

SUPPLEMENT

TO THE

NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

THURSDAY, MARCH 26, 1914.

Published by Authority

WELLINGTON, FRIDAY, MARCH 27, 1914.

Order in Council defining Native Land Court Districts and Maori Land Districts under the Native Land Amendment Act, 1913.

> LIVERPOOL, Governor ORDER IN COUNCIL.

At the Government Buildings, at Wellington, this twentyfourth day of March, 1914.

Present :

THE HONOURABLE W. FRASER PRESIDING IN COUNCIL.

HEREAS by subsection one of section three of the Native Land Amendment Act, 1913, it is provided that there shall be within the Dominion of New Zealand not fewer than five and not more than nine Native Land Court districts, which shall be constituted, and the boundaries and names of which shall be defined, from time to time by the Governor by Order in Council: And whereas by section sixteen of the Native Land Amendment Act, 1913, it is provided that every Native Land Court district our out it was conting there of this Act shall be a

And whereas by section sixteen of the Native Land Amendment Act, 1913, it is provided that every Native Land Court district constituted under section three of this Act shall be a Maori land district under this Act, and any alteration of the boundaries or change of the name of a Native Land Court district shall, *ipso facto*, be an alteration of the boundaries or change of the name of the corresponding Maori land district, so that the Native Land Court districts and Maori land districts shall at all times hereafter be coterminous and identical:

So that the transferred term in the term

shall pass to the latter Board; and the latter Board shall for all purposes be deemed to be, in respect of that land, the successors in office of the former Board: Now, therefore, His Excellency the Governor of the Dominion of New Zealand, in pursuance and exercise of the powers so conferred upon him, and acting by and with the advice and consent of the Executive Council of the said Dominion, doth hereby order and declare as follows:— 1. The boundaries of the Tokerau Native Land Court and

1. The boundaries of the Tokerau Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the First Scheule hereto. 2. The boundaries of the Waiariki Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Second Schedule hereto.

3. The boundaries of the Tairawhiti Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Third Schedule hereto.

4. The boundaries of the Aotea Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Fourth Schedule hereto.

5. The boundaries of the Ikaroa Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Fifth Schedule hereto.

6. The boundaries of the Waikato-Maniapoto Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Sixth Schedule hereto.

7. The boundaries of the South Island Native Land Court and Maori Land District shall be those set out in the Seventh Schedule hereto.

8. All Native land which is situated within the boundaries of any Maori land district as determined by this Order in Council, and which at the date of the coming into operation of this Order in Council is vested in the Maori Land Board any other district, is hereby vested in the Maori Land Board of the district in which the land is so situated for all the right, title, estate, and interest of the first-mentioned Board therein and thereto; and all assets and liabilities held by or imposed upon the first-mentioned Board in respect of that land are hereby transferred to the Maori Land Board of the district in which the land is so situated.

9. This Order in Council shall come into operation on the thirty-first day of March, one thousand nine hundred and fourteen.

10. The Third Schedule to the Order in Council, dated the eighth day of April, one thousand nine hundred and ten, defining the names and the boundaries of Native Land Court districts, and the Order in Council dated the thirteenth day of June, one thousand nine hundred and ten, defining Maori land districts under the Native Land Act, 1909, are hereby revoked.

SCHEDULES.

FIRST SCHEDULE.

Tokerau Native Land Court and Maori Land District. ALL that area in the Dominion of New Zealand bounded towards the east generally by the sea from the North Cape to the north-western corner of Section No. 40A, Parish of Waitemata; thence by the western boundary of that section and of Sections Nos. 39A and 38A of the said parish to the Orakei Creek; thence by that creek and the south-eastern shore of Orakei Basin to the north-western corner of Lot 238, Section No. 16, Suburbs of Auckland; thence by the western boundary of that lot to its south-western corner; thence by aright line to the northern end of St. Ann's Bridge, on Manakau Harbour; thence towards the south generally by the northern shore of the Manukau Harbour to the Manukau Heads; thence towards the west by the sea to Cape Maria van Diemen; thence towards the north by the sea to the North Cape, the point of commencement: including Great Barrier Island and the islands adjacent to the coast-line between the Whangarei Harbour and the North Cape.