work or to the taking of such land, set forth the same in writing, and send such writing, within forty days from the first publica-tion of this notice, to the Minister of Public Works at Wellington Wellington.

## SCHEDULE.

APPROXIMATE area of the piece of land required to be taken: 35.2 perches.

Being Sections 2 and 29, Block II, Whakatane Survey District. (S.O. 20474.)

In the Auckland Land District; as the same is more particularly delineated on the plan marked P.W.D. 46604, deposited in the office of the Minister of Public Works at Wellington, in the Wellington Land District, and thereon edged red.

As witness my hand, at Wellington, this 18th day of September, 1919.

W. FRASER, Minister of Public Works.

Post Officers appointed to take Statutory Declarations of Postmasters and other Post Officers.

Post and Telegraph Department, General Post Office,

Wellington, 20th September, 1919. In pursuance of the powers delegated to me under section 8, clause (d), of the Post and Telegraph Act, 1908, I, Joseph Gordon Coates, Postmaster-General of the Dominion of New Zealand, under the authority conferred by section 9, subsection (2), of the said Act, do hereby appoint the following Post officers to take statutory declarations of Postmasters and other Post officers :-

James Alexander. Laurence William Bourke. William John Gow. John Robertson. John Laurenson. Charles Henry William Nicholls. Stanley Mark Harrison. Davy George Fletcher Sustins.

Romulus Blakley. Arthur William Pym Hewitt. William Thomas Coad. Arthur Henry Stuart. Henry Edgar Moore. John James. William Nicholas Tregonning. Henry Howard Cork.

Duncan Macdonald.
William Fletcher Kennedy. George William Woods.

John Morton. Edward Ridley de Lacey Bean.

Albert Edward Hounsell. Isaac Peter Crichton. William Nelson Poole. Richard William Percy. William Martin Hayes Diamond.

George Clinch. Alexander Heron. Joseph Garroway McDougall. William McKinnon. Horace Dixon. Robert Martin.
Patrick Daly McGuire.
Albert John Wilkins Johns-

ton. John Patrick O'Gorman. William Fisher. Alexander Cathcart Wallace

Murdoch. John Herbertson Waters. Edward Nathan Falck. George Octavius Stephenson. Robert Henry Boyd. James Holmes Clarence Kershaw Holt.

Vincent Brooks.
Thomas Hans Gibson. Francis Michael Scully. John Charles Augustus Umbers.

Arthur Samuel Pirani. Frederick Brebner. William Canning. Albert Ernest Moore Peter Alexander Young. William Coster. George Worth. John Ramsay. James John France. John Thomas Martin. Walter Thomas Johnston. Charles Ansell.

John Alexander Herd.

Patrick John Sutherland Macalister.

James Thomas William Collier. Henry George Youngman. Walter Richard Howard. Alexander McLeod.

Samuel James Johnston. John Bushell. George Graham Johnson. Arthur Hawke

Beauchamp Urquhart Bar-Thomas Reid.

Andrew McKenzie. James Thorne. Arthur Ernest Mathews. Richard Williams. George Thomas James. Thomas Arthur Ballantine. James William Hodgson. Arthur Ernest Snaith. George Haymes Morrish. Harold Lincoln Slyfield.

Louis Anthony Bott. Augustus Edward Braithwaite. Albert Edward Fordham.

Francis George Bach Piesse. William James Adamson. Charles Kidson.

J. G. COATES, Postmaster-General.