Cook Islands.—Constitution of Island Councils.

LIVERPOOL Governor.

ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government Buildings at Wellington, this twenty-first day of March, 1916.

Present:

THE HONOURABLE W. H. HERRIES PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

WHEREAS by section fifty-nine of the Cook Islands Act, 1915, it is enacted that there shall be in and for the Island of Rarotonga," and that there shall be in and for the Island Council of Rarotonga," and that there shall be in and for the Island Council of Rarotonga," and that there shall be in and for the Island of Niue a legislative Council to be called the "Island Council of Niue": And whereas by section sixty of the said Act the Governor in Council is empowered to establish in and for any other of the islands included among the Cook Islands a legislative Council to be called the "Island Council" thereof: And whereas by sections sixty-two, sixty-three, sixty-four, and sixty-six of the said Act the Governor in Council is empowered to determine the constitution of any such Island Council, and to make other provisions with respect thereto:

Now, therefore, I, Arthur William de Brito Savile, Earl of Liverpool, Governor of the Dominion of New Zealand, acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, do hereby, in pursuance of the authority conferred upon me by the Cook Islands Act, 1915, and of all other authorities enabling me in that behalf, make the following regulations with respect to the Island Councils of the Cook Islands; and do, with the like advice and consent, declare that the said regulations shall come into force on the first day of April, one thousand nine hundred and sixteen.

REGULATIONS.

Island Council of Rarotonga.

1. THE Island Council of Rarotonga shall consist of the following persons :---

(a.) The Resident Commissioner of Rarotonga (ex officio):

(b.) The Arikis of Rarotonga (ex officio) :

(c.) Three other persons to be nominated by the Governor, to hold office during his pleasure.

ISLAND COUNCIL OF NIUE.

2. The Island Council of Niue shall consist of the following persons :----

(a.) The Resident Commissioner of Niue (ex officio) :

(b.) Eleven other persons to be nominated by the Governor, to hold office during his pleasure.

3. Members of the Island Council of Niue, other than the Resident Commissioner, shall be entitled to receive from the Niue Island Account remuneration for their attendance not exceeding $\pounds 1$ 5s. for every day of such attendance at any sitting of the Council, but the total of such remuneration for any one period of twelve months shall not exceed $\pounds 5$.

ISLAND COUNCIL OF MANGAIA.

4. There is hereby constituted and established in and for the Island of Mangaia a legislative Council, to be called the "Island Council of Mangaia."

5. The Island Council of Mangaia shall consist of the following persons :----

(a.) The Resident Commissioner of Rarotonga (ex officio):

(b.) The Resident Agent of Mangaia (ex officio):

(c.) Nooroa Numangatini, Ariki (ex officio):

(d.) Seven other persons to be nominated by the Governor, to hold office during his pleasure.

ISLAND COUNCIL OF AITUTAKI.

6. There is hereby constituted and established in and for the Island of Aitutaki a legislative Council, to be called the "Island Council of Aitutaki."