## CORPS OF N.Z. ENGINEERS.

Divisional Signal Companies.—No. 1 Company (Auckland). Ernest Walter Lewis to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 3rd September, 1918.

## 2ND (SOUTH CANTERBURY) REGIMENT.

2nd Lieutenant Arthur Edward Dendy, from the Unattached List (b), General List, to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 5th September, 1918.

3RD (AUCKLAND) REGIMENT (COUNTESS OF RANFURLY'S Own).

# Coast Defence Detachment.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) John Thomas Hill, from the Unattached List (b), to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.). Dated 3rd September, 1918.

13th (North Canterbury and Westland) Regiment. Lieutenant George Gilbert Hancox, from the Unattached List (b), to be Lieutenant. Dated 29th August, 1918.

## N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Captain (temp. Lieut. Colonel) John Patrick Daunt Leahy, M.B., to be Major. Dated 6th September, 1918.
Captain Douglas Wilson, M.B., is granted the rank of Major whilst employed in N.Z. Expeditionary Force training-camps. Dated 24th August, 1918.

### N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend Arthur William Henry Compton, M.A., Chaplain to the Forces, 3rd Class, is appointed Honorary Chap-lain to Papawai Camp. Dated 19th August, 1918. The Reverend Harold Angus Sharp to be Chaplain to the

Forces, 4th Class. Dated 15th August, 1918.

## N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Matron Frances Price, R.R.C., is struck off the strength of the N.Z. Expeditionary Force, and is posted to the Retired List. Dated 1st August, 1918.

Sister Hilda Alice Burton to be Matron. Dated 24th August, 1918.

Sister Louisa Maria Bird, A.R.R.C., from the Retired List,

to be Sister. Dated 1st August, 1918.
Sister Louisa Maria Bird, A.R.R.C., to be Matron, Wanganui-Waitotara Convalescent Home. Dated 1st August, 1918.

Staff Nurse Ruth Utting is struck off the strength of the N.Z. Expeditionary Force, and is posted to the Retired List. Dated 27th August, 1918.

# UNATTACHED LIST (b).

2nd Lieutenant Percy Kenneth Bryan to be Lieutenant. Dated 30th June, 1918.
The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) Bertram

Joseph Jacobs is confirmed, under the provisions of paragraph 111, General Regulations, 1913.

Lieutenant George Gilbert Hancox is transferred to the 13th (North Canterbury and Westland) Regiment. Dated 29th August, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) John Thomas Hill is transferred to the 3rd (Auckland) Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own), Coast Defence Detachment. Dated 3rd September,

2nd Lieutenant (temp.) William Mitchell resigns his appointment. Dated 3rd September, 1918.

# UNATTACHED LIST (b), GENERAL LIST.

2nd Lieutenant Reginald Victor Albert Knox is temporarily attached to the N.Z. Army Pay Department whilst performing duty in the War Expenses Branch. Dated 1st July, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant Arthur Edward Dendy is transferred to the 2nd (South Canterbury) Regiment. Dated 5th September,

## OFFICERS STRUCK OFF STRENGTH OF N.Z. EXPEDITIONARY FORCE.

The undermentioned are struck off the strength of the N.Z. Expeditionary Force, with effect from the dates mentioned:

Major Alan Innes Walker. Dated 17th September, 1918.

Captain William Aiken Fairclough, M.B. Dated 5th September, 1918.

Chaplain (4th Class) the Reverend Gordon Hay Gavin.

Dated 16th September, 1918.

Dated 10th September, 1916.

Honorary Captain (temp.) Albert Patrick Polkinghorne.

Dated 13th September, 1918.

Captain Henry Logan Wade. Dated 25th April, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant Hamilton MacKenzie Douglas. Dated 18th September, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant Cyril Mackley. Dated 12th September,

2nd Lieutenant Bruce Hutton. Dated 21st September.

Sister Elsie McGregor Stronach. Dated 15th October, 1917.

### OFFICERS FROM N.Z. EXPEDITIONARY FORCE REPOSTED TO TERRITORIAL FORCE.

The undermentioned, struck off the strength of the N.Z. Expeditionary Force, are reposted to their Territorial units:

## 4TH (WAIKATO) MOUNTED RIFLES.

2nd Lieutenant (late Captain N.Z.E.F.) Henry Logan Wade. Dated 25th April, 1918.

#### N.Z. RIFLE BRIGADE.

Earl of Liverpool's Own (Territorial).

Hamilton Mackenzie Douglas (late 2nd Lieutenant, N.Z.E.F.) to be 2nd Lieutenant. Dated 5th April,

### N.Z. MEDICAL CORPS.

Captain (temp.) William Aiken Fairclough, M.B. Dated 5th September, 1918.

# N.Z. CHAPLAINS DEPARTMENT.

The Reverend Gordon Hay Gavin, Chaplain to the Forces (4th Class). Dated 16th September, 1918.

## N.Z. ARMY NURSING SERVICE.

Sister Elsie McGregor Stronach. Dated 15th October, 1917.

#### UNATTACHED LIST (b).

Lieutenant (late Major, N.Z.E.F.) Alan Innes Walker. Dated 17th September, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant Bruce Hutton. Dated 21st September,

# UNATTACHED LIST (b), GENERAL LIST.

Honorary Captain (temp.) Albert Patrick Polkinghorne relinquishes the appointment of Officer in Charge, Wireless Station, Samoa, and the honorary rank of Captain whilst so employed. Dated 13th September, 1918.

2nd Lieutenant Cyril Mackley. Dated 12th September, 1918.

## CORRIGENDA.

CORRIGENDA.

With reference to the notices published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 110, of 15th August, 1918, relating to Lieutenant d'Auvergne Stanley Leigh Grut being struck off the strength of the N.Z. Expeditionary Force and reposted to his Territorial unit, for the words "Dated 3rd March, 1916," read "Dated 3rd April, 1916."

With reference to the notice published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 117, of 19th July, 1917, relating to 2nd Lieutenant Edward Dawson Clough, delete the words "Unattached List (b), General List."

# N.Z. EXPEDITIONARY FORCE.

G. H. K. Burge is appointed 2nd Lieutenant (temp.) pending embarkation. Dated 15th July, 1918.

# SAMOAN GARRISON.

John Llewellyn Davies is granted the honorary rank of Captain (temp.) whilst employed as Officer in Charge, Wireless Station, Samoa. Dated 24th August, 1918.

J. ALLEN. Minister of Defence.

# Soldiers' Property Board of Trustees appointed.

National Efficiency Board,

Wellington, 20th September, 1918.

T is hereby notified that, in pursuance of the regulations relating to the management of soldiers' properties made on the 2nd April, 1917, under the War Regulations Act, 1914, and its amendments, the Minister of Defence has constituted and appointed the following Soldiers' Property Board of Trustees, namely :-

THE JOHN WILLIAM NEATE SOLDIERS' PROPERTY BOARD of Trustees.—Consisting of George Elliot, of Auckland, District Commissioner of the National Efficiency Board; Arthur William Gillies, Expert Adviser to the Auckland Commissioner of the National Efficiency Board; Henry Lowe, of Thames, Business Man; Arthur Allan Wight, of Paeroa, Farmer; and Samuel Birkenhead, of Hopai, Farmer.

WILLIAM FERGUSON,

Chairman.