Members appointed to Board of Trustees of Jubilee Institute for the Blind, Auckland.

Education Department,

Wellington, 25th July, 1916. IS Excellency the Governor, in pursuance of the Eighth Schedule of the Hospitals and Charitable Institutions Act, 1909, has appointed

Hon JOSEPH A. TOLE, K.C.; JAMES WILLIAM TIBBS, ESq., M.A.: HENRY C. H. WALKER, Esq.; and DAVID GOLDIE, Esq.,

to be members of the Board of Trustees of the Jubilee Institute for the Blind, Auckland.

> JNO. CAUGHLEY, Assistant Director of Education.

Appointments, Promotions, Resignations, and Transfers of Officers of the Staff and Territorial Force.

Department of Defence, Wellington, 23rd July, 1916. IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to approve of the appointments, promotions, presentations, and transfers of the undermentioned officers of the Staff and Territorial Force :--

Permanent Staff.

Honorary Lieutenant David Cecil Wallace Cossgrove to be Deputy Assistant Adjutant - General at Headquarters. Dated 4th July, 1916.

#### Commands.

The period of commands of the undermentioned officers is extended during the period of the war :--Colonel George Warren Shaw Patterson, Commander Auckland Coast Defence Troops. Colonel Charles Thomas Major, D.S.O., Commander Auckland Inforture Reigndo

- Auckland Infantry Brigade. Licutenant-Colonel Charles Ernest Randolph Mackesy, 11th (North Auckland) Mounted Rifles.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Edward Sherson, Auckland Field
- Artillery Brigade. Lieutenant-Colonel William Henry Hazard, Auckland
- Garrison Artillery Division. Lieutenant-Colonel Alfred Bartlett, 3rd (Auckland) Regiment (Countess of Ranfurly's Own).
- Lieutenant-Colonel Edmund William Porritt, 6th (Hau raki) Regiment. Licutenant-Colonel Thomas Herbert Steadman, 15th
- (North Auckland) Regiment. Lieutenant-Colonel Roy William Cumming, 16th (Wai-
- kato) Regiment.

Corps of New Zealand Engineers.

Captain Louis Murray Shera to be Major, under the provisions of paragraph 111, General Regulations, 1913. Dated 22nd June, 1916.

New Zealand Post and Telegraph Corps.

The undermentioned Lieutenants to be Captains. Dated 4th July, 1916 :-

### Charles John Allen. Henry Lowther Kingsley.

- Captain Harry Ernest Combs relinquishes his appointment as Staff Officer to the Director of Post and Telegraph Ser-vices, and is transferred to the Unattached List (a). Dated 1st July, 1916.
- 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) John Thomas Herbert Edie Kerr, from the Unattached List (b), to be 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) (North Island). Dated 4th July, 1916.

2nd (South Canterbury) Regiment.

2nd Lieutenant Rewi Melville Stephenson Jones, from the Unattached List (b), to be 2nd Lieutenant (supernumerary to establishment). Dated 28th June, 1916.

# 9th (Hawke's Bay) Regiment.

With reference to the notification published in the New Zealand Gazette No. 103, dated 24th September, 1914, relative to the appointment of 2nd Lieutenant Bruce Haultain Mori-son, who proceeded with the New Zealand Expeditionary Force, for 9th (Hawke's Bay) Regiment read Unattached List (b), General List.

### New Zealand Medical Corps.

Major Louis E. Barnett, R.A.M.C., to be Consulting Surgeon to the New Zealand Expeditionary Force, and is granted the temporary rank of Lieutenant-Colonel while so em-ployed. Dated 13th June, 1916. Lieutenant (temporary Captain) Ernest Prideaux Pridham is struck off the strength of the New Zealand Expeditionary Force and absorbed into the New Zealand Datel Ocry

Force, and absorbed into the New Zealand Dental Corps. Dated 5th July, 1916.

New Zealand Dental Corps.

Henry Kiven Allison to be Lieutenant. Dated 29th May, 1916.

New Zealand Veterinary Corps.

Captain William Gee Taylor is struck off the strength of the New Zealand Expeditionary Force, and is absorbed. Dated 11th June, 1916.

Captain William Gee Taylor is transferred to the Reserve of Officers. Dated 11th June, 1916.

New Zealand Chaplains Department.

The Reverend Benjamin Francis Rothwell, Chaplain to the Ferror 4th Class to be Chaplain, 3rd Class. Dated 29th

July, 1915. The Reverend Celestine Lacroix to be Chaplain to the Forces, 4th Class. Dated 12th June, 1916.

### New Zealand Army Nursing Service.

(Masseuse Branch.)

Louise Frederikke Petersen to be Matron Masseuse. Dated 25th November, 1915.

### Unattached List (a).

Captain Harry Ernest Combs, from the New Zealand Post and Telegraph Corps, to be Captain. Dated 1st July, 1916.

# Unattached List (b).

Lewin Mackworth Taverner to be Captain (temp.) during the period of the war. Dated 15th June, 1916. The appointment of 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) William

Ralph Burge is confirmed. 2nd Lieutenant Rewi Melville Stephenson Jones is transferred to the 2nd (South Canterbury) Regiment. Dated 28th

- June, 1916.
- 2nd Lieutenant (on probation) John Thomas Herbert Edie Kerr is transferred to the Corps of New Zealand Engineers (New Zealand Post and Telegraph Corps). Dated 4th July, 1916.

- The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants :--Colour-Sergeant Percy Kenneth Bryan. Dated 30th June, 1916.
- Sergeant Sidney Noel Gillman. Dated 4th July, 1916. Sergeant James Douglas Ritchie. Dated 5th July, 1916. Henry Binsted to be 2nd Lieutenant (temp.), vice Lieutenant Vear, on active service. Dated 1st July, 1916.

J. ALLEN, Minister of Defence.

Disbandment of a Defence Rifle Club.

## Department of Defence,

Wellington, 19th July, 1916. IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to approve of the disbandment, under section 43 (1) and (2) and section 44 of the Defence Act, 1909, of the undermentioned Defence Rifle Club :-

The Ashburton Defence Rifle Club,

with headquarters at Ashburton, Canterbury Military District. Date of disbandment, 14th July, 1916.

J. ALLEN,

Minister of Defence.

Disbandment of a Defence Rifle Club.

Department of Defence, Wellington, 21st July, 1916. IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to approve of the disbandment, under section 43 (1) and (2) and section 44 of the Defence Act, 1909, of the undermentioned Defence Scilp (July ). Defence Rifle Club:

### The Ross Defence Rifle Club,

with headquarters at Ross, Canterbury Military District. Date of disbandment, 21st July, 1916.

J. ALLEN. Minister of Defence.