- "Sub-Postmaster" means any Postmaster under the control and direction of a Chief Postmaster:
- An "extra-classification" officer is a person permanently employed by the Department but not a member of the classified staff of the Department:
- A "permanent" office is an office in charge of a member of the classified staff of the Post and Telegraph Dement, or of a person permanently employed by the Department:
- A "non-permanent" office is an office in charge of a person who is not a member of the classified staff of the Department and is not permanently employed by the Department (see Rule 15):
- A "sub-office" is an office not a chief office, whether permanent or non-permanent, including offices hereinafter designated "country offices" (see Rule 15):
- A "railway" office is an office in charge of a person under the control of the Railway Department.

7. The Secretary, who is the executive head of the Department, is responsible for general administration and control.

8. The Assistant Secretaries assist generally in the duties of administration.

9. The Chief Telegraph Engineer, subject to the direction of the Secretary, deals with matters relating to construction, maintenance, and working of telegraph and telephone lines and telephone exchanges.

10. For the purposes of inspection the Dominion is divided into four districts :---

Districts.		Boundaries.	
Northern	••	Comprising the Postal Districts of Auckland, Thames, and Gisborne.	
Central	••	Comprising the Postal Districts of Wellington, Wanganui, New Plymouth, and Napier.	
Midland	••	Comprising the Postal Districts of Blenheim, Nelson, Westport, Greymouth, Hokitika, Christchurch, and Timaru.	
Southern	•••	Comprising the Postal Districts of Oamaru, Dunedin, and Invercargill.	

11. For purposes of construction, maintenance, and inspection of telegraph-lines the Dominion is divided into four districts, as follows:---

Districts.	Boundaries.	
Auckland	Comprising all that portion of the North Island bounded on the south by the southern boundary of the Thames Postal District, thence by a line drawn immediately south of Taupo and extended to Mokau.	
Wellington	Comprising the remainder of the North Island and that portion of the South Island north of a line drawn between Kekerangu and Lyell.	
Christchurch		
Dunedin	Comprising the Postal Districts of Oamaru, Dunedia, and Invercargill.	