Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris appointed.

Office of Public Service Commissioner, Wellingt n, 7th July, 1914.

THE Public Service Commissioner has made the following appointment in the Public Service. lowing appointment in the Public Service :-

ARTHUR EVAN DOBBIE

to be Registrar of Births and Deaths of Maoris at Riverton, as from the 1st July, 1914.

A. J. H. BENGE.

Deputy Registrars of Marriages, &c., appointed.

Registrar-General's Office, Wellington, 1st July, 1914. T is hereby notified that the undermentioned persons have been appointed to be the Deputies of the Registrars of Marriages and of Births and Deaths for the

districts set respectively opposite their names, viz.:-Name District. GEORGE LEVY WILLIAM ARTHUR SAWYER Foxton.
.. Matamata.

> F. W. MANSFIELD, Registrar-General.

Appointments and Promotions of Officers of the Territorial Force.

Department of Defence,

Wellington, 3rd July, 1914.

H IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to approve of the appointments and survey and survey. not the appointments and promotions of the undermentioned officers of the Territorial Force:—

New Zealand Field Artillery.

The undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants to be Lieutenants. Dated 28th August, 1913:—

Clarence Nathaniel Newman. Patrick Daniel Reardon.

The appointments of the undermentioned 2nd Lieutenants (on probation) are confirmed. Dated 7th May, 1914:-

Duncan Eric Gardner. Herbert Purse Warnock.

2nd Lieutenant Duncan Eric Gardner to be Lieutenant. Dated 7th May, 1914.

Unattached List (b).

The undermentioned to be 2nd Lieutenants (on probation). Dated 18th June, 1914:-

> Colour-Sergeant Frederick John Shaw. Colour-Sergeant Thomas Milliken. Sergeant Anthony Duncan Tench.

J. ALLEN. Minister of Defence.

Dismissal of a Member of the New Zealand Defence Forces.

Department of Defence Wellington, 3rd July, 1914. IS Excellency the Governor has been pleased to dismiss

No. 34/226, Sergeant Francis Ruck, 1st (Canterbury) Regiment,

from the New Zealand Defence Forces, under section 6 (b) Defence Act, 1909, he having been convicted by the Civil power of theft. Dated 14th April, 1914.

J. ALLEN, Minister of Defence.

Special Order made by the Hobson County Council redividing Ridings and fixing Representation.

Wellington, 4th July, 1914.

THE following special order, made by the Hobon County Council, is published in accordance with the provisions of the Counties Act, 1908.

Minister of Internal Affairs.

Hobson County.

Special Order adjusting Representation in the Council.

In exercise of the powers conferred on it by the Counties Act, 1908, and of every other power enabling it in that behalf, the Hoben County Council hereby resolves by way of special order as follows:

1. The present division of the County of Hobson into eight ridings is hereby revoked, and the said county shall be divided into ten ridings, to be called respectively Kopuru, Aratapu, Kaihu, Awakino, Tangowahine, Maungaru, Tangiteroria, Omana, Arapohue, and Okahu Ridings, which said ridings are respectively described in the Schedule hereto.

2. The said Hobson County Council shall consist of ten Councillors, each riding to be represented by one Councillor, who shall be elected by the electors of that riding.

3. The alterations hereby made shall take effect on and after the 21-t day of October, 1914.

Aratapu Riding.

Aratapa Rating.

Commencing at the south-eastern corner of Section No. 6, Te Kopuru Parish. Bounded on the south by the southern boundary of said Section 6; thence by a road to the southern southern boundary of Sections 24, 37, and 47 of the said parish; thence by the eastern boundary of Sections 105 of the said parish; thence by the southern boundary of Sections 105 and 106 of the said parish; thence by the castern boundary of Sections 105 and 106 of the said parish; thence by the said parish; thence by part of the southern boundary of the said Section 121; thence by the castern boundary of Sections 122 and 98 of the said parish; thence by the southern boundary and 98 of the said parish; thence by the southern boundary of Sections 98, 97, and 93 of the said parish, and by such line continued direct to the sea; thence by the sea to the south-western corner of Kaihu No. 1 Block in Block 1, Kopuru Survey District; thence by the south-east generally by the south-eastern boundary of the said Kaihu No. 1 Block in Block 1, Kopuru Survey District; thence by the south-east generally by the south-eastern boundary of the said Kaihu No. 1 Block to the Borough of Dargaville; thence by the south-we tern boundary of the Borough of Dargaville to the Wairoa River; then by the Wairoa River to the place of commence-

Kopuru Riding.

Bounded on the north generally by the Aratapu Riding, towards the eart generally by the Wairoa River, towards the south generally by the Kaipara Harbour, and towards the west generally by the sea.

Kaihu Riding.

Commencing from the Maungonui Bluff, thence bounded on the north by the Hokianga County to its intersection of the Kaihu Creek, thence towards the north-east generally by the said Kaihu Creek to its intersection with the Borough of Dargaville, thence towards the south-east by the said Borough of Dargaville and the northern boundary of the Aratapu Riding to the sea, thence by the sea to place of commencement.

Awakino Riding.

Commencing from the intersection of the Kaihu Creek with the Borough of Dargaville; thence bounded toward the south generally by the Borough of Dargaville; thence by the Awakino River to the north-western corner of Ounu-whao Block No. 3; thence by the northern boundary of said Ounuwhao Block No. 3; thence by the western boundary said Ounuwhao Block No. 3; thence by the western boundary of Sections Nos. 20–36 of Block I, Maungaru Survey District; thence by a road forming the western boundary of Section No. 3, Block XVI, Tutamoe Survey District, to its intersection of Te Karaka Block; thence towards the northwest generally by the south-western boundary of the said Te Karaka Block, and thence by a line in continuation of the said south-western boundary-line of Te Karaka Block to the north-western boundary-line of the Hobson County as described in the New Zealand Gazette of October, 1908; thence bounded on the north-west, and north generally by thence bounded on the north-west and north generally by the Hokianga County; thence bounded on the west generally by the Kaihu Riding to the place of commencement.

Tangowahine Riding.

Commencing at the point of confluence of the Awakino River with the Wairoa River; thence bounded on the west generally by the Awakino Riding, bounded towards the north-west generally by the north-western boundary of the Hobson County to the western boundary of Section 26. Te Karaka Block, Block IX, Mangakahia Survey District; thence towards the north-east generally by the Whangarei County as decribed in New Zealand Gazette No. 82, of 19th October, 1911, to the south-western corner of Section No. 8a, Block X. Mangakahia Survey District: there in a direct Block X, Mangakahia Survey District; thence in a direct line to the north-western corner of Section 34, Block I, Maungaru Survey District; thence by the eastern boundaries