Reprint

as at 6 November 2008

Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2005

(SR 2005/166)

Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2005: revoked, on 6 November 2008, by regulation 4 of the Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2008 (SR 2008/372).

Pursuant to section 267(ca) of the Electoral Act 1993, Her Excellency the Governor-General, acting on the advice and with the consent of the Executive Council, makes the following regulations.

Contents

		Page
1	Title	2
2	Commencement	2
3	Definition of iwi organisation and other Maori organisation	2
4	Revocation	2
	Schedule Iwi organisation and other Maori organisation	2

Note

Changes authorised by section 17C of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989 have been made in this eprint.

A general outline of these changes is set out in the notes at the end of this eprint, together with other explanatory material about this eprint.

These regulations are administered in the Ministry of Justice.

r 3

1 Title

These regulations are the Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2005.

2 Commencement

These regulations come into force on the day after the date of their notification in the *Gazette*.

3 Definition of iwi organisation and other Maori organisation

For the purposes of sections 111A to 111F of the Electoral Act 1993, **iwi organisation** and **other Maori organisation** means any organisation listed in the Schedule.

4 Revocation

The Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2004 (SR 2004/55) are consequentially revoked.

Schedule Iwi organisation and other Maori organisation

- Aorangi Maori Trust Board
- Arawa Maori Trust Board
- Hauraki Maori Trust Board
- Hokotehi Moriori Trust
- Maniapoto Maori Trust Board
- Muaupoko Tribal Authority Incorporated
- National Urban Maori Authority
- Nga Kaihautu o Te Arawa Executive Council
- Nga Ruahine Iwi Authority
- Ngai Tamanuhiri Whanui Charitable Trust
- Ngaitai Iwi Authority
- Ngaiterangi Iwi Society Incorporated
- Ngati Apa ki to Ra To Incorporated

- Ngati Kahu ki Whangaroa Trust Board
- Ngati Kahungunu Iwi Incorporated
- Ngati Koata No Rangitoto ki-te-Tonga Trust
- Ngati Maru Pukehou Trust
- Ngati Mutunga Iwi Authority Incorporated
- Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust
- Ngati Pukenga Iwi ki Tauranga Society Incorporated
- Ngati Ranginui Iwi Society Incorporated
- Ngati Rarua Iwi Trust
- Ngati Tama Manawhenua ki te Tau Ihu Trust
- Ngati Turangitukua Charitable Trust
- Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay of Plenty) Settlement Trust
- Ngati Tuwharetoa Hapu a Iwi Waitangi Claims Forum
- Ngati Tuwharetoa Marine Fisheries Committee
- Ngati Wai Trust Board
- Ngati Whatua o Orakei Maori Trust Board
- Ngatikuri Trust Board
- PNBC Limited
- Raukawa Trust Board
- RONAN Trust
- Rongowhakaata Charitable Trust
- Tanenuiarangi Manawatu Incorporated
- Te Aitanga a Mahaki Trust
- Te Atiawa Iwi Authority Incorporated
- Te Atiawa Manawhenua ki to Tau Ihu Trust
- Te Aupouri Maori Trust Board
- Te Aupouri Negotiations Company Limited
- Te Iwi o Te Roroa
- Te Kaahui o Rauru
- Te Kotahitanga o Te Arawa Waka Fisheries Trust Board
- Te Putahitanga o Nga Ara Trust
- Te Runanga a Iwi o Ngapuhi
- Te Runanga-a-Iwi o Ngati Kahu
- Te Runanga a Rangitane o Wairau Incorporated

- Te Runanga o Ati Awa ki Whakarongotai Incorporated
- Te Runanga o Ngai Tahu
- Te Runanga o Ngati Apa Society Incorporated
- Te Runanga o Ngati Awa
- Te Runanga o Ngati Hauiti
- Te Runanga o Ngati Kuia Charitable Trust
- Te Runanga o Ngati Manawa
- Te Runanga o Ngati Porou
- Te Runanga o Ngati Ruanui Trust
- Te Runanga o Ngati Tama
- Te Runanga o Ngati Whare Iwi Trust
- Te Runanga o Ngati Whatua
- Te Runanga o Raukawa Incorporated
- Te Runanga o Taranaki Iwi Incorporated
- Te Runanga o Te Awa Tupua
- Te Runanga o Te Rarawa
- Te Runanga o Te Whanau
- Te Runanga o Toa Rangatira Incorporated
- Te Runanga o Whaingaroa
- Te Runanganui o Rangitane Incorporated
- Te Uri o Hau Settlement Trust
- Tuhoe-Waikaremoana Maori Trust Board
- Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board
- Waikato Raupatu Lands Trust
- Whakatohea Maori Trust Board
- Whanganui River Maori Trust Board

Diane Morcom,

Clerk of the Executive Council.

Explanatory note

This note is not part of the regulations, but is intended to indicate their general effect.

These regulations, which commence on the day after the date of their notification in the *Gazette*, define **iwi organisation** and **other Maori organisation** for the purposes of sections 111A to 111F of the Electoral Act 1993. An iwi organisation or other Maori organisation listed in the Schedule may be supplied certain information from the register of iwi affiliations (established under sections 111A to 111F of the Electoral Act 1993) for the purposes of the organisation. The regulations replace regulations made in 2004. The following table summarises the changes made by the 2005 regulations and the reasons for them.

Reasons for change

Details

To include organisations whose mandate has been recognised by the Crown or Te Ohu Kai Moana since March 2004 Historical claims process

- Nga Kaihautu o Te Arawa Executive Council
- Ngati Tuwharetoa Hapu a Iwi Waitangi Claims Forum
- Te Runanga a Iwi o Ngati Kahu

Fisheries settlement process

- Ngati Maru Pukehou Trust
- Ngati Mutunga o Wharekauri Trust

New Settlement entity organisations established following ratification settlement

- •Ngati Tuwharetoa (Bay of Plenty) of Settlement Trust (replacing Tuwharetoa ki Kawerau Agents)
- Te Kaahui o Rauru (replacing Nga Rauru Iwi Authority Society Incorporated)

Deletion of organisation no longer eligible for inclusion

mes •

Amendments to ensure names of organisations are correct and to correct an omission in the principal regulations Limited

• Nga Pushine Iwi Authority

• Atiawa Nui Tonu Fisheries

- Nga Ruahine Iwi Authority (replaces Ngaruahine Iwi Authority)
- Te Runanga o Te Awa Tupua (replaces Te Runanga o Te Awa Tupua Whanganui)
- PNBC Limited (replaces Taranaki Whanau ki to Upoko o to Ika)
- Te Aupouri Maori Trust Board (omission)

Issued under the authority of the Acts and Regulations Publication Act 1989. Date of notification in *Gazette*: 23 June 2005.

6

Contents

- 1 General
- 2 About this eprint
- 3 List of amendments incorporated in this eprint (most recent first)

Notes

1 General

This is an eprint of the Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2005. It incorporates all the amendments to the regulations as at 6 November 2008. The list of amendments at the end of these notes specifies all the amendments incorporated into this eprint since 3 September 2007. Relevant provisions of any amending enactments that contain transitional, savings, or application provisions are also included, after the Principal enactment, in chronological order.

2 About this eprint

This eprint has not been officialised. For more information about officialisation, please see "Making online legislation official" under "Status of legislation on this site" in the About section of this website.

3 List of amendments incorporated in this eprint (most recent first)

Electoral (Iwi Organisation and Other Maori Organisation) Regulations 2008 (SR 2008/372): regulation 4