```
Results of Elections of Members of River Boards.
```

Department of Internal Affairs, Wellington, 2nd April, 1918.

THE following results of elections of members of River
Boards have been received from the Returning Officer,
and are published in accordance with the provisions of the
River Boards Amendment Act, 1913.

J. HISLOP, Under-Secretary.

South Wairarapa River District, Counties of Wairarapa South and Featherston—

John Thomas Dagg Quentin Donald. William Hume. Alfred Matthews Charles Matthews

Waipawa River District, Counties of Waipawa and Pata-

Albyn V. Collins Hector Owen Dillon. William Henry Small. Rosalyn H. Tod. Allan M. Williams

North Rakaia River District, County of Ellesmere-

James Storry. Walter Lockhead. Edward James Cowan. William Martin Gabbie. John Peter McEvedy.

Rangitata Island River District, County of Geraldine-

David Watts. John Ross Brodie. Charles Francis Hearn. George Tate. Joseph Buck.

Otautau River District, County of Wallace-Robert Greenslade. No. 1 Subdivision.

John Lindsay.
Thomas Norman.
Edwin C. Harrington.
Robert Seatter.
","

,,

Elisha Harrington.

Palmerston North - Kairanga River District, County of Kai-

Hugh Akers. Palmerston North Subdivision. Ernest Hugh Crabb. ,,

Charles Frederick Spooner. ","
John Octavius Batchelar. Kairanga Subdivision. George Greer.

South Orari River District, County of Geraldine— Andrew R. Guild. Robert Macaulay. Murdock H. McLeod.

William Quirk. David Stewart.

Upper Orari River District, County of Geraldine-

George B. Cartwright. Donald Grant. George Hancox.
Thomas Harrington.
-William Mason. John McDonald. Colin McKenzie.

Waiau Township River District, County of Amuri—M. Bethell.

W. Hanmer Atkinson. H. T. Beaven. H. R. Davison. G. Fulton. B. Hampton. J. Lee, junior.

G. O. Rutherford.

Lower Wairau River District, County of Marlborough-

Frank Adams Robert John Bell. William Carr Archibald McCallum. Edward Stone Parker.

Clutha River District, Counties of Clutha, Bruce, and Tua-

John Crawford Anderson. Stirling. John Begg, junior. Pukeawa.
James Ross Mitchell. Clydevale.
Patrick McInerney. Kononi, Tuapeka West. Charles Fitzroy Overton. Wharetoa.

| Kaikoura River District, County of Kaikoura-Alexander Boyd.

J. G. Garrett. J. W. Harris.

J. Peoples, junior.

W. Chapman.

Waikato River District, Counties of Waikato, Franklin, and Raglan

John Thomas Cronin. Maramarua Subdivision.

Michael Gallery. Mercer Subdivision.
Thomas Samuel Percival Prendergast. Pokeno Subdivision

Harold William Matthews. Wangape Subdivision. Arthur Lapwood, Tuakau Subdivision. Arthur Gilpin Canning Glass. Whangamarino Sub-

Election of Member of the Teachers' Superannuation Board.

Education Department,
Wellington, 10th April, 1918.

In Public Service Classification and Superannuation
Amendment Act, 1908, I hereby certify that, for the election of a member of the Superannuation Board constituted by the said Act, from among the contributors resident in the North Island, the persons nominated and the number of votes received by each was as follows:—

Number of Votes. Cousins, Herbert Glanville Munro, Colin Robert ... .. 634

I hereby declare that HERBERT GLANVILLE COUSINS has been duly elected a member of the Board.

The total number of voting-papers received was 1,217. Of these, seven were informal. Fifty-nine papers that bore evidence of having been posted after the day of election were not opened.

W. L. DUNN,
Secretary, Teachers' Superannuation Board,
Returning Officer.

Result of Land Surveyors' Examination, March, 1918.

Office of the Surveyors' Board

Office of the Surveyors' Board,
Government Buildings,
Wellington, 26th March, 1918.

A T the examination of candidates for a surveyor's license
held in March, 1918, under the Surveyors' Institute
and Board of Examiners Act, 1908, and conducted by the
Federated Surveyors' Boards of Australia and New Zealand,
four candidates presented themselves in New Zealand.
None of these candidates succeeded in passing the examination.

nation.

M. CROMPTON-SMITH, Secretary, Surveyors' Board.

Observances respecting Anzac Day.

Prime Minister's Office,
Wellington, 11th April, 1918.

I HEREBY notify, for public information, that the Government have decided to observe Anzac Day, Thursday, 25th April, 1918, as a public holiday.

2. I shall be glad if the Mayors of all cities and boroughs, the Chairmen of County Councils and Town Boards, as well as other local bodies, as far as their districts are concerned, will similarly observe the day in remembrance of the notable will similarly observe the day in remembrance of the notable deeds performed by the Australians and our brave New Zealand soldiers on that memorable and historical occasion.

3. It is specially fitting that on this occasion special services of public worship be held by all religious denominations, and I therefore appeal to all Ministers of religion and all congregations to hold such services on behalf of the people of the Dominion at such hours during the forenoon or afternoon

4. The New Zealand Ensign will be displayed on all public buildings in the Dominion from sunrise to sunset.

5. It is requested that the managers and representatives of shipping companies should direct that all ships in the various harbours display their flags during that day.

6. It is considered that the occasion is particularly one upon which opportunity should be taken to arrange patriotic meetings during the day, and especially in the evening, to commemorate the anniversary, the question of how this may best be done being left to the discretion of the Mayors of the various boroughs and the Chairmen of other local bodies.

Prime Minister